We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice for the price.”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super nice for the price.”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This review is based on price for performance rating scale. If we had payed twice as much, it would have been about a 4.
As others have said, the room is spacious, well laid out, clean, decorated with solid mohagany and other beautiful hardwoods. The staff is attentive, and friendly, room service good. It takes 15 to 20 seconds to walk from the Tropic Air / Maya air terminal to the front door of the Sun Breeze. Just north is a great restuarant called Wild Mangos, and most of the San Pedro shops and food is within a 5 minute walk.
There are many street vendors here, but none came on the property to try and sell their stuff.. ; walking the streets or the beach they are plentiful, but friendly.
The Tropic air flight from Belmopan to Belize city took 18 minutes, one you are seated in the plane , within 3 minutes you are taxiing down the runway, don't forget anything in the seats, 'cause that plane is going to be back in the air within 5 minutes. Exactly what happend to us, my passport was in a jacket that got left on the 4 seat plane we came on from Belize city. But an outstanding staff member from the SunBreeze that met us at the Airport, took care of getting our bags, and finding my jacket. His name is Rubio, and should be put in for promotion, as he is the most wonderful friendly helpful hotel staff member I have ever come across.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    378
    63
    21
    14
See reviews for
217
381
93
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hogwarts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

There are quite a few beach-side hotels in downtown San Pedro but none as good as Sun Breezes. Rightly deserves it's TripAdvisor rating.

It's right on the southern end of town, 100 yards from the Belize Ferry and across from the airport. Despite this is actually quiet and seems a lot more intimate that those fronting the piers. The restaurant/bar is right on the beach with exceptional food and hammocks upstairs to enjoy or crash by the nicest pool in town for a lazy afternoon after all that diving , snorkeling or fishing.

The rooms are clean and functional, great for those who are in and out of the water all day. The whole hotel is safe and if you leave something outside expect the staff to politely knock on the door or call you when you get back to say they have it in reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the office - it's a little quieter in the evening when people are along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at SunBreeze Hotel for five nights and found the staff to be so friendly and helpful. The rooms were always clean and the grounds were constantly being groomed. The rooms are spacious and well thought-out. Each room has a balcony area (on second floor) or a nice patio outside the room on first floor. A really nice place to sit and read or visit. Although they are separate from the Blue Water Grill, it is actually on the grounds of the hotel overlooking the ocean. You can't find a better restaurant on Ambergris Caye. We tried several others and they were good but we kept coming back to the Blue Water Grill because it was so exceptional. It is well deserving of the awards it has received. It would definitely come back here and recommend it to friends. I already have! Although I had a room by myself I was traveling with a group that had booked us into this hotel. So glad they did.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have visited Belize 4-5 times before. Some was with my family, visiting all the turist sites in and around San pedro.
This time it was for business.
I visited both hotels to see which will suit my needs better. I like the one that is just accross the airstrip. It is only a couple of blocks from the main walking street of San Pedro, full with restaurants and shops.
The hotel has several rooms for families (I'll bring mine back later this year) and some great couples rooms with Jacuzzi.
The beach is nice I took a long walk every night.
Restaurant is one of the best on the island. I can only write good things about this hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: For families or couples this is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanyecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was a last minute reservation for one night only, on our way to Mexico. (We live in Southern Belize) It exceeded our expectations. It was clean, and safe and the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. It is located close to the airport, yet was quiet and right on the beach and close walking distance to the main part of town, restaurants and shopping. The pool was inviting, clean, and spacious, surrounded by chaises and thick white, soft sand!!! (not easy to find in Belize, I am referring to the sand) The Restaurant, Blue Water Grill, has won several rewards, and it shows. The food was amazing, yummy, fresh, presented beautifully and definitly worth a return trip.

Room Tip: We took run of the house, but were given one on the southern side with an ocean view, on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offthewallbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Several members of a dive group stayed at the Sunbreeze Hotel for a week at the end of December/first of January. As many reviewers have stated, the hotel is located in a very convenient location within walking distance of everything in San Pedro. The hotel isn't fancy, but it is nice and clean with spacious rooms, the staff is wonderful (one example: I emailed the hotel to ask a question and received a very personal response in less than an hour!) , and the onsite restaurant consistently presents tasty food. Because the weather wasn't often good for utilizing the pool, on the few occasions I did use it, it was extremely clean and never crowded. The pool water was too cool for my taste, but that may have been due to several rain storms which kept filling the pool with cool, fresh water. Sunbreeze seemed better suited for adults, although there were a couple of families with children staying at the hotel. With the exception of the pool, there didn't seem to be much for children to do.

The dive shop at the hotel, Hugh Parkey's, was excellent. The managers and all the staff assessed the skill level of all the divers and planned dive sites based on the needs of the group. They all truly cared about divers having a good time--and, most importantly, about their safety. Huge numbers of dive shops are in the area, so it is imperative to choose wisely and find a shop whose staff is as conscientious as Hugh Parkey's! These folks were truly professional--and fun!

We used Mayan Air to travel from Belize City to San Pedro. The operation seemed to be disorganized, but I have nothing else to compare it to since this was my first visit to Belize. Overall though, I would research the differences between Tropic and Mayan Air before deciding on which carrier to use.

I would definitely stay at the Sunbreeze Hotel again because of its cleanliness, great location, and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nxmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

SunBreeze is a very good small hotel with a central location in San Pedro. It is on the beach directly across the street from the airport and one block south of the bustle of the main street of San Pedro, yet once you enter the hotel grounds it is very quiet and the outside world is left behind. The grounds are small but nicely tropically landscaped. There is a nice sized pool by San Pedro standards. The rooms are large with a comfortable bed, wifi and they get most every U.S. cable station. The deluxe rooms have a small fridge. There is a small sitting area outside each room. The staff is very friendly. The problems are that there is only a very narrow beach and as everywhere on Ambergris you can't swim in the water off the beach because of the sea grass. You can't sit on the beach and you don't really get much of a beach feeling as the central courtyard doesn't have much of a beach view as it is blocked by the pool area which also feels removed from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
10.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,288 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing