We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory stay”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very satisfactory stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean spacious quiet rooms though could be darker at night. Staff excellent over course of 6 night stay, always friendly and helpful.. Good pool, bar, mojitos, restaurant fine too. Good location, despite being right by tropic air arrivals plane noise was not noticed. Happy to use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    378
    63
    21
    14
See reviews for
217
381
93
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Sunbreeze Hotel is a GREAT place to stay if you want to be in San Pedro. Walking distance to ANY and ALL restaurants/bars/shops/tour offices. The location in that aspect in unbeatable for the value. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the property (Blue Water Grill) has a BEAUTIFUL view and generally good service, with food that is very much underwhelming for the price. There are better places elsewhere on the island. But if you want something extremely convenient with a nice view, it's just fine.
If you want to lounge on a beach all day this really isn't the place for you. The places for you would be to the south of north of San Pedro, where the beaches are larger and less developed. Belizean Shores has a nice one with a GOREGEOUS pool for the price, but the negatives there are that it would REALLY REALLY be a pain to eat/do anything in the town because the traveling is a bit of a long winded issue. So if you will be off on tours all day and only back at the hotel to eat and sleep, Sunbreeze is perfect. If you want to lunge on a beautiful beach, think elsewhere.

Must do eating spots:
- Palapa Bar -- BBQ sandwhich, Fresh fish pf the day blackened, and ANY of the drinks are AWESOME.
- Elsa's Kitchen -- really nice breakfasts on the beach, not far from Sunbreeze
- El Fogon - Great Belizean food

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has everything to offer and very little to disappoint. Its location is ideal: mere steps from the airport, right on the beautiful beach, and an easy stroll to all the shops and businesses on "main street". The staff is gracious, helpful and efficient - clearly customer-focused and ready to provide the best experience possible to their guests. The food at the restaurant is excellent (the shrimp and calamari salad is delicious!) and the prices are fairly reasonable when compared with those of similar restaurants in the area. The rooms are clean, quite well maintained and all overlook the central courtyard and pool area. Original paintings by local artists add to he room's ambiance.

Room Tip: The property is horseshoe-shaped so ask for a room at the end and on the 2nd (top) floor. That will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MiTraveLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The mantra of realtors everywhere, location is truly the attraction with the Sunbreeze. On the beach, across from the airport (no, you don't hear any planes) and right downtown where the action is. A true calm and peaceful oasis in the bustling town. Great staff, great food at the Bluewater Grill (try the Dallas roll on sushi nights), and did I mention the awesome staff? My only implant, and it is minor, is that one of the beds creaked so much that it would wake me up when I rolled over at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews we read here and on Expedia - and were not disappointed. If anything, it exceeds expectations, and is incredible value for money!

The rooms are spotless, the beds are incredibly comfortable, the entire place is extremely well maintained, the staff are friendly and helpful, and to be honest, the service is better than we've received at some of the best hotels in the world!! Nothing is too much trouble, they check in with you after arrival to make sure your room is ok, and call the night before you leave to see if you need any assistance with your bags the next morning.

The location is also amazing. It's literally across the street from the airport terminal, and yet in 10 days we only ever heard a plane twice - and that was the day the wind direction meant all the planes were taking off over the town. It's in town, but just far enough away from 'the strip' along the beach that it's really quite and private. The hotel backs right onto the beach and has its own pier - where you'll find a great dive shop on your doorstep (Hugh Parkey's), as well as one of the best restaurants in San Pedro - the Blue Water Grill - which is the hotel restaurant.

NB: If you're a diver - this place is perfect. The rooms have huge showers with extra rods for rinsing and hanging all your gear at the end of the day - so incredibly convenient. It's also within a few minutes' walking distance from all the best dive shops, so handy no matter who you're diving with. (If it's Ecologic, btw, they'll actually come and pick you up at the Sunbreeze Pier!)

We feel lucky to have found this hotel, having never been to Belize or San Pedro before - and it's a no-brainer that we'll stay here again as our first choice when we return (which is a given). You can't ask for better, between location, amenities and unbelievable service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I enjoyed everything about the location ands service of the hotel. And the area around the hotel. When we traveled by foot we walked by the beach.. Everything is within walking distance. I would go back tomorrow :). The only reason I gave service a 4 is because our flight was delayed a day due to maintenance issues. The hotel would not work with us to cancel the room for the first night. Even though we extended our trip a day to make up for it. We used Expedia to book our trip. I will Never use them again. Beware if things don't go exactly as booked. We spent 15 hours trying to get our hotel secured and flight worked out. They are no replacement for a travel agent

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNLaird 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I just returned from 12 days on the island and had a wonderful time. The Sunbreeze Hotel was perfect in every way! Ryan met us at the airport to carry our luggage to our room and seemed to be everwhere when ever we needed him. Even if it wasnt really his job, he did what ever we needed and w/ a smile! Thank you Ryan! : )
Our Dive master Russell was amazing.. the sea is obviously his playground. You can find him at Mystical Adventures just up the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrie916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
10.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,288 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing