We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort - awesome staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous resort - awesome staff!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This past November was our second trip to Matachica, our first being two years ago. Our wonderful experience has only gotten better. We've spent now a total of 16 nights at this resort, and would never consider staying anywhere else on Ambergris Caye.

First the resort:
The resort itself is beautiful, clean and relaxing with the best beach access of anyplace we've seen. Let's make something clear. The entire resort is on the sand. You don't need shoes anywhere on the premises! If you want to walk around a resort in fancy shoes, this is not the place for you! This most recent visit we stayed in the Plum Deluxe Beachfront Casita. The pictures just don't do it justice. On our previous stay we were in Papaya Beachfront Casita. Both rooms were fantastic with the ocean just steps away. The Papaya casita remained comfortable even as we were brushed by a hurricane passing through Nicaragua. The beach is constantly being raked and cleaned of sea grass, the pool and grounds are lush and immaculate, the Mambo restaurant/bar and lobby are clean and comfortable - you'll want to hang out there. The air conditioners in both casitas kept the place nice and chilly and was more than adequate. Mambo restaurant has excellent food that was priced similar to the couple other nice restaurants near the resort (Rojos & Portofino) but with better food.
Although Matachica is 5 miles north of town, there is plenty to do without leaving the hotel. Some of the best snorkeling we did was under the dock!! You'd be amazed at the aquatic life just right there. If you take the kayaks out to the reef, which is a 10 minute paddle, it's even better - even more fish plus beautiful coral. They also have paddle boats, sail boats, bicycles and a workout room, all of which is very well maintained and free to use.

Now the staff:

We cannot say enough about how welcome we feel while at this resort. The staff is extremely professional yet warm. Every staff member makes a point to call you by your name, and they always have a smile and a hello when they see you. It was a great feeling this second time back to see Abby coming out to greet the boat and she actually remembered us from two years ago and gave us a warm hug!

A good example of how the staff goes above and beyond would be from our first trip. Our luggage did not make it to Belize City with us. The desk staff, Joel and Anita, stayed on top of it and took care of making all the phone calls and getting our luggage on the flight and the boat and delivered to our room. We didn't have to do anything but drink Mangotinis!

The Mambo wait staff, Abbey, Izzy & Myra, were fabulous. Myra delivered many a Mangotinis to our casita with a smile on her face. The front desk staff, Joel & Anita, were helpful and aware of all the comings and goings of taxis, boats, outings and helped with anything we needed. The fact that the staff has not changed (other than adding a couple new people) from our previous visit two years ago only tells us that they love their jobs, and it shows.
The manager, Gracel, is fantastic, and obviously knows how to run a successful resort. He also has set an excellent mood in the lobby and restaurant with his selection of music. (One negative reviewer described it as techno. It is so not techno, it's more of a cool groove that would appeal to all ages.)
We've only mentioned a couple staff members here, but from Chris and Charlie's excursions to the housekeeping staff and the bartenders, there isn't a single person at Matachica that isn't exemplary.

The bottom line is that Matachica is Belize to us and is a big part of what draws us to that part of the world. In fact, this past trip in November we got engaged on the Matachica dock and are now considering going back there to get married!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christi_and_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    123
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
66
745
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Often times we look to Trip Advisor to read negative results and try to plan a trip accordingly. We have nothing negative to say. My husband and I came here for our honeymoon (did not do the honeymoon package) and are 100% satisfied w our experience. We have never stayed at a high end hotel/resort but decided to splurge a bit since it was our honeymoon. The staff is genuine, professional, personable and delightful. The accommodations and restaurant are pristine, quiet, beautiful and comfortable. Burga (the woman who answers all of the emails sent to info@matachica.com) was instrumental in both our decision to choose Matachica as our destination and the logistics of planning our trip. The staff is not pushy, they do not try to force tours/trips on you, they do not try to up sell you. There are no hidden fees.

We are active people and were very pleased w our setting. You can run for miles in either direction on the beach (wear shoes) or on a road. The staff and locals discourage the road as it is not very beautiful but we truly enjoyed the behind the scenes experience. There is a small fitness room w an elliptical, bike and treadmill as long a BoFlex. The spa is DIVINE and worth the splurge (although the rates are comparable to many higher end spas in the States). Free bikes (you can ride along the beach all the way to town~7 miles) and kayaks will keep the active people engaged.

Mambo (the main restaurant) is awesome! A bit pricey but completely appropriate given the high end resort/spa. Within 2-8 min walking along the beach are 2 restaurants (higher end as well) to offer a bit of variety. My husband and I bought snacks/lunch stuff in town and ate that during the day to cut down on spending.

We went on a snorkeling and reef fishing trip and both were fantastic. There is absolutely an option to do tours/trips from other vendors in town and the staff at Matachica will not judge you if you choose to do that route.

It's nice that San Pedro town is only a 10 min boat ride away and there are several complimentary boat rides daily from Matachica to town. If you wish to stay in town longer you can take a water taxi but it is a bit pricey ($10 US one way per person).

Matachica offers daily trips to town or to do an excursion or you can simply sit around and be lazy. It's a fantastic setting to do either or both. The weather while we were there was iffy. Some rain showers, some clouds and some sun. Even during the cloudy spells we were happy to just sit around reading our books in the most relaxing setting.The music playing in the main hang our area is AMAZING! Good Wi Fi, internet and computer availability if you so choose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just got back from Matachica for a honeymoon, and wow! We could have not picked a better place to spend our honeymoon. The resort was gorgeous...looked just like the pictures on the webpage. I've been to a number of places in the Caribbean, and the water was the clearest I have ever seen. We even liked the sea grass in the shallow waters; it was cool to be able to walk in the shallows and see conch shells, little crabs, starfish, etc. The reef being a 10 minute paddle away was huge, as well. Great snorkeling right at your finger tips.

We were pretty much beach bums the entire week. Yes, there are great activities that can be booked through the front desk, but we enjoyed laying out and having the beach all to ourselves, instead. We did do the Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley snorkeling, which was the one activity that we did go on. We also went in to San Pedro once or twice, but a little of the town goes a long way. It has a lot of personality, but it is very small and you'll be eager to get back to the resort. Elvi's Kitchen in San Pedro is the once restaurant that is worth the trip in our opinion.

It's been said on here already, but the best part of the whole experience was the staff. I'm sure I'll botch some spelling of names here, but Israel, Isadora, Reymundo, Andrea, Grisele, Ana, Nayele, Alex and everyone else there were fantastic! I know it sounds cliche, but we really feel like we made friends there. I'm sure I'm leaving others out, but they were great too.

We'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Sure we are biased, but we loved Pineapple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My new wife and I had planned to go to Belize for our honeymoon, however, due to a immigration snafu we were forced to cancel our vacation while we were at the airport :( I spoke with Burga from the resort, and after explaining to her our situation, she made the impossible happen!!!! She was able to hold our reservation until we were able to come to Belize!!!! Thanks again Burga!!!!! When we arrived we were blown away! Such a beautiful resort filled with people who make you feel great all day, every day!!!!! It was truly amazing!!!!! We will return asap!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent a relaxing week at Matachica mid-October. I was a little worried we'd have bad weather since it's in hurricane season, but it was hot and sunny every day. The bungalow was amazing (we were in grapefruit), spotless and modernly decorated with a huge bathroom. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, and really make you feel welcome. The pool is nice, and the beach is gorgeous. We enjoyed the onsite massages and the snorkeling trip. The only thing that we weren't crazy about was the food. Everything on the menu is good, but caters to American tastes. We eat enough pasta and salad at home, and were sad their weren't any local options on the menu. Would have loved to see more Central American options. Since we didn't opt for the all-inclusive packages, we ended up going into town or walking to a few other resorts for more options. There is a fantastic El Salvadorean place in San Pedro that makes the best papusas! But other than the limited food options, I'd highly recommend Matachica for a relaxing, gorgeous tropical getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I was in heaven when I stayed at Matachica. The resort, the staff, the casitas were all just breathless. Any woman that has had a massage, well wait til you go to this spa. Out of this world! The staff made sure we were happy at all times. They set up the diving, cave tubing and ziplining for us. I could keep going on just how wonderful this place is but why don't you go check it out your self. You will not be disappointed. I suggest couples only becuase of the romantic setting. Def for honeymooners. I have only one complaint about Belize, Mosquitos! So make sure you have a good bug repellent. You can get that in the little gift shop on the resort. This is a resort you will not regret going to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaNDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had no idea what to expect because my travel agent booked it and I didn't have time to check it out. It was perfect, beautiful and relaxing. The casitas were so cute, perfect for sleeping in. The staff made you feel completely at home. The restaurant serves amazing food (at NYC prices but worth it).. It is obviously the most popular resort in the area because all the other hotels were completely empty while they were almost full (it was the off season in October.) I would love to go back with a friend. Their service was so good, I had left my bikini in my room and they made sure it made its way back to me. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A casita by the pool might be nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
830 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing