We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Larchmont, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a trip! We went to Belize not knowing what to expect and left with nothing but the greatest of praise! The resort is quiet and relaxing, the service in unbelievable. Each staff impressed us with their smiles, willingness to help and thoughtfulness. Burga was amazing to work with, answered my million emails in a timely manner and never misled me. the great thing about the resort is you can do nothing but sit on a comfy chair at the pool, on the beach or end of the dock be delivered drinks all day and sleep/read or you can take out a bike and ride into town, go out on a fishing trip, take a kayak to snorkel some of the trips like a guided fishing trip are reasonably priced, the bikes, snorkel and kayaks are free and can be taken out for the morning or entire day! My husband and I went with another couple and had the most best trip ever. I recommend this for newly weds, married couples or anyone just wanting to get away from the chaos of life. This is a place where you will find it VERY easy to relax, sleep, eat and drink! Do not pass this place by!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    123
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
731
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

we visited Matachica between 19.02-01.03.2012 for our honeymoon! we had great time! our room was a beach front cabana -- a true beauty and full of tasty ornaments. The resort is excellent the food is amazingly delicious the staff is friendly and helpful. We have been offered many excursions of which we enjoyed snorkeling and diving with the sharks a lot and we went twice (charlie is a great guide in this trip) spa treatments are a different story and words are not enough to describe the pleasure you`ll have.
we loved the place! it will always be remembered with great memories a lot of love and laughter yummie food and interesting pieces of art... be aware the days we have been staying we continuously had wind and therefore sand in the room which we did not mind as the ladies cleaned the room twice a day. When there is no wind there are mosquitoes and those were the only creatures which were not friendly... so bring an ipod deck to bare the blows of wind in the room while sleeping and you`ll have the time of your life at Matachica...

Room Tip: beach front casitas are windy but less mosquitoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuRcHiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

An incredible beach/scenery, the best staff I've ever seen anywhere and an excellent room. I'd recommend it to anyone.

The food was of good quality and fresh, but it was always missing pizazz. If I had tasted the food without knowing its price, I would've guessed it were half the price charged. The drinks from the bartenders were great, though. Margaritas were very good, as were the pina coladas.

Regardless, the waiters and waitresses, bartenders and staff all around were very personable and genuinely warm.

Room Tip: Stayed in a casita close to the bar and was not bothered by any noise, if that helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guild_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I decided to get married at Matachica and we were very happy with the service and amenities of the resort. Our first encounter was with Burga, the wedding planner that was able to accommodate all of our wishes. She was out of the country during our wedding and her assistant Beatrice really stepped up to the plate. Not a beat was missed and every tiny detail was taken care of.

The resort itself was gorgeous, and we enjoyed having our own little hideaway (casita) on the beach. The accommodations were first class from towel changing twice a day and fresh water in your room to drinks and service on the beach and at the pool.

The food at Mumbo is out of this world. Even if you decide not to stay at Matachica, eat at their restaurant! We recommend the lobster.

We couldn't have imagined a better place to say our vows and enjoy our honeymoon. Matachica is top notch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyTortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Among my very favorites, this resort is perfect for a corona commercial. Quiet and yet connected to San Pedro with frequent water taxis, it was like a getaway at the end of the vacation. The setting is flat, but still fabulous, with gorgeous Caribbean waters contributing to the tranquility from only yards away. i adore this establishment.
The highlights include the view, the food, and the steady breeze that invaded our room, especially after sunset. The room was a perfect compliment to the setting; and the ample supply of hammocks demands bonus points.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingmoonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

It's been a while since we visited Matachica and I normally don't write reviews, but this place deserves 5 stars. We love everything about this place starting with the decor, the exceptional service and the other guests. I'm so glad we read the reviews on tripadvisor and took it upon ourselves to directly book this place instead of letting our tour company book a different one.
We were there for 4 nights for our mini honeymoon. We stayed in 2 different rooms, the older oceanfront room and the newer/larger oceanfront one. Honestly, we love the old one better because wifi worked in the older room and the location is closer to the lobby and food. So if wifi in the room is important to you, don't bother paying the extra money for their most expensive room because wifi was not really working there.
The one small thing that did not impress us much was the expensive food, which seems to be the theme on the whole island. I wish they would offer a cheaper alternative for dinner apart from a full on sit down dinner.
We definitely would come back here again in the future. We have also recommended this place to many friends!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Tibás, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have been there several times in a 10 year span, and the service is the same....THE BEST IN THE ISLAND!!!!!!!!! With Gricel at the head the hotel will always be number one for us!!!!!!! The restaurant MAMBO...the best food in the island..Where did Jena17 go that it is way much better than this place??? Bora Bora?? Oh PLEASE!!!!! Mata Chica is the best!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing