We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bookend for sailing charter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great bookend for sailing charter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the SunBreeze at the recommendation of our bareboat sailing charter company. It was the perfect spot to stay for a few days on on either end of our sailing charter. Basic, clean rooms, charming courtyard, nice pool by the ocean, great bar and restaurant. Super convenient to the airport, restaurants and town center. Other spots had a little more resort feel, but after looking around we agreed the relaxed environment of the SunBreeze was perfect for our family. We would definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ridgetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    359
    59
    21
    13
See reviews for
201
358
84
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'm a big fan of Sunbreeze hotel, and would recommend it to someone who wants to be in town (though you wouldn't realize it while on the property) and is looking for a 3-4 star experience.

If you book here, you'll be a bit shocked when you land at the airport and see the hotel. It's across the street from the airport. And it's not a big street. But once inside it's totally quiet (in a week we heard a plane maybe twice). As well, it's in town - close to the restaurants and dive shops, yet when you are on the property, you'd never know it.

If you've never been to Ambergris, this is the decision you need to make: to be in town or not. First, "town" is a bit of an overstatement. San Pedro is a beachfront and 2 streets. Not really a busy town. Resorts out of town are more beach-y and probably larger, but you need to take a taxi or water taxi to go out. We (I was traveling with 3 friends) really liked the ability to walk out our door at any time to get a beer, a bite or a massage (lots of places on the beach to do that).

Sunbreeze has a nice pool with good chairs - which is nice and not common. The rooms are pretty basic, but quite large and clean. The beds in the standard room are "ok" - so I'd suggest upgrading to a premier room.

The restaurant - Blue Water Grill - has pretty good food (some dishes are better than others), but dispassionate and lazy service. There are so many better places in town to go (a few to consider: Elvi's, Wild Mango, Caliente - and our favorite bar on the water, Wet Willy's).

Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: it's worth the money to upgrade above the standard room. It's $15-$20 difference and the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not only are the rooms comfortable and clean and the staff wonderful, but the location is the best on the beac. It is right in town so it is easy yo get to restaurants, shops and dive/snorkeling shops. Sttill, it's quiet and it's easy to get away from people. I was alone and found the Sunbreeze had everything I wanted - clean sand, a relaxing pool, a pier I could star gaze from, and the best restaurant in town - the Blue Water Grill. Get the shrimp appetizer just to see the presentation. Great food, sushi Thursdays, and a superior bar staff. You don't have to go very far to do anything if you stay here. Great place.

Room Tip: Go upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank UniversalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Manitoba
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

WIth no reservation in hand, we were 2 couples looking for 2 rooms. Luck would have it that 2 were available and we all were very pleased with both the rooms, outdoor pool/bar and grounds. Everyone wanted to ensure our 1 night stay was comfortable and we'd definitely book here on a return to San Pedro. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staff very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Location good for me. Restaurant good. Food good enough that I ate all but one meal there. Dive shop very helpful. Diving was good in spite of the weather. Big boat was much more comfortable.

Room Tip: My room#112 was perfect for my purposes. I wanted to be downstairs and to walk to diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ksrensink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location of the SunBreeze Hotel was super-convenient, just across a small road from the Tropic Air airport terminal, a block away from the Maya Island Air terminal, and close to all sorts of restaurants and water activities. Because the planes that use the airport are small propeller planes, there was hardly any airport noise in or around the hotel. The neighborhood felt very safe. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is configured in the shape of a U. The grounds in the center of the U were lovely, with white sand, palm trees, and a medium-sized pool. Our favorite part of our stay was the restaurant, The Blue Water Grill, where we had great service and fantastic food for breakfast every day and for two dinners. The dive shop on the water side of the hotel, Hugh Parkey's Belize Dive Connection, was another bright spot, highly recommended. My family of four stayed in two rooms. One room had a mild, but distinct, sewage smell in the bathroom area. I found that it was coming right up the shower drain, making me wonder whether it had a functioning trap. The smell improved when I kept the drain covered. The other room smelled fine. The water pressure was good and the water heated up quickly. The AC thermostat in one room didn't work properly, which meant that we had to keep turning the AC on and off manually to stay comfortable. One of the beds was definitely slanted, probably sagging from people sitting on the non-wall side of the bed to watch TV or converse. The other beds were fine. The in-room safes and pitchers of potable water were nice touches. The doors were operated by keys, instead of more secure key cards. Because of sand, it's nice that the floors in the rooms are tile. All in all, we had a pleasant stay. We would stay there again, despite the minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAsunshine90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great place to stay in San Pedro. Close to everything (although San Pedro is so tiny that everything is close to everything). Rooms were pretty clean and pool was nice. Being able to walk across the street to fly back to Belize City was nice too.

One downside was that in the evening they sometimes spray some kind of pesticide to get rid of mosquitos. It's stinky stuff and the staff told us to keep the kids away when they spray. They had a posted schedule of when they would spray but they ended up not following that schedule so we were around while they were spraying, which I didn't appreciate.

No other issues. I'd stay there again if I'm in Belize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
7.4 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing