We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Excellent Location, Nice Value”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is situated directly across from the airport (don't be discouraged, this isn't a bad thing). It is in the heart of San Pedro. It has a fabulous restaurant on site...I had an amazing shrimp and conch salad and it has a dive outfit on site.

The rooms were nice, the linens though kept slipping off my mattress and were not the best quality. In the shower, I had nice pressure but couldn't keep the temperature steady...and the temperature swings were pretty big, from hot to cold and back. I had a cute little newt in the shower with me one day, which wasn't any trouble to me, but might not make some guests happy.

The vanity area was very large with extra counter space, very nice for spreading out. I do wish the room had a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. It did have a small table and a couple of chairs. The a/c worked well and the room was equipped with ceiling fans.

The grounds were quite lovely, palms and other lush plants adorn the courtyard. The pool was very nice, adjoining the restaurant.

The staff was amazing. Very helpful in every way, didn't let us carry a bag.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room which had a nice view of the courtyard area, pool and ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for SunBreeze Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautiful courtyard, wonderful staff, they really have learned how to take care of their guest. Any thing you want just ask, they will find a way to make sure you get it. A breath of fresh air on an Ameriicanized island. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Peaches37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was great to walk across the street from the airstrip to the hotel! The location is great. The rooms were very comfortable. We went with another couple and had rooms next to each other which was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baiken2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have probably stayed at the SunBreeze Hotel 20 times dating back to 2004 when I lived on mainland Belize, and would come visit Ambergris Caye. For some reason, I don't think I ever wrote a review...

Anyways, at that time I always found the rooms to be clean, the staff to be efficient, the location to be perfect (get off plane, proceed across the street), the onsite restaurant great, and the beach bar BC's next door great fun.

Yesterday, due to some construction near the room I rent on the island, I needed to find something quiet and affordable. Seeing as I often recommend The SunBreeze (I manage a hotel myself, that's a higher price point), to those looking for moderately priced, clean and safe accommodations, I called up Julia, who has been the General Manager of the Sunbreeze for many years.

Julia was able to have a deluxe room ready for me with early check-in and I headed on over.

The resort has been renovated since I last stayed and I really enjoyed what I think are new beds, as well as the new linens and software (towels/curtains etc). The rooms have flat screen TV's, lots of great lighting options, purified water in a pitcher for drinking, a mini fridge, double locks on doors, security onsite, in-suite safes, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

I want to point something out to those that may be nervous about noise staying across from the airstrip. I have lived in 6 different locations on the island and I could always hear the planes far more from those locations (miles removed from the airstrip), then I could when I've stayed at the SunBreeze.

I'd love to see a coffee maker and hair conditioner (tip, bring your own conditioner), and people get up early at this resort, lots of divers etc, so sleeping in might not be an option.

However, I am SO glad I checked out this resort again, because I feel even more confident recommending it now/still. The SunBreeze is certainly a hotel I would recommend to my friends, family, have my Mom stay at etc.

I recommend spending a little extra and booking a deluxe room, I sure enjoyed mine. In fact as I sit at my desk writing this review, I wish I was back in my bed at the SunBreeze.

Thank you Julia for making a last minute stay come together. I will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a Deluxe room if it's in your budget.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalibuStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is in nice location and very clean. I informed the staff this would be a prehoney moon and they prepared flower petals on our beds with a nice card and even on towels and in sink/bathroom! They really made a big smile on my fiancee. Staff was excellent and always asking if we need anything. Room is spacious, clean, albeit a little old but definitely comfortable. Didn't try the pool. The price was good and easy access to everywhere. I would recommend to rent golf cart and explore different resorts on the island, and perhaps hopping to caye caulker for an afternoon to enjoy different styles the cayes have to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is definitely a little worn and dated, but you get what you pay for right? While the rooms and furnishings were definitely old, they were clean and comfortable. And the grounds are pretty gorgeous... The pool is really big and there are plenty of deck chairs.

The location is really good, right in the heart of San Pedro and literally directly across the street from the Tropic Air terminal (though thankfully you don't hear the planes).

The Blue Water Grill has good food and you can usually pick up their wifi at the pool.

I'm sure there are more modern/luxurious places in San Pedro, but you'll probably pay double if you go there. I've stayed at SunBreeze on two separate trips now, and I'd have no hesitation to make it a third.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMJ315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a charming hotel with a wonderful staff. Great location! You will be steps from San Pedro and all it has to offer yet far enough away to have a peaceful, secluded feeling. They have a delicious restaurant, Blue Water Grill. I highly recommend SunBreeze if you're looking for a stress free, relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: It's such a small property I think any room would be a good one. I was very close to the pool an...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 802MaryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
10.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,295 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $132 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing