We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, relaxing, clean, fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous, relaxing, clean, fun”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in a private bungalow that in and of itself was not especially luxurious or full of amenities, but very comfortable and romantic and really lovely and very, very relaxing. The golf carts were fun, the food on the island and at the resort great, the pool lovely and scuba/snorkeling available right from the resort. I would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: get a private bungalow on the central lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    196
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
184
874
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we loved everything about this resort. The service , the room, the restaurants,

The staff was always willing to help. The landscaping is lovely ,as are the pools.

The food was excellent (though a little pricey). We were lucky to get a room in one of the villas

and it was a two floor master suite of the casa azur. (room 44) It was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our third annual stay at Victoria House, and are already anticipating our fourth visit. Playing a large role in our decision to return every year is the superb, long-tenured staff that makes our stay seamless. That familiarity, coupled with luxurious accommodations, makes returning to VH a “no brainer” for us.

We travel with another couple, and our foursome stays in the luxury villas – a perfect set-up for our party, what with two separate bedrooms & full bathrooms bookending a lovely living / dining / kitchen area. It costs more than a plantation room or casita, but worth the privacy and expense, in my opinion, to have such well-appointed accommodations and no sharing of walls as with a typical hotel room.

VH is a place of calm, quiet and relaxation. With perfectly sunny weather and temps in the low 80s, we spent several days doing nothing more than lounging by the pool, books in hand, beverages nearby. Lunch was delivered to us poolside, and we managed a nightly constitutional of less than 100 yards, from our villa to Admiral Nelson’s Bar, for dinner. The next day? Lather, rinse, repeat.

If you need to be scheduled up to your eyeballs every day, to have things happen at a certain time or on a definitive schedule, not only is Victoria House not your resort, but quite honestly, Belize likely isn’t your country. (Although, I have complete faith that the staff at VH will accommodate whatever request you might have with respect to your schedule.) If you’d prefer a vacation with no agendas, no time tables, nothing but sun & sand, peace & quiet, I think you’ll be very pleased with what you find at Victoria House. We are, every year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anastasia_in_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Victoria House 01-04 Mar 2013. The hotel/resort is beautiful. The grounds are immaculate and the hibiscus bushes were all in bloom. Beautiful white sand beach, however, you can't swim there as the water is very shallow and there is a lot of sea grass. There is a very small cordoned off area at the end of the pier that does provide a small space to swim, but if you plan to swim, use one of three or four pools on the grounds or plan on taking a snorkel or dive trip that can be arranged through the front desk or at the small dive shop on the pier.

I'm not a big food person, but I thought the food was fine, nothing real notable. I was a bit disappointed in getting into and out of town. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from San Pedro and you can ride a bike compliments of the hotel, use the hotel shuttle that runs every two hours or you can rent a golf cart from the hotel for $28/hr! The shuttle takes you into town, but you have to arrange for transport back, which is about $6 from a taxi, or you can walk back. If you do walk back, find your way to the beach and walk back along the beach. You'll see some beautiful properties that you won't see from the street. It is an easy walk back. You might also shop around town for cheaper golf carts (the main means of transport in San Pedro). I understand you can rent one for much less than the hotel charges.

It's worth finding your way into town to see the various crafts, etc. We wished we could have been able to get into and back from town more often to enjoy some of the other restaurants. Because it is a bit inconvenient to get back and forth we felt some what "captive" at the hotel, but what a great place to be "stuck"!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 19 and it was very close to the "formal" restaurant as well as the bar/res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heron48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you stay at the Victoria House you will not be disppointed. The rooms are fantastic each has a beautiful view. The property is well taken care of and the staff is very helpful. I don't think I could stay anywhere else after staying here. Manuel was outstanding and we went to him on many occasions to help us with special requests. None of us wanted to leave this little piece of paradise. From the minute you get there, until you leave, you will be pampered by the staff, and fall in love with the peaceful surroundings. Renting a golf cart for a drive into town is a must. Even if you don't stay here, you must stop by to see the property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCountry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Victoria House is beautiful to look at. BUT, DO NOT plan on watching the sunset from the beach or you will be eatten alive by some sort of "no see um". Within minutes I had about 50 bites. It is not a problem during the rest of the day. Also, you cannot swim in front of the hotel (except within a very small roped off area at the end of the dock), even though pictures make the water look inviting....too much sea grass and boat traffic.

The rooms are okay, as is the food. Some may think it's pricey, but hey, it's a high end hotel. I thought it was priced fairly.

The staff was good/helpful. We didn't use the spa, and there is no gym. WiFi wasn't very strong.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay there, and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oahusquid x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Some of the friendliest people I've met, thanks to the staff for making our vacation great. Outside the hotel, the people of Belize are some of the friendliest we've met in our travels. This place is perfect for a relaxation getaway or honeymoon, not sure it's the best for kids or spring breakers. Staying in the casita is the only way to go- sunrise, hammock and fresh coffee, it doesn't get any better.

My favorite quote from when we arrived- "Everybody's friendly in Belize, even the alligators."

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MgoBlueMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
335 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,327 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria House Resort & Spa
Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize
Victoria San Pedro
Victoria House Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing