We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway1”
Review of Banyan Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Bay Suites
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just spent the most wonderful seven days at The Banya Bay Resort. This is our second visit to the Resort. The management and staff gave the best service I have ever experience in my travels.

We were in San Pedro for my nephew's wedding. The wedding planners were exceptional and everything went off smoothly even when we started the ceremony before the wedding planners were ready. The beach area was a spetacular turquoise with guests being bathed by the lovely carribean breeze!

The resort went to great lenghts to accomodate our every wish. I bet we were a royal pain. They never let on if we were. Our 2 bedroom suite, with a view of the sea was nicely appointed and very clean. The staff came daily to spruce-up and leave as many towels as we needed. Beach Towels were fluffy and nice.

Rico's Grill. Good food, great view and the best staff in town. Wait staff was friendly and accomodating. Fresh Orange juice was not always available but when it was, I was the first to know.
There Rice and Beans with Stew Chicken was one of the best on the Island. So was their grilled snapper. By the way, the fried beans and fried jacks (Sopapillas) were the best at breakfast.

Even when all the Golf Carts were being rented on the Island we could always get one from the front desK.

I wanted to sent out a special thanks to one of the Housekeeping staff, a charming, lovely ,black woman who hailed from Honduras. She first caught my attention when I was scaring my wife and mother-in-law with an Iguana in a Tree, (an inhabitant who roamed around the complex freely, sometimes surprising the guest). The Housekeeper quickly told us that they were good eating and then rattled off a rice and coconut recipe to cook the ugly iguana with. She made our day.

This same staff member was responsible for cleaning the room my niece's Family had rented. On their final day, they checked out about 11:00Am for a water taxi trip back to Belize City. Fortunately they stuck around for brunch and a last dip in the water. Our new found friend came looking for us all over the complex. She had been cleaning the room and found my nieces wedding rings on the bed. My niece is still in shock and we are grateful.

Some key personel we want to thank. Cynthia Rabateau for her charm and attentive demeanor. Sharon Boyd for being our special English host with a no-hassel sales tacticsand Manuel at Rico's Bar and Grill. To the owners of Banyan Bay, thaks for creating a marvelous experience. This place is tops!!

Jay H Cruz

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank donjuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Bay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2008

Whether you're a diver or not, this is one of the best places in the world to relax and enjoy the hospitality of San Pedro and the phenomenon know as 'Island time.' Banyan Bay has the best beach on the island and, when you're finished with the beach, the pool is just steps away. The rooms are very clean and extremely comfortable - plenty of space for a family to relax and not be constantly on top of each other. We really enjoy having a full kitchen in the unit - that allows us more options for dining at a smaller expense. There are a couple of grocery shops within a block of the resort so picking up snacks or something to cook for breakfast is easy, easy, easy. The staff at the resort is the friendliest we've found anywhere - from the front desk to the landscaping crew to the sales team - once you've checked in, you're like family. Everyone is checking to make sure your stay on their island is fantastic - and no one makes you feel unwelcome. We stay at Banyan Bay every year and if we could figure out a way, we'd move there!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank roccac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Banyanbay is a beautiful resort close to San Pedro in Belize. On an island just off the Barrier Reef, it's a wonderful place for relaxation, great food, and outstanding scuba diving and snorkeling.
The quaint town has a cheerful ambiance, friendly people and helpful hints from the home folk.
The resort is located on a white sand beach with loungers set along the shore for your afternoon siesta, or a quiet place to sit and wile away the time with a good book, or quiet talk with your love.
The two story complex comes with fully equipped condos, large carved wooden beds and air conditioning to make you comfortable.
A beautiful pool is in the centre of the buildings, with different water
depths to suit all ages.
The staff take a special interest in your well being and will help with any requests that you may have, including stocking your fridge before you arrive, so you can fully enjoy your time there.
The scuba diving is second to none, with a dive shop on the premises to help equip you, or arrange for lessons with a top rated dive master.
I could go on and on about this wonderful resort - I've been back three times, with intensions of going back many more. It just keeps getting better and better.

1  Thank BarbieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I picked this hotel for our destination wedding. On the beach, an aisle of flowers laid on the sand for her to walk down, we said our vows inches from the tide.

Banyan Bay is a fine place to stay. The villas are large 2 or 3 bedroom suites with fully modern appliances, very clean, and with well-maintained and attractive decor. The small dive shop is expertly run by a woman (her name escapes me) who knows numerous tour guides on the mainland and will set you up with a nice custom trip with a few phone calls. The restaurant has fine lunch and dinner fare. The property itself has a sizeable amount of beachfront, in contrast to most other Caribbean-fronted hotels south of the San Pedro River, and is within walking distance of the charming San Pedro town.

We've stayed here twice and would do so again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigRuss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We have stayed at Banyan Bay and companion property of Grand Colony for four years now and can't imagine a better resort on Ambergris Caye. Suites are clean, casual and well priced. In addition a lot of amenities; dive shop, pool and beach, and Rico's restaurant. All of the staff are very friendly, knowlegable and eager to please.

Just a mile or so south of the airport, it is easy to reach and a short walk back to downtown.

We have brought friends and family down with us and without exception, they have had a great experience.

We have expanded our stay from one to two weeks each year and wish we could spend more time. Ambergris Caye is wonderful and we truly enjoy Banyan Bay!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johninky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My wife and I had chosen to go to Belize as a "let's pick some place off the beaten track" for a week of rest and relaxation. Using a timeshare exchange with RCI we were able to get a week at the Villas at Banyan Bay from 7/19/08-7/26/08.

The trip to Belize went well and the brief hop in the small prop plane was smooth and quick. The Villas had sent an air-conditioned van to pick us up at the airport (for those of you that have never been to San Pedro, think single runway with small house with big porch that serves as gate waiting area).

The checkin was easy at the front desk with very nice receptionists (especially Marlene). Room wasn't ready so waited about 45 min. and were able to go to our room. F4 was our room on the second floor of a 4-unit building. Great view of the pool area and a slice of the ocean/beach from the deck off of the living room. Furnishings were the standard timeshare kind but the 2-bedroom was very clean and felt more like a home than a timeshare. Nice big kirchen with granite counter.

Only 1 restaurant on property, Rico's. Very good food with great waitstaff (especially Manuel, Minellia, and Domingo). Standard fare for breakfast and for lunch you must try the local dish; Rice & BEans with Stewed Chicken. With a little local hotsauce this dish is fantastic!! The Villas could stand to open another restaurant option, maybe something with more fast food such as a pizza joint or some grilled options (burgers, hot dogs, sausages, etc.)

The pool area is nice and usually no problems getting chairs with an umbrella. They have a pool bar area but it isn't open/manned. A shame as my wife and I would have ordered lots of drinks (especially the local beer: Belikin). Now and then someone from the restaurant will come over and take drink/lunch orders, but it really was too infrequent to be of value. The pool has a shallow section (2+ feet) which is great for the kids (big and small) or a deeper area that is about 5 feet deep.

The garden areas of the property are very well kept and look beautiful. Lots of nice flowers and trimmed/mowed lawn.

The Villas have a dive shop on property and are building a new dive shop on the pier (last year's hurricane took it away).

We were given a very gentle intro to their timeshare program and took the tour (which included breakfast or lunch and a $100 property voucher). We toured the Grand Colony at Banyan Bay whcih is right next door. Holy smokes what beautiful accomodations!! Abosultely stunning with great decor!!

Overall, we would give the Villas at Banyan Bay a 9 out of 10. My wife and I had a fantastic time and absolutely loved the island. The staff really make you feel welcome without being pushy or intrusive. Eric, Cindy and Sharon are a wonderful bunch and wil go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

You can't go wrong by choosing the Villas at Banyan Bay!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed six nights (June 28-July 4) in Banyan Bay's unit A4 -- a second-floor, two-bedroom condo with balcony overlooking the beach. It was great and totally relaxing for our family -- spouse, me and sons 17 and 23. The two bathrooms were clean and very useful, the rooms got cleaned and beds made daily, the kitchen was handy (though we didn't cook), and we made our snorkeling/fishing arrangements (talk to Eli -- a she -- in the dive shop) and golf-cart rental through the resort. The unit had a queen bed in the master and a double in the second bedroom, but one son spent most nights asleep on the living room sofa so it wasn't really a problem. The golf cart was great and took us easily wherever we wanted to go, and the boys enjoyed driving the cart around the island without us. (There are very few cars.) It was definitely part of the "entertainment." We hit the three main streets in San Pedro -- and all of their shops -- over a period of several days. Be sure to see Belizean Arts, Ambar, Orange, Emerald (upscale jewelry store), and all the little souvenir shops. You probably won't spend a lot, but it's fun to look. A number of the locals set up tables of handcrafted beads, etc., here and there along the beach road, though I didn't find anything I thought I'd wear back home. Food was terrific -- loved the grilled shrimp quesadillas almost everywhere. Ate at Elvi's, George's (several times for breakfast -- it's close to Banyan Bay and good), Wild Mangos, Rico's, Cafe Picasso, the great bar at Fido's on the water, the Blue Water Grill and a couple of other spots. About Rico's at Banyan Bay -- a fabulous location on the water, super-convenient, and not extremely expensive for breakfast or lunch. Dinner's a little pricey for the quality, but it came in handy when we were all hungry late but too tired to leave the resort. The best meal there occurred when my sons got back from fishing at midday one day w/their catch -- barracuda, amberjack and snapper. The fishing guide fileted everything, and we took the fish in a plastic bag to Rico's, where the chef said he could fry, grill or blacken them. We asked for some of all three, and they cooked and delivered to our lunch table a huge, beautifully arranged platter of the boys' catch. Delicious and memorable!
(By the way, don't forget to take home some bottled hot sauce -- yummy and available in almost every gift shop and food market.) One of my sons and I got massages one day at Asian Garden Spa -- the people and massage rooms were very nice, and the owner brought out wine glasses so my son and I could share a glass in their serene setting before heading back to the resort. Their massages are expensive ($55 for a half-hour), and be sure to watch that deep-tissue masseuse if you can't take a hard rub! Now that our family's older, we don't do much of the splashing-in-the-waves thing, but you can certainly get in the water, even with the narrow sand beach....and daily walks on the beach are definitely a must. The two-level Banyan Bay pool was the nicest we saw, and the grounds were lovely. It was delightful to find a big iguana sunning itself by the pool almost every morning.
As for preparation -- we got all the shots and are taking the malaria pills -- though I don't really know that you'd need all that. You can eat the food, drink the water, etc., and the only time we got attacked by mosquitos was when we left the vicinity of the beach (where the constant warm winds seem to keep the bugs away) to go to dinner (on our last night!) at Piccaso's -- several blocks from the shore. It was the one time we wished we had used the bug spray I'd brought -- got 7 bites on just one leg! Don't bring a lot of clothes -- shorts and T's or tank tops will work fine for everyone -- and I never did wear the tennis shoes I brought....just sandals or flip-flops. Also, Banyan Bay's front desk provides pool towels, and there are computers in the lobby for Internet access (they do charge a fee). They'll make reservations for you, reconfirm your flights, etc., etc. As none of us went clubbing, we were pretty much in our rooms by 9 or 9:30 each night -- and both TVs in the unit worked fine, though one of the remotes needed a new battery. (Note there was zero water pressure in the shower in the boys' bathroom, so we all showered or took jacuzzi baths in the master bath.) Anyway, if you're considering Banyan Bay and want the island feel but with modern amenities, I don't think you'll be disappointed. In large part, our trip was a result of research on tripadvisor.com, and i truly appreciated all the travelers before us who gave us their honest opinions. THANK YOU!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Luluville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
11.7 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bay Suites

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly The Villas at Banyan Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $150 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banyan Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Banyan Bay Suites offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool. Pier 366 Seafood House located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Banyan Bay Suites is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Banyan Bay Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing