We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Relaxation, Beautiful Property”
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Pure Relaxation, Beautiful Property”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for six wonderful days on a little family getaway. The property is absolutely gorgeous, perfectly manicured. Rooms are air conditioned, clean, with comfortable beds. Shower was pretty wimpy... but hard to focus on that with the incredible location and stunning beach.
Food and drinks were great, particularly loved the continental breakfast with fresh fruit and pastries. Great coffee! The dinner menu was a little heavier than I was expecting for the location, but it was delicious.
We did the half day snorkel & Shark Ray Alley trip through the hotel. The guides were fabulous! We were in a small group and beat all of the other guided tours to both spots. This & a message on the beach were the highlights for sure!
Wifi was available, but went down a few times - which shouldn't be a complaint when you're there to relax. Lots of time was spent near the pool or on the patio reading and soaking in the view.
All said & done, we can't wait to go back. Hopefully we will plan early enough to get a Casita next time.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are a little noisy (doors shutting loudly).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreCaffeinePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    196
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
182
866
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Victoria House for the last week of our honeymoon and the whole experience was positive. The food at the restaurant and the bar are excellent, the beach clean and tidy, the rooms beautifully decorated with lovely products, and the staff friendly.

Practicalities first. This hotel is a few miles away from the centre of San Pedro, but the hotel runs four free shuttles into town each day and they offer free bicycles for use during daylight hours. The rooms have televisions with plenty of channels to choose from, but no phones. But...this is a good thing as far as I'm concerned. The wifi is fast and it extends to the beach, so I was able to catch up on my emails in a hammock hung between two coconut palms. Excursions, while not cheap, are reasonably priced, and if you forget your flippers and snorkle gear, its 10 USD per day to rent theirs.

When we arrived, our room in the Casa Azul was decorated with Hibiscus flowers and a bottle of Veuve Cliquot was chilled on the coffee table with two champagne glasses, awaiting our arrival. I can't remember the last time I smiled so much - the whole thing was just so lovely.

The sand on the beach is white - the water turquoise - and when there is a breeze, it is a warm tropical breeze. Some of the casas have private pools exclusively for the use of guests in those houses. The waiters will happily seek you out and bring you cocktails on the beach or to your private poolside. (Try the coconut mojito - it sounds odd but is just amazing. Not really a mojito, more of a blended cocktail, but just heavenly!) Speaking of services they provide on the beach, you can get a massage on the edge of the water...or a pedicure on the pier...wherever you'd like it really!

I'm gushing. But I rarely gush and in this case there is a reason.

Room Tip: The casitas are charming, but they are small and very expensive. Instead, plump for one of the Casa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHarris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful beach, delicious food, quality service...just try to stay in newer rooms. This hotel has the best beach...close to town but far enough away to not be bothered. There is no fitness center and the spa is mobile which is not bad to have massages on the beach. I had massage and pedicure. Just got TVs and no telephone in rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKDEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria House for our honeymoon. We stayed for 7 days though we split the stay between a King Plantation room (3 days) and a Casita (4 days).

The whole experience started with contacting the Reservation Office. They were extremely helpful in the planning of our stay (suggesting the split) and telling us that everything would be taken care of when we moved rooms. They were also quick to answer questions that we had prior to starting the trip. The confirmations came as promised and there was nothing to do but wait!

Once we arrived at the resort we experienced the next tier of excellence. From the Front Desk staff to the groundskeepers everyone was dedicated to making our trip top notch.

Some highlights:

The Palmilla and Admiral Nelson restaurants
- We ate breakfast there every morning. At first we had just the complimentary light continental breakfasts. That included fresh juice (fresh in that it had just been made as we ordered), homemade bread toast, a fresh baked pastry and fresh fruit. After the second day we decided to split an egg-white omelet. It was delicious; it was fresh and hot. All of the ingredients were combined perfectly...I could go on!

- The lunch and dinners had as much attention to excellence as the breakfast. From the Rum & Coke Pulled Pork Tacos and the Shrimp Tacos (for lunch) to the Butternut Squash Enchiladas and Cashew Crusted Grouper (dinner). You really couldn't go wrong.

Activities
- The staff at the dive shop were amazing. They booked us with a local tour operator (Amigos Del Mar) to take a 3 stop Blue Hole snorkeling trip. The ease with booking the trip, the experience with the third-party operator and the follow-up from the Victoria House staff was exceptional. Luis and Javier really get the gold stars for being so attentive.

- Our golf cart outing to downtown San Pedro was super easy. They have carts ready for guests so there was no waiting. And, more important to me, was that they were in good condition. I didn't once worry about our cart (#5) getting to town and back!

- Our sunset cruise was also great. Mother Nature didn't cooperate (the sun set behind clouds) but it cleared up as we cruised back in. So it was more of a stargazing cruise! It was wonderful anyway and the boat operator was great. They enjoyed having a good time and they really made us all feel relaxed.

Staff
- On the second to last day of the trip I became ill with food poisoning (Blue Water Grill issue). When my wife went out to get some toast and ginger ale the restaurant staff got her everything she asked for. They delivered it to the room quickly and made sure that there was nothing else they could do.

- As we were going out to dinner one evening (in town) we were trying to take a picture of us as a couple. Noticing us fumbling with the camera to do a "selfie" the night security guard asked if he could help. We gave him the camera, gave some brief instruction and he tried to take a picture. Long story shortened, it didn't work. But the Resort Manager came to the rescue. She was able to get a couple of great shots of us and she taught the security guard some finer points of portrait taking. It was funny...

All-in-all we had an excellent trip. We couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wife and I stayed here recently. We spent our first few days at a more remote resort on Ambergris Caye (Tranquility Bay) but we wanted a few days closer to town to have some more activity options.

The resort itself is beautiful. Much nicer than we expected, in fact. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is courteous and friendly. Our room was an upstairs room in a plantation house that is sometimes rented out as a full house. Very spacious room with a balcony and an amazing view of the beach and ocean. Very comfy bed and a good shower. Only oddity about the room was that the bathroom had only a half wall between the bathroom and the bedroom, so a little limited on the privacy if one person was in the bathroom while another was in the bedroom. Not sure if all rooms are like that or just this one.

We ate breakfasts in the restaurant and a few other meals in the bar. The food was very good. Not cheap, but not terribly expensive either. We had just come from a resort where the food was much more expensive, so it seemed cheap to us by comparison.

About 15 minutes into San Pedro by golf cart, of which there are many available for rent from the hotel. The dive shop was also great in helping us arrange outings during the day. We did a SNUBA trip, a manatee/turtle snorkeling trip and a sunset cruise. All were done by third parties but the hotel staff arranged it and billed to our room.

By the way, we discovered that for just a little more money, you can charter your own boat and go wherever you want with just your group, rather than going with a large tour group. Makes a huge difference when you are looking for marine life without wanting to scare them off with 30 other people jumping in the water at the same time. As a result, we had some very up close and personal encounters with stingrays, manatees and sea turtles and saw several places that the tour groups don't usually go. We especially liked a guy named Alberto (his boat was the "Bill Collector") - he knew right where to go to find the best wildlife sitings. The hotel will know how to book him.

We really enjoyed Victoria House and would recommend it and stay there again if we return to San Pedro.

Room Tip: Most rooms have ocean views. But some are also overlooking the pool or the restaurant/bar area. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliottCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was the perfect end to our 2 weeks in Belize. We got all of our adventures out of the way before coming to Victoria House, which turned out to be perfect for us, because it meant we could just relax and enjoy the beautiful grounds and service. Victoria House is, however, in a great location for water adventures out of San Pedro as it is very near the snorkeling and fishing areas of the reef.

The food at the restaurant was great - continental breakfast was more than enough for our lazy days here. Lunch options were tasty and well-priced. Dinner was also delicious- the cashew crusted grouper was my favorite.

We stayed in a casita, which was cozy and romantic, and split our days between the hammock on the porch and the lounge chairs along the beach and poolside. Unlike most of the resorts in San Pedro (especially those on the north side of the island), Victoria House has a wide stretch of beach to enjoy, and it is QUIET! Truly a great spot to grab a cocktail and relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

12 of us (2 families and friends, kids ages 11 - 20) stayed at Casa Azul in March. It is a beautiful beach house with lots of room for all us us. We spent our days splashing in the private pool, tanning on the beach, taking snorkel excursions, driving to town on golf carts and loved our island experience. The staff are exceptional (friendly and helpful), the resort is spotless, and the beach beautiful. On our last day the staff held an Easter Egg hunt for the little ones - what a lot of fun to watch! Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Casa Azul is very spacious but can be easily separated into different sizes of suites and rooms. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie6316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing