We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly relaxing and romantic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent four days celebrating our wedding anniversary at Victoria House.
What a blissful stay! Kudos to VH staff for the sublime service and extra touches. We'll be back as soon as we can.

Room Tips~We stayed first in a Plantation Room and then in a Casita, both were wonderful. The room was surprisingly the most private with king bed, private porch and only 4 to a building. The casita has its charms, your private porch and hammock, but you have neighbors right up beside your porch. We checked the hotel rooms above the restaurant and though they share a balcony, only a few rooms are up there so there seems to be no extra traffic by your lounge chairs.

Not used to having my gluten-free diet understood when I travel, but they got it, and I had the best fishNchips I'd had in years!
For nature-lovers, be ready by the dock when the fishermen return and the guides filet the catch. Magnificent frigate birds put on an amazing display as they compete for the scraps thrown, even battling the resident pelican. Afterwards a graceful ray combs the seafloor for the leftovers. So cool and just steps from Admiral Nelson's bar and your beach chair!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bec228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Victoria House Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Victoria House for five days in December 2012 and it was EXACTLY what my husband and I were looking for... a peaceful, relaxing getaway at a most beautiful location. The property is a little slice of paradise with breezy palm trees, blue waters and tropical flowers in bloom. Food and drinks were delicious, staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean, lovely and comfortable, we appreciated the air-conditioning and WiFi. I wasn't sure how it would be with no tv (our particular room didn't have one), but it was actually quite nice not having it. At Victoria House, you can do as much or as little as you desire. Through Victoria House, we arranged a snorkeling trip to the reef & shark ray alley, and fly-fishing at the flats (our first time fly-fishing). We were picked up right at the Victoria House pier... both activities were fun and amazing! We also made good use of the seaside hammocks and lounge chairs... reading, relaxing, even taking a little nap! Although we never had a chance to use them, the pools looked wonderful and refreshing. We borrowed bikes on-site and rode into town (not a far ride) for some site-seeing and shopping which was a ton of fun (I hadn't ridden a bike in years!). We enjoyed the town of San Pedro and the local shops and merchants. I normally like to travel to new places each time we vacation and not repeat visits, but I cannot wait to return to Victoria House... it was the perfect little getaway we had been looking for!!!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor Plantation Room because there was nothing else available for the week we wanted...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Victoria House was such a treat! The property was absolutely gorgeous and so well kept. The beach and dock were wonderful to walk along to enjoy the breeze. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The town area was about 2 miles away, but there was a shuttle to and from the hotel certain times of the day, or there were bikes available to use. It was also a nice walk along the beach into town. We loved our stay and were sad to have to leave!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomom139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for six wonderful days on a little family getaway. The property is absolutely gorgeous, perfectly manicured. Rooms are air conditioned, clean, with comfortable beds. Shower was pretty wimpy... but hard to focus on that with the incredible location and stunning beach.
Food and drinks were great, particularly loved the continental breakfast with fresh fruit and pastries. Great coffee! The dinner menu was a little heavier than I was expecting for the location, but it was delicious.
We did the half day snorkel & Shark Ray Alley trip through the hotel. The guides were fabulous! We were in a small group and beat all of the other guided tours to both spots. This & a message on the beach were the highlights for sure!
Wifi was available, but went down a few times - which shouldn't be a complaint when you're there to relax. Lots of time was spent near the pool or on the patio reading and soaking in the view.
All said & done, we can't wait to go back. Hopefully we will plan early enough to get a Casita next time.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are a little noisy (doors shutting loudly).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreCaffeinePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Victoria House for the last week of our honeymoon and the whole experience was positive. The food at the restaurant and the bar are excellent, the beach clean and tidy, the rooms beautifully decorated with lovely products, and the staff friendly.

Practicalities first. This hotel is a few miles away from the centre of San Pedro, but the hotel runs four free shuttles into town each day and they offer free bicycles for use during daylight hours. The rooms have televisions with plenty of channels to choose from, but no phones. But...this is a good thing as far as I'm concerned. The wifi is fast and it extends to the beach, so I was able to catch up on my emails in a hammock hung between two coconut palms. Excursions, while not cheap, are reasonably priced, and if you forget your flippers and snorkle gear, its 10 USD per day to rent theirs.

When we arrived, our room in the Casa Azul was decorated with Hibiscus flowers and a bottle of Veuve Cliquot was chilled on the coffee table with two champagne glasses, awaiting our arrival. I can't remember the last time I smiled so much - the whole thing was just so lovely.

The sand on the beach is white - the water turquoise - and when there is a breeze, it is a warm tropical breeze. Some of the casas have private pools exclusively for the use of guests in those houses. The waiters will happily seek you out and bring you cocktails on the beach or to your private poolside. (Try the coconut mojito - it sounds odd but is just amazing. Not really a mojito, more of a blended cocktail, but just heavenly!) Speaking of services they provide on the beach, you can get a massage on the edge of the water...or a pedicure on the pier...wherever you'd like it really!

I'm gushing. But I rarely gush and in this case there is a reason.

Room Tip: The casitas are charming, but they are small and very expensive. Instead, plump for one of the Casa...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHarris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful beach, delicious food, quality service...just try to stay in newer rooms. This hotel has the best beach...close to town but far enough away to not be bothered. There is no fitness center and the spa is mobile which is not bad to have massages on the beach. I had massage and pedicure. Just got TVs and no telephone in rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKKDEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria House for our honeymoon. We stayed for 7 days though we split the stay between a King Plantation room (3 days) and a Casita (4 days).

The whole experience started with contacting the Reservation Office. They were extremely helpful in the planning of our stay (suggesting the split) and telling us that everything would be taken care of when we moved rooms. They were also quick to answer questions that we had prior to starting the trip. The confirmations came as promised and there was nothing to do but wait!

Once we arrived at the resort we experienced the next tier of excellence. From the Front Desk staff to the groundskeepers everyone was dedicated to making our trip top notch.

Some highlights:

The Palmilla and Admiral Nelson restaurants
- We ate breakfast there every morning. At first we had just the complimentary light continental breakfasts. That included fresh juice (fresh in that it had just been made as we ordered), homemade bread toast, a fresh baked pastry and fresh fruit. After the second day we decided to split an egg-white omelet. It was delicious; it was fresh and hot. All of the ingredients were combined perfectly...I could go on!

- The lunch and dinners had as much attention to excellence as the breakfast. From the Rum & Coke Pulled Pork Tacos and the Shrimp Tacos (for lunch) to the Butternut Squash Enchiladas and Cashew Crusted Grouper (dinner). You really couldn't go wrong.

Activities
- The staff at the dive shop were amazing. They booked us with a local tour operator (Amigos Del Mar) to take a 3 stop Blue Hole snorkeling trip. The ease with booking the trip, the experience with the third-party operator and the follow-up from the Victoria House staff was exceptional. Luis and Javier really get the gold stars for being so attentive.

- Our golf cart outing to downtown San Pedro was super easy. They have carts ready for guests so there was no waiting. And, more important to me, was that they were in good condition. I didn't once worry about our cart (#5) getting to town and back!

- Our sunset cruise was also great. Mother Nature didn't cooperate (the sun set behind clouds) but it cleared up as we cruised back in. So it was more of a stargazing cruise! It was wonderful anyway and the boat operator was great. They enjoyed having a good time and they really made us all feel relaxed.

Staff
- On the second to last day of the trip I became ill with food poisoning (Blue Water Grill issue). When my wife went out to get some toast and ginger ale the restaurant staff got her everything she asked for. They delivered it to the room quickly and made sure that there was nothing else they could do.

- As we were going out to dinner one evening (in town) we were trying to take a picture of us as a couple. Noticing us fumbling with the camera to do a "selfie" the night security guard asked if he could help. We gave him the camera, gave some brief instruction and he tried to take a picture. Long story shortened, it didn't work. But the Resort Manager came to the rescue. She was able to get a couple of great shots of us and she taught the security guard some finer points of portrait taking. It was funny...

All-in-all we had an excellent trip. We couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
986 reviews
12.2 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
5.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Resort & Spa

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $227 - $1,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House Resort & Spa, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize
Victoria San Pedro
Victoria House Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing