We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough and convenient location”
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good enough and convenient location”
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed in a deluxe room and for the price and the amenities, we were definitely content. There was a mini-fridge, strong A/C, cable tv with all the movie channels, nice clean tiled floor and large bathroom with ample counter space. And best of all, it was quiet. It is literally RIGHT across the street from the airport, but the hotel is set a bit further off the street so you don't get the street noise and do not hear the planes at all. It is convenient when you fly in as you just walk across the street. Only thing is during the weekday, you will hear the school bell going off because it's close to San Pedro's only school.

The restaurant (Blue Water Grill) was excellent with decent sized portions. A little bit more on the expensive side but definitely worth trying.

The grounds are sufficient but the pool water is pretty cold and it doesn't really have much of a beach, but apparently Belize is not really famous for its beaches and you can always go couple minutes south to Ramon's Village's beach - much nicer.

As for the service, the front desk seemed a bit unmotivated and as a previous review had mentioned, liked to nickel and dime you. We were moving to Ramon's Village and it had rained earlier in the morning, so was going to call RV for a pick up. We asked the front desk if they could call for us, but they said they would have to charge us $5 BZE for the connection. It just seems it would have been a better guest experience if they didn't seem so money grubbing.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    378
    63
    21
    14
See reviews for
217
381
93
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

We were wary of this hotel based on past reviews. Follow the advice of the previous traveler and keep everything valuable locked in the suitcase (we locked towels, remote control, hair dryer) so nothing goes missing. Our room, 216, had an indoor air conditioner which was moldy. The mold extended onto the box spring mattress which was not covered by a sheet so it was in plain view. The mattress itself is on the softer side which is good news for those who prefer soft.
The dive shop affiliated with the hotel, Aqua Dives, is terrible. We snorkeled on the first day, Sunday, at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. The visibility was limited and unremarkable. The next day we had a 2:00 reservation but Aqua Dives canceled the trip because there were only two of us signed up to go. The only cancellation policy they have is for weather so we were very angry that the trip was canceled. Aqua Dives offered us no compensation and no apology. Choose another shop.
The hotel's restaurant, Blue Water Grill, is good for both breakfast and dinner (and drinks).

  • Liked — big shower
  • Disliked — Aqua Dives disasterous dive shop
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiliValleyResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

I stayed in a Deluxe room (not the TOP rate but not the standard either) for six days beginning September 11th and found this hotel and the staff to be VERY nice... Sunbreeze is clean , well maintained, and VERY restful! Ernesto at the front desk and Julia could not have been more acommodating and couteous! Be aware of the phone charges before making too many calls (especially to cell phones) as they are a bit of a SHOCK when checking out!. The town of San Pedro is a delight....fun to explore and the people all very friendly, if a bit reserved. All in all, i would recommend the Sunbreeze HIGHLY...great location and great place at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlott35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The hotel is in a great location on the small island. It was right across the street from the airport which is great because the planes are so small that they dont make too much noise and in todays world with the TSA its nice to get off the plane be handed your bag and walk to your hotel on the beach.

The hotel itself is small and sort of cute.

The rooms: I had a premium room and the rest of the people traveling in my party had the standard room. The extra money was worth it because the bathroom was much better and we didnt have roaches in our room, unlike the two that my brother found in his.

The biggest problem we had were the beach towels. The hotel is so petty about these $3 towels. You are given the towels when you check in and you can exchange them for new ones at anytime. When you check out you give them back. Well someone stole our towels off our front porch and we told the hotel that we didnt have them, that someone must of picked them up or something. They said that we had to pay $25 per towel. I then asked the cleaning staff if they knew anything about the "golden towels" and they told me that someone probably took them and that we should just steal them from some other guests porch. Well i didnt feel like stealing anyone elses towel so i paid the $50 for the two towels. I also offered the front desk manager the option of searching through all our luggage to prove that we dont have their presious towels. Anyways it was only $50 but it just rubbed me the wrong way. With the two rooms for a week we spent almost $3000 and now they want $50 for towels? My brother then showed them the two large roaches he found in his room and when he brought the roaches to the front desk to prove they were there they accused him of finding the roaches in the city and then bringing them to the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I booked my stay with the Sunbreeze through expedia. My friend had just stayed there and said it was wonderful, especially for divers- however, i had the opposite expierence!
I booked the Sunbreeze with expedia. One week before my trip, i called the sunbreeze to see if we could get an ocean view. They were so confused. Couldn't find my reservation and were RUDE! I waisted 3 phone cards calling them to try to get my reservation straight. Then i started getting emails saying that they did not have the deluxe i booked on expedia 2 months prior (note- they are sending me this, one week before my trip). I worked with it and emailed - saying a standard room is fine. I recieved an email confirmation of that. I decided just to make sure, i would call again and again when i called they said they are sorry but had no rooms even though i have a reservation and they would email me what they have the next day. Two days later- right before i was suppose to leave- they emailed saying that there was only one economy room left with no windows in the back. It was for $20 less than the Deluxe room i had first booked. I couldn't belive it! and every time i called, everyone was really rude. therefore I canceled my reservations and decided to wing it. I canceled through expedia and via email. I am still getting emails from them asking if i canceled my reservation (this is two weeks after my trip) It was a horrible expierence. I decided to stay at Ramons (right next door) instead and the customer service there was EXCELLENT!! A beautiful hotel with great food too! I have never been treated so great. So good luck if you are staying with the evil sunbreeze.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank lanifink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC. Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Once again I was part of Tsunami Skydivers group that stayed at the Sunbreez from February 10th to 19th. Although we basically took over the whole hotel, I again found the staff very friendly & helpfull at all times. Rooms were very clean, and large compared to other hotels. The Blue Water Grill constantly provided some of the best food and service in town, with excellent salads at lunch time around the pool, to full dinner in the evenings. Chris and his staff behind the bar provided very fiendly service at all times.

I will definitely stay there again next year.

  • Liked — Staff, cleanliness, food & drinks & service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

If you want to stay at a very nice and clean hotel close to town this is the property for you. 20 steps get you to the airport or to downtown. The air conditioning worked great in our room and the room was cleaned very well daily. The hotel employees were nice and the bartenders pour great drinks and kept the guests entertained. The Blue Water Grill located within the hotel was great for breakfast and a midafternoon snack but I thought it could be overrated. Give the Sunset Grill, Sweet Basils, and some of the other places downtown a try. Take the time to read up on Ambergris Caye if planning a trip. If you don't dive or fish you had better want to eat and drink because I believe that is about all that is happening on this island. The airplane ride from the mainland to the island is also not for the faint of heart. I am a private pilot and it scared the heck out of me! And when traveling into Belize City, don't be taken in by the JET BAR within the Belize International terminal that is supposed to be famous for rum punch and hot dogs. I found the cock roach riddled bar to be the first tourist trap one will encounter in Belize. If you don't believe me about the cock roaches just pick up one of the framed pictures sitting on the bar and watch the roaches run!

  • Liked — The liquor and the Air Conditioning
  • Disliked — It was really all good!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
10.8 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,288 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Property: SunBreeze Hotel
Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing