We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fish, sea life and coral”

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Belize Snuba Adventure Tour from Ambergris Caye
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley Sailing and Snorkeling Tour
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Hol Chan Marine Park, Shark Ray Alley and Caye Caulker Tour from Ambergris Caye
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lots of fish, sea life and coral”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A shallow, relaxing dive. Lots of fish, sea life and coral. A must see in Ambergris Caye. Unfortunately it was very windy the day we went, but still well worth the trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kathylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,175
    794
    208
    42
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Belizean pride”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Let me start be saying, the country of Belize and it's citizens
should be extremely proud of what they did, and now have.
By making the decision to turn this area of the reef into a marine
reserve.They saved it from being just another fished out dead
coral reef, due to overfishing and unregulated overuse. As other parts of the world have experienced, one the damage is done, it's to late. Like all before me have stated, the fish and coral on this
reef are beautiful and plentiful. We went early in the morning on
a weekday, and got lucky as there were only a few boats. This
part of the tour was great fun. We were not so impressed with the
shark & ray ally part of the tour, and did not take part in it. As we
cannot condone the practice of baiting sharks and rays, that is
now so prevalent in the Caribbean. I undestand this started
with the Conch fishermen throwing their Conch catch remains
overboard, and in my opinion it should have stayed this way. We
have done the shark & ray tour in the South Pacific, with NO
baiting involved. It's more enjoyable to experience them in their natural state and enviroment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank thai1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go snorkeling here first; A must see in San Pedro!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Out tour guide took us here to snorkel in a big circle first near the reef observing turtles, sting rays, barracudas, and tons of other kind of fish near the coral. In some places it is 7 feet deep and in others it is 20 feet max allowing you to sea and try to touch almost everything! Next we went to shark and ray alley and immediately after throwing shark feed in the water were able to touch a swarm of sharks swimming around the feed. They are surprising non-hostile even if you are less than a foot away from them. Best part of San Pedro!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank devilpup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling the best”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It is a must when staying on ambergris Ceye if you at all snokle. Our tour went first to shark alley were our guide assisted us in touching the sharks, he then moved the boat a short distance so could snorkel the reef. Amazing!!! I could not believe the verity of fish. Our guide was great pointing out the fish, turtles and other marine life let along assisting the swimmers who needed a little help.
A must do while staying in the San Pedro area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maidspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Swim with the sharks and rays”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Life list... Check There must have been 20 nurse sharks and I actually held one and rubbed his belly

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank clvndrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing