We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Since it was our honeymoon, we decided to go above what would otherwise be our usual budget, but we are so glad that we did! We had a Casita for three nights and on the first day, we knew we wanted to stay an extra night. Unfortunately, they only had a plantation room without a view, but it was still a fine room. Still, the Casita is the way to go! Between the thatched roof, the hammock out front and the comfortable furniture, air conditioning and the other and amenities, it was a great choice. The worst part about the rooms was that the bathrooms do not have a ceiling, and so the amount of privacy you have while inside them was a little lacking.

The hotel grounds are amazing. Two pools, including the very relaxing infinity pool, which also had a thatched room over one end to keep you out of the sun. The bar had a great selection, but was much closer to "American" prices that some of the other parts of the country. The meals were also a bit pricey, but with the complimentary continental breakfast of fruit and a few pastries, splurging for dinner on the last night of the trip wasn't too bad. For the most part, we went in to town for meals though. We either took the shuttle that ran about 4 times a day (we would suggest the hotel offer the shuttle earlier and later in the day, even if it was for a small fee). Regardless, don't mess around with getting a golf cart unless you can afford it or want to explore the more distant parts of the island. We also appreciated the internet station in the gift shop.

The staff was also excellent, and we met a lot of great people staying at the resort, including a number of honeymooners. The dive shop is also a nice resource, including free rentals for the snorkel and kayak equipment. It is also nice to have a dock on site where other tour companies can just pick you up for an excursion.

I'm sure there are other nice places on the island, but we couldn't go back without staying at the Victoria House. Also, be sure to wake up early for at least one sunrise!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Askingmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

My Husband and I just spent a week at Victoria House to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary. We had a great time, and will definitely want to come back to Belize and stay at Victoria House.

The food was outstanding! We had the FAP meal plan, so ate all of our meals here and there were so many things we wanted to try but we ran out of days. We loved the lunch and dinner menu, can't say enough good things about the food.

We stayed in Casita number 4, which was nice. It has a great view of the beach and ocean and was very close to the infinity pool. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very big and comfortable. The bathroom and closet space was a little small, but we definitely were able to manage without any problems.

We spent most of our days lounging by the infinity pool sipping drinks, and only left the resort twice to go fishing. My husband loves salt water fly fishing and thought Belize was better than the Florida Keys and Turks and Caicos. Both pools have great views of the beach and ocean. The beach is relatively small, but that didn't bother us at all. I'd rather swim in a pool anyway.

I was able to get a massage, facial, manicure, pedicure, and ear candling. All were great treatments and its so nice to have all of it done on the beach or in your room.

We had the reef romance package, and were glad we decided with that option since everything except alcohol was already included. The staff was very friendly. When it came time to checkout, there wasn't any hidden charges and they made it very easy. The were waiting at the airport when we arrived, and took us back when it was time to leave.

We had a wonderful time, and can't wait to hopefully come back soon!

Room Tip: Casita number 4 was great. The view seems to be one of the best, and it was closest to the infinity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyJ448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had our vow renewal ceremony on the beach at Victoria House. What an amazing and gorgeous property. Javier, the wedding coordinator, is quite the expert when it comes to weddings and making sure EVERY detail is taken care of. His kind, friendly demeanor helped my family feel at ease before the nuptials. He and the staff at Victoria House went out of their way to insure we enjoyed every moment of our time there. The dinner on the beach at our own private table was fabulous. Sherry, our waitress, met our every need despite our table being so far removed from the restaurant. The food was delectable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My daughter and son-in-law have been going to Victoria House for a decade since their marriage there on the beach. Obviously, they think of it as a second home so when they invited me and my friend to join them for a week, we jumped at the idea. We met them in Belize City and flew over to Ambergris Caye together on a little single engine turbo prop plane which was an experience in itself...beautiful views of the islands. We were met at the airport and taken to Victoria House by golf cart, shown to our beautiful independent house, and served a welcome drink. The house was tastefully done with a well appointed kitchen and living room in the center of the house and a bedroom, each with private bath on each side. The bed linens, towels, and robes were top quality and the canopy bed placed strategically under plantation fans was blissfully comfortable. Obviously the air-conditioning helped. Our bathroom was modern, large, and kept spotlessly clean by help that seemed to know when we were not there. I cannot say enough about the employees who were friendly and helpful. We were impressed by the fellow in the dive shop who gave us a history lesson of Belize. They treated us like family and we ate frequently at the casual bar not only for the delicious meals, but to pass the time with the bar staff and other guests. We picked up some very amusing bar tricks and had lots of laughs. Our house was situated right behind the lap pool and I made good use of that pool everyday for exercise. My daughter and her husband took out a sea kayak for a better workout. We took a water taxi over to another island for a lobster fest one day and I believe water taxis are abundant and go to several islands. We were after a restful vacation and that was easy to do...long walks on the beach and walks with the SPCA dogs. I'd like to mention that the island has done a wonderful job controlling strays and spay neutering its street dog population. All in all it was a wonderful vacation with family. Victoria House is an up scale destination that seemed to attract a lot of young yuppies but there were families with well behaved children as well. I should be so lucky to be invited back...hint, hint. :) $800. per night is a bit out of my range but worth every dollar! If you are in the market to treat someone to a luxury vacation and maintain your privacy, this would be the perfect choice. Thanks kids!

Room Tip: The big house behind the lap pool is great for a family or two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5puravida5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at Victoria House in San Pedro for years. I just love it. It is truly a class act. If you dive, it is heaven. Luis will arrange dive trips for you with ease! I typically do two dives a day and never get tired. Have also taken a variety of excursions form VH. Also, the food is amazing. Cannot think of any place on the island with better food!! I love the fact that you can eat in the formal dining room or the casual bar - or in your room.
It is a boutique resort and the rooms are amazing. From individual cabanas to suites to state rooms. My favorite is suite 12. It overlooks the pool and the ocean.
The staff are amazing. They are well-trained and do not interfere with your experience, only enhance it. Truly, if I could be anywhere, I would go to Victoria House - and will again this year!

Room Tip: Like I said, room 12 and I also like 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

With only about 25 rooms and suites the resort is modern and everything, including the main pool, infinity pool, and marvelous beach, is clean and well-tended. Most of the resort’s buildings are spread out so we never felt crowded even when beach sunbathing. Our 2nd floor Plantation room/suite was on the resort’s south end right over the beach and had a very comfortable King canopied bed in a fairly large room. We enjoyed a great view of the ocean from the shared balcony (with a neighboring suite) which was the only privacy issue. Bathroom was a bit less brilliant as the shower floor was slippery, the toilet was an older round version and squeezed into a corner. These are condos so the separate closet is locked for the owner’s possessions. Visitors hang clothes in the bathroom. A gallon per day bottled water is provided in the room as the faucet water is not potable. Also, they must use solar heating as even the cold water faucet was surprisingly warm.
As with all(?) resorts on Ambergris Caye/San Pedro, sea grass makes swimming less pleasant until one gets off the beach a few dozen meters. Small boats regularly arrive at the resort dock to take guests to and from restaurants and on diving/snorkeling/sail trips. We hired George and his mono-hull Rum Punch II for a day snorkeling and sailing. The reef is almost as good for snorkeling as South Caye and George’s crew dropped food in the water so we could swim with sharks, rays, and a whole bunch of other fish as they swarmed around us for lunch. We went on to have our own good lunch in Caye Caulker right on the water at the Rainbow Grill, strolled through the small town, bought a new swimsuit for the wife as hers were disintegrating in the salt water, and then raced back to San Pedro just ahead of a storm front. George and his crew were great guys, and while his boat could do with a new coat of paint, this is a wonderful “must-do” excursion – way better than being on a flashy catamaran with 20 other people.
Next day we just hung out at the resort. Seemed like a party of young (stockbroker?) types were getting smashed in the Infinity Pool, and other guests included a few honeymooners – VH is probably a good choice for that. The main pool is just big enough for lap-swimming. All the staff were efficient and friendly as one would expect for around $300/night. VH supposedly has the best restaurant on Ambergris Caye. We would call it good, but not great. Service at the restaurant was a bit slow and while service was friendly, some additional training might be called for as it wasn’t top class as one would expect for the prices. Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to try “Red Ginger” the other top-rated restaurant on the caye.
Locals troll the beach selling some interesting jewelry and blankets etc. If they have something you didn’t see in town it’s worth buying before VH’s hard working security chap Sebastian chases them away. San Pedro itself doesn’t have a whole lot to offer except a great ice cream place and the Belizean Art Gallery store which sells some beautiful higher end jewelry, art and handicrafts. VH provides a courtesy golf cart pick-up from the airport or Ferry to VH… and also back into town, but you are on your own after that. We decided to stroll the maybe 1 Km back to VH, and got caught in a rainstorm, but it’s so warm, so no problemo. We flew in to San Pedro/Ambergris Caye as we were coming from Dangriga, another Belize town. But we recommend the 1.5 hour ferry back to Belize City and having a cab driver drive you around town before you leave Belize via the International Airport.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room on the beach and not by the infinity pool (unless you are a party group) or interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family went to Victoria House for the first time July 1- July 15th, 2012. We had a beautiful villa with our own infinity pool right on the Caribbean. It was perfect in every way for our 16 year son who got advanced in diving and our 12 year old son who got certified while he was there. We had several great dive excursions with the family, even the blue hole! The food was wonderful, the service was very friendly and attentive. It was handy to have a golf cart available to go into San Pedro for dinner or to shop. Overall, it was the best family vacation, EVER! The only thing we missed was a workout facility. We think VH should purchase the lot available next to them and build a workout facility overlooking the sea!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,374 reviews
5.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
868 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Resort & Spa

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $229 - $1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House Resort & Spa, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and TripAdvisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize
Victoria San Pedro
Victoria House Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing