We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Pescador is Wonderful!”
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“El Pescador is Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at El Pescador in March 2010. We knew Belize has beautiful coastlines, and great diving and fishing. We didn't know just how beautiful Ambergris Caye truly is, and we did not expect the overwhelming level of service, comfort and quality we experienced at El Pescador. The management helped arrange our trip, from local flights/boat rides to the resort, to fishing and diving through El Pescador, as well as numerous other activities using outside tour vendors. All of our arrangements were made accurately and expediently. Marlin at the front desk was beyond a pleasure to work with, she was a true professional in arranging all our activities. When we weren't fishing, diving or exploring, we had a wonderful time at the oceanfront pool. The grounds are gorgeous with mature palms and other plantings that compliment the classic lodge structure. We stayed in a one bedroom villa that is detached from the lodge, which was supremely comfortable with a king bed and gorgeous, tiled shower. We slept with the windows open all evenings except two, when the temperature crept up approaching ninety degrees. The rest of the time we fell asleep listening to the breeze and the ocean. The food at El Pescador was a huge shift from typical "resort fare". All the food is made from scratch, mostly from local ingredients. The result was flavorful, healthful, and high quality. Even better than the food was the high quality of conversation with other guests during the commual dinners. Marianno and Susana made sure we were always 100% satisfied with our meals. My husband had a few boxed lunches prepared by the staff for his fishing and diving days, which were also excellent. After dinner (and before dinner!) we relaxed at the open air bar where Antonio was happy to pour our favorite drinks for us, with a smile. Everyone on the staff treated us similarly - we were greeted by name each day, by everyone from the pool maintenance staff to the Dive Master and Fishing Management team. We truly felt welcomed and appreciated by such a warm staff. Most of the guests that we met was also very outgoing, and we exchanged contact information with several couples in the hopes of crossing paths again. El Pescador is situated about 2 miles from the town of San Pedro. We biked to town as well as taking the water taxi several times. The town has a much busier vibe than El Pescador, but we felt safe and had some good times/meals at Mango's and Blue Water Grill. We bought water and snacks at the local supermarket and found many cute shops. On the days when my husband fished or dove, I took a snorkel trip on my own, arranged by El Pescador, and had a great time exploring the northern part of the island with about 10 other travelers. The scenery is great during morning walks in either direction, and I would have felt comfortable going in to town on my own, had a not been having such a great time with the other "fishing wives" at El Pescador! My husband raved about the expertise and guidance from Alonso, the dive master, as well as his fishing guide Nesto. The staff absolutely made what would have been a great vacation, an excellent vacation. I can't think of any aspect that was lacking or disappointing, other than leaving! We will definitely be back to El Pescador. Its rare to find a spot so beautiful, with so much to do and see, surrounded by interesting guests and fabulous staff and management. El Pescador gets 5 stars for quality, service, location, and amenities!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulusm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    45
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
132
225
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Our week long stay was very nice and relaxing. The service from all involved with the lodge was top notch. The food was wonderful fom the traditional and the local fare sense. With me fishing and my wife staying behind on some days, she felt safe and was taken care of by the staff very well. Many activities to choose from from the calm to the exciting. A great place for both couple and families.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonefishNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2010

El Pescador on Ambergris Caye off the coast of Belize is best known for its expert flyfishing guides and tours. But, it also offers most of the best of Caribbean resort vacationing. We met SCUBA divers, skydivers, and golfers while staying there. My wife and I planned this trip to get away from the cold northeast U.S. winter and to spend time with friends we get to see too infrequently. We enjoyed snorkeling, fishing, and fun in the sun. The food, accommodations and service at El Pescador are all wonderful; and there are plenty of other options for dining and cocktailing within walking distance. It's also easy to get around the island and into the island town of San Pedro by water taxi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karllibhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, AL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was our second trip and somehow it improved from 2 years ago. Staff was even friendlier (kudos to fishing Director, Lauranne, and the bar tender, Antonio); and the food better too. The family that owns the Resort lives on site and they train their help to treat everyone like family (or better).
I saw a a negative remark about the fishing and the guides from an older review. I did not have a great fishing trip this time but most of the fishermen I talked to did. It's fishing-- you don't catch them like shooting ducks in a barrel every time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oysterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester MA.
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2010

From the moment I arrived, to the day I left, I was so impressed with this jewel in Paradise. I fell in love with the welcoming staff, their happiness was infectious. The food was delicious, by far the best I have had at any fishing lodge. Wonderful accommodations, the owners have put a lot of care and thought into every detail.
My guide was knowledgeable and great company for a day on the water. We would fish for hours, often without seeing another boat, surrounded by breathtaking beauty.
This area offers a rare opportunity to fish for Tarpon, Permit and Bone fish, all within close proximity to the lodge!!
Think ...Grand Slam, fly fishing friends!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlgrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Planned a girlfriends getaway and wanted a mix of activities and relaxing by the pool. El Pescador fit the bill beautifully. Owners Chris and Ali helped us schedule some snorkeling trips on the reef (scuba diving is available, too). We also took a daytrip onto the mainland for a rainforest zipwire (Fabulous experience) and cave tubing excursion. Topped it off with dinners in San Pedro and some shopping ofr Belizean & Guatamalan crafts. Be sure to schedule a massage with Rosario . . . Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank true2psu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I was delighted and thrilled with all that El Pescador had to offer. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and attentive. The food was wonderful and the rooms extremely comfortable and clean. The fishing was really quite tremendous, offering an opportunity to catch a grand slam (bonefish, tarpon and permit) on any given day. My guides worked very hard and were very enthusiastic. Keep up the good work, El Pescador!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfisher105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Property: El Pescador Resort
Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing