We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like sticking your face into an aquarium” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hol Chan Marine Reserve

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Belize Snuba Adventure Tour from Ambergris Caye
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“like sticking your face into an aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arranged a snorkeling trip to Hol Chan through Searious adventures. I have never snorkeled in the ocean and was a little freaked out. But once I got out there I was amazed at how much we saw. Tons of colorful fish, sea turtles munching on sea grass. rays, an eel, crab, even an octopus. It's impossible to describe how beautiful this place is, and how wonderful it is to float past coral and schools of fish that looks like something out of a nature documentary. It was the highlight of our stay in San Pedro.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maynecorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,917
    752
    204
    40
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Genie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Loved the snorkling here!!! Got to see sharks, turtles, stingrays, eels and a ton of fish! Get here early- beautiful!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank finderica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Snorkelling the Belize Great Barrier Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Loved snorkelling the reef. Horse eyed Jack fish escorting us all the way! The graceful Spotted eagle rays, warm clear ocean water and our guide: Genie from Coral Reef Divers

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dervola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
241 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited Hol Chan today. Wow, what an experience. You haven't seen marine life unless you've been here. In a span of 1 hour snorkeling I saw 5 green turtles, all kinds of fish, eagle rays, stink rays, morrie eel and a bunch of other fish. Luis my snorkel guide from Belize Pro Dive Shop was with me every step of the way pointing and explaining the different marine life as well as the coral life. He is also a dive master. Hol Chan is a protected area, well worth the visit. There was a park ranger on a boat when we arrived. Probably single-handedly the best snorkel trip I've ever taken.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tank this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is amazing what you see when you keep things protected. There are so many great places in the area to snorkle. What you see here you never will see in a fish tank.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing