We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Pedro's Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$56
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$473
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spindrift Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seven Seas Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
$348
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$113
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$97
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$217
$208
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveler rating
1,142
217
48
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,142
217
48
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation roomour honeymooninfinity suiteadmiral nelsonnelson's barpalmilla restaurantromance packageambergris cayedive shopin towngolf cartmain restaurantchaa creekgrounds are immaculateprivate poolbeautiful propertyfish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,217 - 1,222 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Victoria House during pre-Thanksgiving season...let me say, it was just the most amazing start to our Belize trip! This time of year was the perfect time to go - rates still a little lower, beautiful perfect weather, and half the time we felt like we were on a private trip! We had originally planned to end at the beach and start in the rainforest but this place was the perfect island setting to get us into the Belizean spirit. The entire staff was unbelievably friendly, helpful, and really interested in sharing their stories about Belize, her beauty, and the culture. The location is outside of town and originally we weren't sure how we felt about that...but we were staying somewhere else later in town and ended up never needing or even wanting to leave the property. I would be much more likely to stay here than Mata Chica or one of the northern resorts due to the proximity and ease of getting anywhere you want. The hotel can arrange any acitivity you want....snorkling, boating, fishing, jungle excursions, dives...you dont have to plan anything in advance. It is a little more expensive to have them arrange this for you but the ease of not having to worry about anything is so worth it. They will also drive you into town one way if you do decide you want to head there (you just take a $5 taxi back) - and there are also bikes you can take during the day - fun to explore that way. Town is close by and offers a much more lively scene with restaurants, bars, etc...the best part is coming back to the hotel because it's quiet and remote at night in a good way....we loved waking up here to how beautiful it all is. The grounds are immaculate and the sandy beach is the best one we saw hands down. You don't swim at the Belize beaches really - you can kayak and do all sorts of activites but the sea grass encompasses the shoreline all througout the country. This doesn't matter at all...there are so many other things to do and active sea trips you can take that you're better off doing anyway, like snorkling or diving out on the reef. There are beautiful hammocks under the palms everywhere that overlook the ocean, gorgeous pools, a dock that leads out onto the water and allows access to any day trips you may take. We went fishing and caught a ten pound snapper that the chefs cooked up for us on the beach for a romantic dinner....it was amazing. The bar is great, full of neat drinks, music and games if you just want to hang out. The food is truly wonderful; sure - a little pricey but we felt a lot of food on Ambergris was a bit more expensive; and the service and fun we had totally made up for that. I can't say enough about all of the staff that are there onsite...at first we were unsure what it would be like but it turns out reservations are made through the US office in Texas and the people you encounter on site are not the same people that are in the US office: they were nice enough but more rushed, short, very U.S.! Once you arrive on the island the staff is extremely friendly, incredibly kind, and just all around personable and GREAT. Our plane was late and we werent sure how they would know we arrived late but lo and behold, Junior was there waiting for us with a big smile and a golf cart that was the start of just knowing everything was taken care of from there on out. We had SUCH an amazing trip to Belize and Victoria House was the perfect beginning...we didn't want to leave! It's the kind of place where you can do lots of fun activities...or nothing at all - perfect mix. Whenever we get back to Ambergris, we will definitely stay here again. We just looked back at our pictures and it is honestly the most beautiful place!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This place by far is the best on the island. Top notch service, exceptionally clean and well maintained. Four of us stayed in Casa Playa Blanca for the week of Thanksgiving and couldn't have been happier. The house has two bedrooms and it's own pool. It was directly on the beach with beautiful views. We found ourselves looking forward to coming home after a night out early just to sit at our pool looking up at the stars and listening to the palms rustling. The Victoria House is exactly what we wanted...from the moment they met us at the airport to the sad moment they brought us back. Every one on the staff was friendly, courteous and available to meet your every need. Enjoy at least one dinner at their restaurant, Palmilla. Justin was our server and made our dinner even more special. Drinks at the bar with Tony was also a treat. He was quite eager to tell us about the island and things to do and see. Have a massage out on the pier, you won't be disappointed. I'd rate the Victoria House one of my favorite places to stay in the world. Cheers!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boatways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We recently returned from a one week stay at Victoria House and will definitely return!

The the resort is absolutely fabulous - so beautifully maintained. If you visit the Victoria House web site you will see what I mean and this is the first resort we've visited where it really does look exactly like the photos we saw on their web site.

The staff at VH cannot do enough for you and everyone is so friendly - they make you feel very welcome. The bartenders, the wait staff, the housekeeping staff, groundskeepers, front desk, security, etc. - each and every one are friendly, helpful and so very nice.

If you visit be sure to book one of their snorkeling excursions - Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley are a must!!

I would recommend Belize, and this resort in particular, to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation and loves to be pampered.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DittoExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

From the day we booked our reservations with the Houston office to our wedding day, our experience with Victoria House has been exceptional. We, ok lets be honest, "I" wanted a stress-free wedding and that's what Victoria House provided. The staff, especially Javier, made the planning easy and as he said "the hardest part is going into town to sign the paperwork".
We decided to purchase the meal plan with Victoria House which was expensive but made things convenient. Yes, the resort compared to other's on the island, is pricey but you do get what you pay for! As you can see from the pictures the resort is breathtaking, so I won't say much more about the beautiful back-drop we had for our wedding photos.
I can't image a more perfect place to have had our wedding. How often do you hear that from a bride... a "perfect" wedding!
Thanks again to Javier and the staff at Victoria House.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ippy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed at Victoria House the second week of our honeymoon and it was the best way to end the vacation. The location was great and the staff was very friendly.

We stayed in eastern Belize the first week and did the adventures while there. It was really nice to come to Victoria House to have the rest and relaxation part of the trip. Ambergris really doesn't have a lot of great beachfront but the area in front of Victoria House was the best we saw.

We originally had a Casita and they are very intimate and romantic. However, we upgraded to an Infinity Suite, which is a 2 story room over kitchen/living room. These are great if you are staying for a week or so as you can go shopping and then cook a few meals or have breakfast in your room. The kitchen was appointed with new cabinets, granite countertops and stainless appliances. The only complaint we had was that there seemed to be an ant problem along the back wall/counter of the kitchen that was hard to rectify. It was not too big an impact though we did not cook because of it. We may not have cooked anyway but I would not say that the ant problem ruined our stay.

Both pools are very nice. There is a traditional pool near the restaurant and the bar and then an infinity pool by the suites. We spent time at both.

You can rent golf carts to travel around and they have free bikes. The walk to the 'downtown' area is about 20-25 mins.

There is a 'shack' on their pier where you can schedule all of your activities. We scheduled up snorkeling at Shark Ray Alley and Hol Chan and then also did a half day of fishing. When we brought back all the snapper we caught that day the guide cleaned the fish for us and the kitchen cooked it up for our dinner that night.

The food onsite is pretty good, but not super. We ate their 6 of our 7 nights. We HIGHLY recommend the Seafood Cake appetizer and the English Muffins at breakfast are made onsite and are incredible (more like a buttermilk biscuit). The wait staff and bartenders are very friendly and helpful. GREAT attitudes.

Not too far from the resort is a lagoon where you can see crocs (as close as 5 feet away) at sunset. That was pretty cool.

We miss the place and would go back in an instant. Please note we are very picky about cleanliness, friendliness and nice beds and this place did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsettravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews