We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best first day fishing, ever!”
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband stayed at El Pescador for work month before we went back to Ambergris, and LOVED it. While we didn't stay this trip we did take a fishing tour, and it was an amazing experience. Because of the wind we took a long, but beautiful boat ride up to the marine park near Mexico. Our guide helped us a ton with casting and technique. Cold beers were on hand as well as a beautiful lunch. After catching 8 bone we moved locations and he spotted a group of Permit. Sitting patiently he told us when to cast making sure not to spook them. He helped me bring a huge Permit it, and when I say I'm a beginner, I'm not kidding, and I could tell he was Praying I didn't lose this thing! And he made sure I didn't. What a great experience. I can't wait to go back. El Pescador is the place for any fisherman, beginner or pro. With experienced guides like theirs a grand slam seems totally possible!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for El Pescador Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 577 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was fortunate enough to have experienced the amazing people at El Pescador Lodge. The resort is world class and is only out done by the staff who truly make this place a place to remember for the rest of your life.
The fly fishing is incredible, and the guides are top notch. The boats are suited perfectly for fly fishing the salt, and the entire fishing operation is informative and very well run.
The food is fantastic with lots of variety.
The accommodations are clean and comfortable and are very unique with a combination of local artesian hard wood, yet include all modern amenities.
As for the entire staff, the refer to themselves as the El Pescador family, and they will truly make you feel like one of the family in no time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chadandleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Went here during the second week of June 2014 for a bonefish, permit and tarpon trip. We were lucky to see numerous bones a few handfuls of permit and a few tarpon. Our guide put us in a position to have great shots at every opportunity we had. The wind was a bit rough, but our casting improved daily. Back at the lodge, the staff and food were wonderful all week long. Everyone is pleasant and accommodating and the entire week is a blank canvas for you to do whatever you want! I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maineben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

From the minute we stepped onto the El Pescador water taxi till we boarded our flight home the El Pescador family took care of everything for us! They were extremely friendly and remembered the names of everyone in our party. They made our vacation truly relaxing as we didn't have to think about anything, they took care of all the details for our excursions and provided us with a detailed agenda daily. We stayed in a private villa with another couple and loved the accommodations, however we spent little time in the villa. The fly fishing guides were experienced and professional. The meals were amazing; the meal plan is the best way to go. We will definitely be planning a return trip to Belize and El Pescador!! Thank you to all the staff for making our trip such an amazing memory and fabulous vacation!

Room Tip: Private Villas were a great deal for couples.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We took our two adult children for a long family vacation weekend. The weather didn't fully cooperative as it rained for two of our five days but it didn't matter. There is a lotto do and snorkeling in the pouring rain was fun! The water is very warm and incredibly clear. The resort is modest in terms of decor but they are at the beginning stages of renovation. The staff is fantastic! Unfailingly helpful and friendly. There is a communal dinner which we only had the first night choosing to explore other restaurants, of which there are many both along the beach and in town. They serve a good breakfast with a lot of choices every morning. We had fun at the bar and played pool and met the other guests at night. Lots to do if you don't fish. Cons: this isn't a resort either a white sandy beach - lots of sea grass so altogether beautiful you need to go further down the beach to do sun bathing. The resort needs modernization and if you are looking for a gorgeous resort go elsewhere. We had a great time snorkeling, paddle surfing, kayaking and driving a golf cart around seeing the sights. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rent a golf cart
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frtsam2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment you land in San Pedro to the day you leave they think of everything for you! They really operate as one big family. If you are coming to fish there is not a better place to go. The guides are experienced and do what you want to do, though they will tell you if what you want will not be productive based on weather or other factors. This is not beach resort, the pools and lounge chairs are great but you are on a flat and it is not where you want to swim. If you come here the meal plan is the best way to go, but we love to check out local restaurants which you are able to do. Golf carts are available for rent and are a fun way to get around. We got stuck between 2 hurricanes but caught fish and enjoyed our time here! I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great fishing vacation. I would have give. It a five if it was me and my buddies there to fish but my wife would have enjoyed a beach and closer proximity to the town and bars! Thanks Isa, Emir, Byron, Mariano, Mariseth and Marlin you guys were great and made it a great vacation!

Room Tip: Get a villa if you are there with more than one couple. The Extra room and common area was great fo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calimac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

El Pescador is a small family run hotel of exceptional quality and service. The fly fishing is outstanding, and there are many activities for those who don't fish including one of the best snorkelling experiences on the world's second largest living reef (sea turtles, barracudas, schools of tropical fish), swimming with 8 foot nurse sharks!, long beach walks, kayaking, and biking along the beach front.
The villas are roomy and well appointed, with the perfect napping hammock on the outdoor porch. Beautiful swimming pools. Excellent meals in a wonderful communal space, both indoor and outdoors. Great little bar for the exchange of daily fishing adventures. El Pescador will become a retreat destination! Canadian Barb

Room Tip: The top floor villa overlooking the pool and ocean is outstanding!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
987 reviews
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
2.4 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $185 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing