We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Banyan Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Banyan Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villas at Banyan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sept/Oct over 40% off!
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We Love Banyan Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife, her sister, and our 13-month-old daughter just returned from a six-night stay at Banyan Bay. We rented a 2-bedroom condo facing the pool.
We have traveled extensively and stayed at some fabulous places. Banyan Bay is now at the top of our list of great experiences coupled with awesome service.
Upon arrival you walk into a gorgeous lobby (and BB pays for your cab from the airport, a nice touch) and are greeted by smiling and courteous folks behind the counter.
They escort you through the gorgeous grounds to your condo, and tell you if you need anything they'll take care of it, and they sure do.
From going to the grocery store with our list, to doing our laundry and bringing it back within a few hours, at a very reasonable cost, to cleaning the condo daily, the staff at Banyan Bay were exceptional.
The ground are immaculate, the pool is super for adults and our young daughter, and the swim-up bar is fully stocked and staffed all day.
Our daughter was able to sit with us in the shallow area, which is about eight inches deep, perfect for little ones, and she loved it.
Rico's Restaurant, which is on the water, serves a good breakfast (included in the rental rate) and has excellent lunches and dinners. Their food is as good as anything you'll find in San Pedro, which is a mecca of fine eating.
There is not one thing I would change or improve on at Banyan Bay, and that's a rarity.
If you're ever headed to San Pedro, and want a condo as opposed to a hotel room, this is your spot.

Room Tip: We only saw one unit, which was very nice, and because these condos are individually owned I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    121
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
140
83
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were given the use of a friend's condo here so I had no financial stake in our stay - thank goodness, since I would have been p*ssed. Our condo had only a couple of working windows, some wouldn't open and the only one in the master didn't have a screen! Since we didn't have great weather it would have been nice to not use the AC. The pool is not heated and the beach is full of seagrass, not pleasant to walk thru. The grounds are nice and the staff is pleasant, but not what I would expect from a pricepoint such as this place.

Room Tip: The middle condos have only windows at the front and back, no sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNSnowbird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well worth the little extra for the location and standard of accomodation. Friendly staff , nicely tended grounds and right on the beach. Reception staff only to happy with help and advice and pointed us in the right direction. Close by to some shops and the on site restuarant was great for daytime snacks. We were out at night partying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was out first trip to Belize and we exchanged into Banyan Bay with no knowledge of it or the Caye. We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the unit, the housekeeping (daily - almost unheard of for timeshare weeks), the grounds crew, and maintenance. Everyone here was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment is that there are only two buildings that are beachfront - despite the photos and narrative leading you to believe the entire property is beachfront. We were a ways back from the beach and even the pool - would have much preferred to be on the beach. But overall, this was a pleasant introduction to Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYWoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Banyan Bay and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a 2 bedroom with 2 baths. The master bathroom had 2 sinks which made it nice for both of us to get ready at the same time. The kitchen could have been stocked a little better than it was and 2 of the burners on the stove did not work; however, we made do with the limited amount of cooking we were going to do. The grounds were very well kept, the pool was very nice and having daily maid service was also very nice. Our housekeeping person, Juanita, was very good and very friendly. She would do anything in the world for you. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. We spent a lot of time on our balcony which was in the shade most of the time but was very refreshing to just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. We did rent a golf cart once but most of the time we just walked (which we enjoy doing anyway). Marina's store is very close and has everything you could possibly need for snacks, meals, etc. At one time they must have had a washer/dryer in the unit as the hookups were there but no washer/dryer. It would have been nice to have had that in the unit. Very nice resort and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank queen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a 3+bedroom condo ON the ocean. From our balcony, we could throw a coconut into the water! It is laid out well (the upstairs is HUGE) and very spacious. The staff was great.

Our only problem was that the tours we booked through the hotel (Discovery Tours) were not well organized and didn't give us what we were told. The trip to Lamanai, where we were supposed to have our own guide (for 8 people) had 18 people, and gave short shrift to the site. The snorkeling trip, which was supposed to be for 3 hours, arrived an hour late and had us back in under 2 hours.

So....stay in the Villas, but find your adventures elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and an ocean view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a pool front villa for 1 week in January. We anticipated a villa facing the car park but were pleasantly surprised by actual beach/water glimpses from our front porch as well as garden and pool views.

The villas are large enough for travellers and the grounds and pool area are immaculate.

Staff are helpful, not just recommending their restaurant Rico's, and happy to book dinners for you.

We did book a cart externally as it was cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
4.7 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
1.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Banyan Bay

Property: The Villas at Banyan Bay
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Banyan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Villas at Banyan Bay offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool Rico's Bar and Grill located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Villas at Banyan Bay is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Villas at Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
The Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing