We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Pescador - Home Away From Home”
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

From the moment Ricardo picked us up from the airport to the moment Steve & Isa escorted us out on the dock to leave, El Pescador became our "Home Away From Home". I can not say enough about the staff & owners. They always had a smile on their face, willing to help, and made you feel like family. They are what makes El Pescador so special!! I am ready to go back just to visit them!! The food is exceptional!! You will definatly NOT go away hungry!! We did eat in town a few times, but only because we wanted to try some of the restaurants on the island. The resort itself is well kept....the beach area, in my opinion, one of the best & largest on the island. They raked it every morning & it was always clean. Beautiful palm tress & other natural landscapes are also what makes it so breathtaking. It is truly a tropical paradise! We stayed in Villa 2-3 and were not disappointed. The views were amazing! The living area very comfortable. Kitchen area stocked and ready for use. Bathroom a little small, but adequate. Bedroom an average size & king bed comfortable as well. Loved the balcony & hammock... relaxed on it daily. There are 3 pools...2 saltwater & 1 freshwater. They are always clean. El Pescador is a fishing lodge, but there is plenty of other things to do if you aren't a fisherman. We fished for one day and did 2 snorkel trips. They also have bicylces & kayaks you can take. You can easily ride the bikes up & down the beach. It is only 2 miles to town, so it's an easy bike ride. We did this a couple times. Also, if the El Pescador boat is making a trip to town, you can hop on & ride with them...free. You will then just take the water-taxi back. If you want to do some snorkeling around the reef...just ask for a kayak & you can paddle out to the reef, tie off on one of the buoy's and snorkel at your leisure. There is some GREAT snorkeling along the reef. Would highly recommend. I could go on & on about our wonderful stay at El Pescador......so, if you'd like to know more, ask questions, receive tips, or see pictures....just send me an email. I'd be glad to help. El Pescador isn't a "Fancy" place, but we didn't go to Belize to be Fancy. If you want to experience the natural beauty of the island, the warm, friendly people, and the comforts of home...then El Pescador is the perfect place. If you let it, it will become your "Home Away from Home".

Room Tip: Villa's are the way to go. The lodge rooms are clean, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TexasSunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 601 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

There were some positives to staying at el pescador:
1. The rooms were large.
2. The food was very good.
3. Most of the staff (particularly the kitchen staff) was extremely nice.
However, there were other issues which outweighed these features:
1. It was apparent that El Pescador caters solely to fishing (which I'm sure they do very well). But as we were not fishermen and were trying to organize other activities, we found this very difficult, and it made our vacation less enjoyable. This was mainly because the woman in charge of organizing everything else, Judy, was very rude to us and not helpful. She always made us feel as it we were bothering her whenever we tried to talk to her. We were told there were only 3 options for snorkeling trips on the whole island (clearly not true - we later found out there were lots of trips we could have taken - but El Pescador only wanted to organize with the one dive shop they must have had a deal with) and the one morning we tried to do a diving and snorkeling trip with the dive master, his assistant was drunk so the snorkeler could not come. She had to repeat the same two snorkeling spots twice in two days (on an island surrounded by a coral reef, this seems awfully silly).
2. The town is only accessible by water taxi, which runs on a limited schedule. This is fairly isolating, especially in inclement weather.
3. On the second day, our room began to smell like sewage. When we complained, the solution was to come open the windows. The smell never went away.

Room Tip: The villa rooms seem to have had TVS - ours didnt. during the days of rain, there was very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPescadorBelize, Owner at El Pescador Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Our sincerest apologies for the rude and completely unacceptable behavior of our staff member that you mention in your review. As I believe you experienced from the rest of the staff and management, our guest services are something that we take extremely seriously; which normally not only meet, but exceed, guests' expectations.I am particularly sorry that you did not say something while you were with us so that we could have rectified the problem immediately.

While we do indeed value our anglers, El Pescador prides itself on being a first-class destination for all active adventure travelers, and there is SO much to do beyond fishing here. We do work with specific dive shops and tour operators who meet our level of exceptional guest services, and particularly small groups to ensure safety.

We purposely do not have TVs in our rooms in the main lodge to encourage camaraderie among the guests. Though our weather during your stay was horrible, something that is both unusual and out of our control, we do provide two TVs in the public areas of the property for guests' viewing (one in the bar and one in the restaurant).

With regard to the odor in your room, which appeared to be coming from the shower, our maintenance crew was in your room 3 times trying to identify the problem. They snaked out the pipes in your shower. The housekeepers used drano and deep cleaned the shower. And to be on the safe side the maintenance crew emptied the entire septic tank. We checked after the above actions had been competed and did not find an offensive odor. The housekeepers checked daily and assured us the smell had been rectified as well. Since you did not mention it again, we thought it was taken care of. We apologize again if this was not the case. Please contact us directly if we may do anything to clarify and solve your unsatisfactory experience.

With best regards,

Ali, Chris and Steve
Owners and managers
alissa@elpescador.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 8 days at El Pescador, which now ranks as our greatest vacation ever! Our March 2010 trip to El Pescador was by far our best warm weather vacation, but El Pescador has raised the bar making it our favorite destination, period! The grounds of this resort are still achingly beautiful, and the staff and management are still delivering 5-star service with a smile. Our villa was gorgeously furnished with hand carved furniture, and pristine sheets and a matelasse spread in the massive bedroom. But we noticed the kitchen re-vamped their offerings, taking previously great food up to the level of EXCELLENT! Although there are a few walkable resorts nearby, my husband and I preferred to share happy hour and meals with the other guests at El Pescador, enjoying great conversation with fantastic fresh food. I love that they serve multiple courses and multiple entree choices at the family style dinner. We had to-die-for lobster, succulent pork, and too many other local dishes with an upscale presentation to list. I had lunch or breakfast at El Pescador most days as well, equally delicious and fresh!

My husband had a great time fishing with his world-class guide, who helped him improve his cast and sighting skills over their 3 days together. He caught 2 bone fish, and had lots of tarpon and permit sightings. I don't dive, but had the good fortune to snorkel with El Pescador's dive master (also world class), seeing marine life I didn't think was possible from the surface. I had such a great time getting to know our fellow guests on this trip that I logged countless hours with them at the pools (and the Grand Slam Bar). It was wonderful seeing families with small children, families with grown children, couples and groups of single friends, all getting to know one another in such a gorgeous and friendly setting.

I felt totally safe running 2-3 miles north or south on the beach each morning by myself. San Pedro is lively and also seemed very safe to me, a quick boat ride or bike ride from El Pescador. On our 2010 trip, we booked some tours to the mainlaind from El Pescador which were great. This time, we had so much fun with the other guests that it was tough to leave the resort!

If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere, gorgeous scenery, five star service and great local food, El Pescador has no rival. I can't wait to see everyone again in 2013!

Room Tip: Villa 6-3 is amazing but all the lodge rooms and villas are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lulusm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

one of our best vacation's ever. we learned so much about flyfishing from kachu and even caught a permit along with bone fish. the jack was huge, pulled in during a brief, warm rainstorm. the permits were small, but "a permit is a permit." my girlfriend caught a ladyfish and we were warned what those ladyfish do when pulled in the boat and indeed, this one did it ie pooped all over. not very lady-like.
the staff was great, the accommodations comfortable and clean, and the food was delicious.
one of the highlights was meeting the other guests at meals and trading stories. the type of people attracted to a family fishing resort such as this are interesting, down to earth, international and not stuffy.
we would love to return.

Room Tip: room 5-1 was great!. woke up looking out the window to the blue ocean framed by palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MVtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

my husband and i have just returned from El Pescador and the only thing i can think f to be negative about is the couple of days we had of rainy weather
it was a long journey from london to San Pedro with an overnight stopover in Miami.Once we arrived though our wonderful holiday began, starting with a speedboat ride!
I will not mention any member of staff individually as without exception they were all wonderful and so cheeful.
we stayed in room 11, large king bed and sofa- very comfortable with adequate bathroom with shower.
food was excellent, as well as 3 good meals there was also a variety of afternoon snacks to choose from plus fresh popcorn to order.
i spent a vast majority of my time sitting beside one of the 3 pools and managed 9 books in the 2 weeks we were there! my husband went fishing every other day and had a wonderful time despite only catching bonefish, the tarpon and permit remained elusive.i am not a fishing person but did join him on one day for a trip to the marine park.while he fished i watched the wonderful wild life. the birds, fish etc were wonderful. the highlight though was having dolphins swimming beside the boat!
we met some very interesting people and hope to stay in touch with them.
we will be back!

Room Tip: there are such a wide variety of types of rooms its really down to personal choice i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank edwinahumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The staff/family at El Pescador really know what they are doing! Some of the finest hospitality I have ever experienced. The resort itself is simple, no frills but the fishing and the people could not have been better. Amazing food, great drinks and an incredible experience all around! I will definitely be going back again asap!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gregory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Amazing service, staff always friendly and smiling. The staff all worked as a team and very organized as a whole service. There was never a missed beat to the day. The food was all wonderful. We fished 3 days and had a legend of a guide. Would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Lodge is convenient to pool, bar, food. Very quiet throughout day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
5.3 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
483 reviews
3.8 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $185 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing