We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent hotel with nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place, with adequate facilities and friendly staff. There is nothing elaborate here, but it has all the basic amenities. There is a small unheated pool, a small eating area, and a small bar. The only thing that did not work very well was the hot water, which occasionally goes from freezing cold to scalding hot. We figured out how to time the temperature fluctuations with the sound of shower, so we could back out of the shower when the temperature change was coming. Everyone was really nice. The prices for the food and drinks were slightly on the high end, but nothing extreme. There are several dive shops, bars and restaurants that are walking distance from the hotel. It is also directly across the street from Tropic Air, so if you are flying to the island, it is an ideal location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ddarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    339
    57
    21
    12
See reviews for
181
333
81
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sunbreeze Hotel in December. The hotel was in a great location. Directly across the street from the airport. Just stepped outside the airport, walked across the street and we were there. We did not notice the airport noise at all while we were there.
The rooms are a good size, but very basic. The pool was also very basic, small but nice. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair.
I do wish they had a safe in the room instead of having to keep your valuable belongings at the front desk, but it turned out not to be as big a hassle as I thought.
Bars and restaurants are a short walk down the beach so you always have plenty of options.
Overall we had a nice time at Sunbreeze and would recommend it, especially if you don't need the big resort and would just like a clean hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessc2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff was always friendly whether in the bar or the concierge. Dive shop would not take parties under 3 out which was not convenient for my party of two. We were also unable to confirm any other tour with just two. Very disappointing. But if you don't want a fancy hotel I would recommend this one for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlsandtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived later than expected because we missed a flight from Miami. The hotel held our reservation, and could not have been more welcoming to weary travelers after a long day of travel. Sun rise the next morning revealed a beautiful garden, and thrilling view of the sun coming up. We captured some pictures of the beauty, and I was so excited with the choice I had made selecting this hotel. This was our first time in San Pedro, and my first time booking a place in a different country, over the internet, without seeing it first. I had read the reviews, and saw some great ones and some not so great. I am, thrilled we stayed here! I will come back! The staff was wonderful and helpful! The accommodation were perfect for us. Plenty of space, nice and clean, and a beautiful view.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a ground level room very much. No stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
340 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice tidy little place. Nice pool. Espensive bar. Breakfast OK but a little skimpy. Felt safe and quiet there. Close to town. Dive place out front was VERY helpful with my problem mask. We were there during the Christmas parade time. Very neat. Missed the boat parade by one day!

Room Tip: 1st floor if you like to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just got back from San Pedro having spent a week during New Years on the island. The Sunbreeze Hotel is a nice basic place. We stayed in one of their premier rooms (120). The lodgings are are fairly basic. No huge spaces or opulent furnishings here. That said big comfortable bed, decent tv (that didn't get used much!), good ac, cold fridge and a bathroom that everything worked properly in. In my world what more do you need. Our room was as close you could get to both the ocean and the pool. Being a small hotel every room fits this description. The pool area had plenty of chairs for all that needed them with plenty of sun and shady areas depending on peoples' tastes. The staff here is first rate. Every need is attended to whether it is the restaurant, lobby or maintenance staff. They take pride in their hotel and it shows with the way they go about their jobs. Did any one person make our stay special? No. They all did. Can't say that too often and happy to say it now. We never used the restaurant much as there are so many choices for food on the island. What we ate there was good. By amenities one could call this place a solid 3 1/2 rated hotel.

It isn't! The Sunbreeze Hotel is right in the heart of San Pedro. It is right across the street from the airport. Strangely enough no one really noticed the buzzing of the little planes. If you want to get onto the street to check out the many bars, restaurants and shops go out the main doors and you are there. If you want to walk down the beach and check out the dive outfits and beach bars and grills simply go to the beach and walk. You are there! If you want to have a quiet day simply hang at the pool and the hustle of the town will not exist. Long story short, San Pedro and all it has to offer is right at the hotel's doorstep. This to us is priceless. There some very plush places to stay here but they are all far removed from the heartbeat of the town.

This ease of enjoying the town makes this hotel a gem. For anyone that likes a good home base to get out and enjoy a town this hotel is it.

Room Tip: There is a group of five rooms called their premier rooms. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frozensunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We returned to the SunBreeze Hotel for the 5th time. We were there for 7 nights during the New Year's holidays. We have stayed at other resorts before but for us we found the SunBreeze works great and that's way we keep returning. The convenience of being close to the airport, walking to downtown, having a pool, and on-site restaurant (one of the best in San Pedro) is important to both of us. The whole staff was always attentive and very courteous to us. We have thought enough to have brought my kids and grandkids here.

Room Tip: We prefer the lower level with no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwheeler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
7.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
7.4 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing