We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views, incredible staff, awesome fishing, just AMAZING!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views, incredible staff, awesome fishing, just AMAZING!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

We traveled here for our honeymoon & to be honest I wasn't sure what to expect. I love fly fishing but not as much as my husband so when he told me we were going to a fly fishing resort I thought that was all we would be doing. But to my amazement I was wrong. This is the perfect place for any couple to visit! They had tons of stuff for us to as well as relax or fly fish. The fly fishing host & his guides are amazing!! We got into fish our first day!! Not to mention all of the other amazing fun things to do aroudn the island & near Belize City. It was more than I could have ever expected! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanyCMU5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    45
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
222
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

This resort is like a home away from home. The friendly staff makes you feel like you are part of the family from the moment you arrive! The 1 bedroom villa was fabulous...certainly more than we needed but well worth having the oceanside veranda. We took advantage of the all-inclusive fishing package offered by El Pescador and it was a perfect fit for us. Bike riding, snorkling, kayaking, swimming in a fresh or salt water pool, or just exploring around are a few of the alternatives for those who don't want to fish. We truly enjoyed the evening meals on the patio served family style with all guests together at the table. They will even bake you a special cake for your birthday! We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z3lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The staff at El Pescador is the best out there! They are so wonderful and know all guests by name! They make the best food and are very catering to whatever you need!

The rooms are great and perfect for what you need (you spend most of your time out of the room). The fishing guides they set you up with are great too! Cesar was ours and he was amazing! Also, Alonso is a great dive instructor and knows the reefs like nobody else!

Now, this is a fishing resort so if you don't go fishing everyday, expect to see no other guests at the resort until the boats come back around 3 or 4. It's a great little resort and we were so sad to leave! We'll definitely be back in the next 10 years or so (but first we've got a lot of other places to check off the list)!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristinaT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Visited El Pescador Sept 18 - 25, 2010. We enjoyed the staff as much as we enjoyed the location. Their business philosophy is to welcome you in and make you feel like family. Everyone on staff works to make your stay enjoyable.
We went to fly fish. Our guide worked hard to get us many shots at bonefish, permit and tarpon. He also worked hard coaching and teaching us. El Pescadors staff expert worked with us daily on casting. This was our first experience fishing flats and it was an incredible one.
The food was amazing, both in the dining room and the packed lunches on the boat. I fell in love with their ceviche. Our villa was kept spotless and we were provided everything we asked for. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducm900s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My family went for 10 days to this wonderful fishing lodge. It was the perfect combination of relaxation and activities. El Pescador is in a beautiful location with has terrific weather. But, above everything else, the fishing guides and the wonderful staff made this the greatest vacation. We are already trying to figure out when we can next go. We would like to vacation at El Pescador every year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk2009GreatFalls_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is the place to go to do some serious salt water fly fishing in paradise, while staying in high comfort. My friend and I have been fly fishing for over 10 years and El Pescador has it all - great staff, food, accommodations and fantastic guides in a world class fishing environment!!

We landed over 100 fish in 5 days, wow!! If we worked at it hard we could have landed more, but we were on vacation! Bonefish, permit, red snapper, jacks and a barracuda (I also lost two bonefish to large barracuda) in abundance. We saw some Tarpon but they were like Ghosts - gone in a blink of an eye.

The fishing ran in streaks, one day we caught only 2 permit (one was 30 pounds, the other 20), the next morning we caught 35 bonefish in 3 hours!

Other guests went snorkeling and diving and reported equally fantastic comments.

The accommodations were comfortable and well appointed. It had everything we needed, except a dresser in room. The AC worked great, which was important because of the high heat and humidity. The food varied from excellent breakfasts and lunches to good dinners with two choices every night served family style, the beer was cold and the rum ran freely.

I would rate this one of the top fly fishing destinations I have ever been to. In addition, going in the “off-season” saved over $1000.

El Pescador is El Perfecto!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWG2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

El Paradiso - Once in a lifetime you find it - and my partner and I found it at the lodge. A remarkable and unforgettable holiday with wonderful guests and just the best service I've experienced in the world. Courteous, attentive, convivial hospitality combined with a certain relaxed, old world charm that is so Belizean made us feel so cared for. The owners were outstanding, the accommodation was perfect, the fishing was great, the guides excellent and the whole experience quite unique. I can understand why some guests have been going back for over twenty years. It's top-notch

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerandout63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing