We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Pescador Resort
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$163
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$153
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
$239
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$123
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$281
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
$1,695
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
576
50
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
50
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishinggreat fishingfishing lodgefamily stylegrand slamfishing directorcasting lessonssalt waterother guestsrecommend elguided fishingbone fishfly shopfishing storiesvisited ellodge roomsthe main lodge
Filter
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 642 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Coming from France after a very long trip, it was all worth it. We had an unforgettable stay at the El Pescador thanks to the owners, the staff and the fishing guides who have been extremely friendly and always eager to accommodate all our needs at any time . A very unusual and amazing high standard of service during the whole week. We travelled to many places in the world, but this one is very special and unique. This was my first trip accompanying my husband to a fly fishing place. As a fly fishing beginner, the Director of fishing, Lorri Ann Murphy largely contributed to make this stay a very memorable experience. I cannot say enough about her patience and precious advices during fly casting lessons. It was a real privilege to get to know this great and exceptional woman. Many, thanks to her. For those not interested in fly fishing, there are plenty of other activities to be enjoyed like bicycling, canoeing and diving.. . Last, the food was very good and served family style everyday allowing people to share their experiences of the day in a very convivial atmosphere. We will definitively plan another trip in the future to have the pleasure to see again all the wonderful El Pescador family! Marie A

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent a week at this lovely resort to celebrate my son's wedding to his wonderful bride. I cannot express enough gratitude to the facility and staff for making this an exceptional event.
From the arrival time of silly behavior to the formality of the beach-side wedding, El Pescador staff handled the diversity of our party with courteous finesse. Though I was not always party to the details, none of the guests mentioned any difficulties. Our primary reason for our trip was to celebrate a wedding. However, the fishing was spectacular.

Much of the credit is due to expert fly casting instruction of L.A. and our fishing Sensei Sinoe the Fish Whisperer. WIndy conditions proved to be a task to which our guide adapted our novice experience. I believe on our first day, we boated 21 bone after casting to......well, so many. "tck, tck tck". He even was able to put a bone fish on the fly to Laura who has only fly fished for trout, bass or pan fish on calm days. Reports around Mariano's Bar at El Pescador (excellent barkeep) showed that each guide was as adept to our ineptness.
The facillities are superb. The cuisine was unexpectedly wonderful, The dinning staff quite accommondating. How they remember each one's name and preferences is truly remarkable.
I am also an outfitter who runs a destination lodge. I highly recommend El Pescador as a destination for anyone who wishes to have a wonderful tropical fishing experience at a quality facility with phenomenal staff.

Thank you Chis and your Staff.

See you soon,
Tom and Laura

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have to say that the staff at El Pescador were absolutely amazing!! . They were able to accommodate almost 30 guests with ease. The food is top notch as well as the everyday experience of the lodge. We had a mixed group of anglers and non anglers and no one ever said that they felt like they had nothing to do. The extra trips that El Pescador arranged for us were just as great as the lodge( Zip lining and cave tubing). My wedding day was relaxed and stress free!! They made sure that everything was set up and ready, all i did was show up in a dress! We plan in coming back in the future knowing that they exceeded our expectations in every way!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I will definitely be planning another trip to visit El Pescador fishing lodge in the future! The staff was amazing and the lodge was perfect there is not one thing I would change! It was great while the boys would be out fishing there was plenty for the women to do!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugarboowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Pescador for 5 days and would have stayed longer if we could have. First off the staff or "family" as they are referred are absolutely wonderful. Nothing can't be taken care of, any question can be asked. Judy and Marlin were so sweet and helpful and the owners and fishing staff were knowledgeable and always accessible.

The resort, while not glamourous, was very clean comfortable and beautiful. My husband and i used the complimentary bikes daily and rode up and down the beach and really did not see a resort that had all el pescador has to offer. Close enough to town (20 min bike ride) but private and secluded. The 3 pools are large and very nice and never crowded. We also took the complimentary kayaks out for a couples hours and got to weave in and out of the reef and observe a dolphin family.

Our room was in the main lodge, was clean and very comfortable. Again this isnt a high luxury hotel its about being outside doing things but regardless our rooms were great.

The FOOD!! We opted to go all inclusive and i would highly recommend it, the food is great. some of the other guests choose not to thinking they would go into town and then ended up eating all there meals at the resort. The breakfast menu and lunch menu were great, had everything you could want and they will cater to requests. Dinner, while it is set, changes every night and is amazing! You do eat dinner family style at a set time, but it was great to meet all the other guests (one night there were 50ppl and other nights 10) and make new friends. Knowing how accommodating the resort is im sure if you wanted to do a romantic thing im sure they'd help you work it out. The bar has everything, and while the inclusive package only includes local rums and beer, they bartenders have a fun cocktail menu and we were never tempted to get anything not on it. Green Caribbeans and Pain Killers!

My husband loved the fishing (bonefish), and while im not great at it, belize is so beautiful and they really cater to your level so we had a great time and spent the entire day out! Snorkeling was so much fun, the wildlife is really the highlight.

We were never bored, this place is great for families, couples or friend groups. You are so comfortable and feel at home, we never wanted to leave! We will be framing the fantastic painting we were given as a wedding present!

Room Tip: we were just 2 and got a rather large suite (2 bedrooms) so call and clarify. the villas are more secluded so if you aren't a sound sleeper (we are) dont stay in the lodge. There are rooms in the lodge that are above the dining room/patio that might bother some ppl.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews