We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Victoria House. The property is beautiful with a private beach, several pools, and plenty of palm trees for shade. From San Pedro it is approximately 2 miles to the hotel, which provides just enough quiet and seclusion. The staff was very helpful and friendly and frequently went out of their way to help. You can easily go into town for dinner but the restaurant at the hotel serves high quality food. For activities, Victoria House has a dock with equipment for snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, etc. They can book your tours there, or you can use another tour operator who will just pick you up at the end of the dock. This is a great place to relax and enjoy Belize!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    197
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
178
854
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

i wish i could afford to stay here. we initially ran into the bar the day after we arrived on ambergris caye to get out of a rain shower. had the key lime bruele. are you serious. i can't even spell it, but i wanted to adopt it for my own. we decided we'd come for our last night's dinner. they sent a golf cart for us, we sat by the pool with a sea breeze, had a server who could work at any top restaurant and food to kill for. lobster strips, lightly breaded. i want more. grouper and snapper cooked to perfection. and yes, one more of those key lime things i can't spell.
dieting is not for this restaurant.
the entire facility was top notch, a resort that i may have to start saving for. and start dieting for

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have just got back from a week at Victoria House and recommend it highly.
We stayed in one of the casitas, they are perfect with a large porch with 2 chairs and a hammock. The grounds are immaculate and well kept. Continental breakfast included in the price is plentiful, a large glass of fresh juice, a plate of fruit and a basket with 2 good sized pastries, plus as much coffee as you want.
We had some meals in the hotel and some out. The meals we did have at the Victoria House were excellent, plus the bars snacks in the bar area also very good. Prices for the food comparable with other good restaurants in San Pedro, certainly not more expensive.
The trips that you can book from the dock were really great and such good value. we did the all day sail/snorkel with lunch included, fresh fish barbequed on the beach, food and drink so plentiful we couldn't finish it all.
ditto the day trip to the Mayan ruins, may look expensive but when you factor in that it includes breakfast, fruit, lunch and drinks, plus us an amazing experience, it all seems good value.
This is a very special place indeed and the staff are fantastic, it is very well run indeed.
We travel a lot and aren't easily bowled over, but this lovely hotel deserves all the praise it attracts.

Room Tip: We liked the casitas. They aren't huge rooms, but perfect for couples who get on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazHiggins65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

From the moment you enter off the beaten path into Victoria House, there is an instant sense of peace and serenity. Five minutes into this incredible dimension, we received a room upgrade since ours was not ready; many thanks to Florita. She was kind enough to tour us around the property then escorted us to what would be our paradise for the next four days. This property is gorgeous! It has this sheik elegance about it; I think it is the best on the entire Island. Our room was ocean front was on the second floor of a free standing house, with large sitting porch., surrounded by palm trees swaying to the light breeze. There was always a breeze that invited you to take the two mile walk on the beach towards the town. This was one of our favorite features after breakfast. The also offer complimentary bicycles but the streets are crowded with mopeds, golf cars, cars, more golf cars that the walk to town via the seashore won unanimously every time. The food was phenomenal! We ate out twice just to say we got away and tried local restaurants, which were very good, but you could easily just enjoy all your meals there from the great, varied menus offered. The staff here has a sense of pride to be working there and it shows. Everyone was always helpful, courteous without over doing it. You felt you were at their house and they were happy to have you there. There are very few places that we decide to revisit since there is so much to see. We just reserved to return again next year and spend a little more time here. Thank you all from the spectacular Victoria House for everything.

Room Tip: Definitely an ocean view room with a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepecrusader70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I can't say enough good things about this place! We were on our honeymoon from 11-Nov-13 through 16-Nov-13. It was our first trip to Ambergris Caye and we will definitely be back. Everything about Victoria House made our stay memorable. It'll be hard to hit all of the positives, so I'll just list the best:

-Fantastic views of the Caribbean, even from the back of the property. We stayed in 2 different rooms (one was an infinity pool villa at the back and we could still see the ocean). Our other room was in Casa Azul which was ocean front (more on the rooms later).

-THE STAFF IS THE FRIENDLIEST I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED AT A RESORT!(sorry for yelling, but I had to get my point across). At check in we were given a tour of the property by a lovely young lady who went over everything with us...and that was just the beginning. Every time I encountered an employee(more on them in a second) I received a friendly smile and a cherry, "hello" or "how are you today". All were very genuine. And if you had spent more time talking to them, then always remembered your name.
• Special Thank you to Lester, Tony, Luis, and Justin at Admiral Nelson's Bar. Our drinks were never empty, and they provided us with FANTASTIC recommendations for off property dining and activities(again, I will list later).
• Also to Julio and Leonel at Palmilla restaurant. Friendly service with a smile, not just in the restaurant, but poolside as well!

-Food from Palmilla/Admiral Nelsons was great- More expensive and commercialized than what you find in town, but excellent taste, plentiful portions, and the friendly service make it worth it.
• Try the chimichurri rib eye with potato and cheese "pancake" for dinner, and the hot wings or sliders for lunch.
• Also, other reviews have said the continental breakfast wasn’t very good. I disagree, it may be plain(toast/muffins) and fruit, but it would usually fill me up until lunch time… and I am an eater!
-The Rooms: We stayed in a Plantation Room in Casa Azul for the first few nights…WOW! A multi bedroom condo with its own private pool and upstairs patio. Unless you rent out all rooms you don’t get the living and dining areas, but the view of the ocean was second to none. We then moved to a 2 story villa behind the infinity pool. It’s a little bit further back on the property, but still a nice view of the ocean. These rooms also have full kitchens and the master bed room upstairs has high vaulted ceiling and a private patio facing the pool/ocean. All towels, robes, toiletries, and bed linens our top of the line (in fact, my wife would like to know where to purchase the linens!)

Now for a little on some of the things to do and restaurants to try (we are not divers/fishermen, so we had to find other activities):
• If you have a kitchen in your room/villa be sure to go to Marinas and stock up on groceries and beer. It is the cheapest market we found and is close to the resort. This will save you some $$$. However, you can also go in to town and eat every meal for a good culinary experience and save $$$ too. I would definitely recommend stocking up on beer here. You could buy directly from the distributor, but the beer is hot, and the road was washed out while we were there (and brings plastic travel mugs to make your own drinks to bring with you places).
• Try Fidos for karaoke on Tuesday’s-great service, cheap , cold drinks and a fun time
• Palapa Bar has great views, good drinks and tasty fish tacos. You can also swim in the water and they will lower your drinks down to you. Its best to take the water taxi from town here because the road north of the bridge is almost washed out ($5US each way per person). Be sure to write on the walls so everyone knows you were there
• Hurricane Ceviche Bar-almost directly in front of Blue Water Grill on the pier. We wandered in here to get out of the rain and ended up staying all day. Josh, the owner’s son, was a great bartender and kept my wife and I entertained while making strong drinks (try the michelada). Order the ceviche, but be careful of the “Belizean Cherries” aka Habaneros. The look just like jalapenos(found it out much too late)
• Melt-for some great gourmet grilled cheese
• The Baker-for your bread and sweets needs
• Golf Carts-you’ll need one to make it easier to get a round. I’m sure the places off property are cheaper, but the resort ones are competitively priced and there are right there and ready to go.
• We heard great things about Wild Mango’s, Blue Water, Elvi’s and El Fogon, but unfortunately didn’t get to try them(we will next time though).
• Just walk the beach or Front Street in town during the day and visit the different beach front restaurants/bars for a quick appetizer and drink or to shop for souveniers.
There is a huge expatriate population here and everyone speaks English and takes US$ so it was easy to communicate. We felt safe the entire time whether in town or at the resort. Thank you to everyone that made our honeymoon unforgettable! We look forward to spending one of our anniversaries at Victoria House in the future…plus maybe some random vacations with friends(we’re telling everyone we know to stay there).

Room Tip: Ask for off property recommendations for food, drinks, and fun...then go to all of them! You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominoFaSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

just got back from a week at victoria house nov 5 to nov 12, great place well maintained, nice rooms, probably the best from what i saw in san pedro, thanks to jesus, romon, justin,maniel roxy for their special care, luis at the dive shop set us up with a 2 snorkel dive and caye caulker trip, it was great, my thanks to raul at monchos golf cart great service , 4 of the days poured rain like crazy and really limits your activities, roads flood easily, if you stick to diving and beach activities this place is your cup of tea, forget the road north of the bridge its a disaster, hotels north only really accessed by water taxi( keep in mind when booking)-, south of victoria house the road ends and it usually under water, restaurants check out elvi's kitchen, fidos, blue water grill, ricos near victoria house all good, the road from victoria house to town is well paved and lighted, residents ar the best, very helpful, forget caye caulker when we left it was a sewage dump from the rain

Room Tip: casita are good but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanlar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have stayed here five times and hope to return another five! The staff are all gracious and welcoming, they love having you there. The atmosphere is total upscale Belize, comfortable, island chic. The food is wonderful, especially love fishing all day and having the kitchen prepare the seafood perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyStettinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing