We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Romantic Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My husband and I celebrated our two- year anniversary at this wonderful resort. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. If you are looking for a romantic, secluded, friendly, and relaxed place to stay, this is the place for you. We did the 5 days 6 nights taste of paradise package, and upgraded to a beachfront casita. I have to say, it was well worth the extra price to be just a few feet away from the water. The rooms have shutters, which I found so great. You can close them for privacy, or open them to enjoy the view, and feel the Ocean’s breeze at any time of day. The all-inclusive package included breakfast and dinner. We decided to have this inclusion for 4 of the days, so we could eat on our own the rest of the days, but we ended up adding more meals, because the food was FABULOUS. Everything we ate was incredible, and the desserts were heavenly. Please try their chocolate soufflé and their key lime pie if you stay here…you are, after all, on vacation. My husband and I enjoyed lounging on the beautiful hammocks in front of our beachfront casita, as we took in the most surreal view. We also enjoyed kayaking to the reef to snorkel, and riding the hotel bikes to the other nearby resorts (bike 2 miles to Captain Morgan’s to have one of Charlie’s pina coladas. They were the best ever!). My husband really enjoys fishing, so it was great to see him enjoy himself at the hotel dock, as he fished with some of the employees and hotel guests (sometimes they fished in the day, but the party came alive as they fished at night!). There are no phones or TV's in the rooms, and you can really find yourself loosing track of the days and time, as you literally feel yourself decompress at this unreal place. I also highly recommend getting a massage at the spa. My husband and I thought it was well worth our time and money, and I can tend to be picky about massages. The staff was great, and they planned all or our excursions based upon what we wanted to do. Not having to plan these things was a stress reliever. We loved this place so much, that we decided to stay an extra day. My husband and I will definitely be going back to the Matachica soon. Don’t hesitate to book this place. I am one of those people, who look into every detail before I can make up my mind about staying at a place, and then I’m still unsure…but I can say that I have seen this place first hand, and you will not be disappointed!

Christine & Ross
Albuquerque, NM

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CrissAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 969 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RdJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liveNlearnBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank A728IGtonyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DVMDV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
6.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $356 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing