We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$130
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$290
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveler rating
1,159
219
49
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
219
49
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation roomour honeymooninfinity suiteadmiral nelsonnelson's barpalmilla restaurantromance packageambergris cayedive shopin towngolf cartmain restaurantchaa creekgrounds are immaculateprivate poolbeautiful propertyfish
Filter
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This August was my third stay at the Victoria House. I went with friends 3 years ago and have been back every year since. The hotel is small (40 rooms) so you rarely feel that it is overrun with people, however this year was the exception. In year's past, we've felt like we own the place. Never a problem getting a lounge by one of the pools, no issues with service, et. However this year was different. I've seen a couple other people comment on this in August this year. There was a wedding that occurred the weekend we arrived and they had rented out the whole resort. Some of the guests stayed longer, including those with kids. While this is a great place with a lot of stuff to do, there is not much entertainment for smaller children. When you are laying out by the pool or snoozing in a hammock, you don't want to hear screaming children for HOURS on end or get pelted by coconuts that the 5 year old is throwing up in the air. The snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, diving, jet skis, etc. all make this a wonderful place for adults and older children. The lack of TV's or shallow pools make it not so great for small kids, especially when the parents let them run amok.

I've gone off on a tangent. What I really wanted to comment on was what keeps us coming back each year. The dive masters, Rene and Jacinto. They are absolutely amazing. I've seen them calm down divers who are freaked out, and yet they also take the time to point out everything they see from the tiniest of shrimp to the rays, eels, sharks and dolphins. We love them and keep returning to the Victoria House just to be able to dive with them.

The food is okay, but is overpriced. I recommend heading in to town for most meals. Elvi's is great, as is Hidden Treasure (just around the corner from VH). If you're out and about, a trip north of the bridge is made worthwhile by the amazing cuisine created by the chef at Pirates Treasure.

Room Tip: The cabanas are the same size as the plantation rooms, but warmer and have less privacy. They do have hammocks though. The state rooms have a Queen size bed but are otherwise the same size as the plantation rooms. There is a little noise in the mornings from breakfast goers as they are situated over the restaurant. State Room 17 has a king size bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntaylor578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just returned yesterday from a weeks stay at Victoria House after a week in the jungle at San Ignacio. It is the property you imagine when you imagine luxurious tropical accommodations! The grass, the palms, the clear water, white beaches, and the colorful foliage is magnificent and to make it perfect, the warm, rich villas are amazing. Tony and the crew at the bar are a joy and the entire staff was always friendly and helpful. We are booking for Thanksgiving already!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had an amazing time in the Victoria House. Great rooms, fantastic atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff and good food. If you look for a care free place to stay in San Pedro this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BohemianRhapsody1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at VH for 5 nights in a Rainforest Suite in early December 2012. Our room was just WOW with great beach view. Being still jet lagged we're up early and enjoyed a sunrise each morning from the verandah. I can echo other guests' reviews that this is a lovely property. Unfortunately during our stay there was a group of 10-15 people who arrived for a wedding. The kids were running riot and the adults were shouting messages from across the lawn.

It also seemed to me the restaurant staff were mostly paying attention to the wedding party members and even greeted them by name. Our breakfast services was nothing special. As soon as we discovered that the Admiral Nelson bar served breakfast we happily gave the main restaurant a miss in the mornings. The bar also had a decent - though rather pricey- lunch menu. I liked the lobster tacos but I didn't think too much of the luke warm service.

We had dinner at the hotel only once as the Palmilla restaurant lacked the atmosphere. My grouper with cashew nuts was nice but smaller and much more expensive than at the nearby Hidden Treasure restaurant. It was more fun to try local restaurants in town than to eat the hotel. I can highly recommend a dinner at Elvi's Kitchen!

A highlight of our stay in San Pedro was a boat trip to Caye Caulker and a stop at the shark ray alley to snorkel with fish and turtles.

I believe VH is the nicest hotel this side of San Pedro. I just wish the hotel's management and staff could find a way to better balance the needs of the over excited wedding guests with the need of other guests for some quiet rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MonikafromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Victoria House June 14-June 23, 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it! It's has beautiful grounds, pools and beach! The staff is so incredibly nice and helpful that you would never have any complaints in this area!
I will say, however, that this resort mostly caters to weddings, honeymoons, romance and families with children. If you're looking for a place with a party atmosphere, this is not the place for you. It was uncomfortable to us in the sense that we weren't there for any of the above and could feel that the vibe was not the "norm" for us.
The restaurant and the food are remarkable, while the "room service" is a little odd. There are no phones in the rooms (or T.V.'s and reliable WiFi) so if you want room service, you need to walk over to the restaurant and place your order. They will bring you whatever you request!
This was my 7th trip to San Pedro in 4 years and had already been to Victoria House for their bar/restaurant prior to this trip at least two times per visit.
Enjoy your stay and take lots of pictures!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are about the size of a very small hotel/motel room. We happened to get upgraded, which was amazing! If you can afford it, upgrade your stay, as well!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riccim1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews