We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas Suitable For Families”
Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2008

W'e stayed at Banyan Bay on a small group vacation through a tour company. The villas are really 2BR timeshares, more suited to families with children than couples. The villa was too spacious for one couple, but the layout didn't provide privacy for two unrelated couples. The master suite has a large open bathroom with shower and jacuzzi. We would have preferred a door between bedroom and bath, or at least to separate the toilet. Don't share this suite with a casual acquaintance! The second room was a small twin with a very small bathroom -- fine for children, but not an equitable arrangement for two couples in the villa. There is a common living room area.
I agree with other reviewers about the cleanliness, friendly staff, and lovely pool, but also agree about the lack of character or soul. We usually prefer smaller, locally owned hotels or B&B's. Our one big gripe was the shoddy maintenance. Our room safe was inoperable and had to be replaced. Another group member had no safe in her villa -- just a hole in the closet. Running the hot water in our jacuzzi tripped the circuit breaker, so we couldn't use it. Another lady had no shower head in her tub. One villa had a burned electrical smell, so the occupants moved to another unit. The problems were minor and wouldn't be a deal-breaker if a spacious condo is suitable for you.
Walk or take a cab ($5US) into town. Golf carts are pricier.
The dive shop was fabulous! Felipe was the best snorkeling guide ever. He led us around the reefs and pointed out interesting marine life, including a turtle, octopus and moray eel. Also check out the jewelry artist who displays her wares outside the dive shop once a week ( it was Thursday when we saw her). She has excellent prices.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 484 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at Banyan Bay with our two boys (12 & 9) for a week. We are all in agreement that this was our best vacation ever. Banyan Bay was perfect. We stayed in an beachfront unit. The property was very clean, units were spacious and everyone was very helpful and kind. We ate at Rico's quite a bit and really enjoyed it. The employees there was also qreat. I cannot think of anything that I would change. I am trying to figure out how soon we can get back to San Pedro and Banyan Bay!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ourpartyoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

This is a great resort for those scuba diving fanatics such as I am. Located on the beach along the second largest barrier reef in the world, the local reefs are as little as five minutes boat ride from the resort's dock. The resort's concessionaire dive shop, Bottom Time, is highly accommodating. The staff could conveniently arrange your dive trips - from local reefs to Blue Hole. The shop also offers topside activities from ziplining to trips to Lamanai or Altun Ha ruins.

The Villas at Banyan Bay's staff is friendly, accommodating, and easily makes you feel at home and welcome. The 2-bedroom unit has a full kitchen and a jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. Daily maid service is always available. The two-level pool, although not very big, is a nice feature. The staff grooms the beach every morning.

Whether you're a diver(s) or vacationing with the family, this resort is simply among the very best in Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jerillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I had our wedding at The Villas at Banyan Bay last month, and it was fabulous! The property is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and attentive. We had a large group and everyone raved about the vacation! Banyan Bay is unique in that the property consists of condos, rather than hotel rooms, so you have the added convenience of having a kitchen to prepare meals and snacks, and there is a grocery store less than 5 minutes from the property. Also, there is a dive shop on site that is very accommodating, and the snorkeling and SCUBA diving is excellent! I would recommend The Villas at Banyan Bay and Ambergris Caye to anyone looking for a quaint and relaxing beach vacation away from the highly commercialized resorts of Mexico.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank TXShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just spent the most wonderful seven days at The Banya Bay Resort. This is our second visit to the Resort. The management and staff gave the best service I have ever experience in my travels.

We were in San Pedro for my nephew's wedding. The wedding planners were exceptional and everything went off smoothly even when we started the ceremony before the wedding planners were ready. The beach area was a spetacular turquoise with guests being bathed by the lovely carribean breeze!

The resort went to great lenghts to accomodate our every wish. I bet we were a royal pain. They never let on if we were. Our 2 bedroom suite, with a view of the sea was nicely appointed and very clean. The staff came daily to spruce-up and leave as many towels as we needed. Beach Towels were fluffy and nice.

Rico's Grill. Good food, great view and the best staff in town. Wait staff was friendly and accomodating. Fresh Orange juice was not always available but when it was, I was the first to know.
There Rice and Beans with Stew Chicken was one of the best on the Island. So was their grilled snapper. By the way, the fried beans and fried jacks (Sopapillas) were the best at breakfast.

Even when all the Golf Carts were being rented on the Island we could always get one from the front desK.

I wanted to sent out a special thanks to one of the Housekeeping staff, a charming, lovely ,black woman who hailed from Honduras. She first caught my attention when I was scaring my wife and mother-in-law with an Iguana in a Tree, (an inhabitant who roamed around the complex freely, sometimes surprising the guest). The Housekeeper quickly told us that they were good eating and then rattled off a rice and coconut recipe to cook the ugly iguana with. She made our day.

This same staff member was responsible for cleaning the room my niece's Family had rented. On their final day, they checked out about 11:00Am for a water taxi trip back to Belize City. Fortunately they stuck around for brunch and a last dip in the water. Our new found friend came looking for us all over the complex. She had been cleaning the room and found my nieces wedding rings on the bed. My niece is still in shock and we are grateful.

Some key personel we want to thank. Cynthia Rabateau for her charm and attentive demeanor. Sharon Boyd for being our special English host with a no-hassel sales tacticsand Manuel at Rico's Bar and Grill. To the owners of Banyan Bay, thaks for creating a marvelous experience. This place is tops!!

Jay H Cruz

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank donjuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Whether you're a diver or not, this is one of the best places in the world to relax and enjoy the hospitality of San Pedro and the phenomenon know as 'Island time.' Banyan Bay has the best beach on the island and, when you're finished with the beach, the pool is just steps away. The rooms are very clean and extremely comfortable - plenty of space for a family to relax and not be constantly on top of each other. We really enjoy having a full kitchen in the unit - that allows us more options for dining at a smaller expense. There are a couple of grocery shops within a block of the resort so picking up snacks or something to cook for breakfast is easy, easy, easy. The staff at the resort is the friendliest we've found anywhere - from the front desk to the landscaping crew to the sales team - once you've checked in, you're like family. Everyone is checking to make sure your stay on their island is fantastic - and no one makes you feel unwelcome. We stay at Banyan Bay every year and if we could figure out a way, we'd move there!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank roccac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Banyanbay is a beautiful resort close to San Pedro in Belize. On an island just off the Barrier Reef, it's a wonderful place for relaxation, great food, and outstanding scuba diving and snorkeling.
The quaint town has a cheerful ambiance, friendly people and helpful hints from the home folk.
The resort is located on a white sand beach with loungers set along the shore for your afternoon siesta, or a quiet place to sit and wile away the time with a good book, or quiet talk with your love.
The two story complex comes with fully equipped condos, large carved wooden beds and air conditioning to make you comfortable.
A beautiful pool is in the centre of the buildings, with different water
depths to suit all ages.
The staff take a special interest in your well being and will help with any requests that you may have, including stocking your fridge before you arrive, so you can fully enjoy your time there.
The scuba diving is second to none, with a dive shop on the premises to help equip you, or arrange for lessons with a top rated dive master.
I could go on and on about this wonderful resort - I've been back three times, with intensions of going back many more. It just keeps getting better and better.

1  Thank BarbieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#23 of 55 in San Pedro
296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#30 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#33 of 55 in San Pedro
163 reviews
1.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#15 of 55 in San Pedro
567 reviews
8.4 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $159 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing