We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Banyan Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villas at Banyan Bay
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for our vacation in August 2012 and found it to be very clean and the staff to be extremely friendly and accomidation. the 2 bedroom, 2 bath was completely furnished and comfortable. They even stocked the fridge with belekin for my husband :) Rico's had good food and great staff as well. after strolling the island and looking at some of the other place to stay i dont think id go anyplace else....wifi isnt great, but we werent there to surf the net. we were there to relax and enjoy the island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    121
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
140
83
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My daughter and I recently met in Ambergris Caye for a vacation at the Villas at Banyan Bay. We had a fabulous time there...the accomodations were terrific. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a kitchen, dining area and living room, all fully furnished and equipped...The ONLY tiny complaint I have is that the wi-fi was not completely reliable, although a quick call to the front desk sent an employee to my room with the new password for the day...The service was terrific. We also enjoyed a few meals at Rico's and also by the pool. I'd go back in a NY second!

Room Tip: Every room's a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cygnet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our trip for 4 nights. The staff went out of there way to make you feel welcomed. The rooms were always clean and comfortable. The view was remarkable. Rent a golf cart or take there free bikes to travel the mile into town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mschessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Banyan bay villas are quite large. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a full kitchen, dining room and living room along with a porch. They are very comfortable, and the maid service is thorough and friendly. The people at Banyan Bay are very lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. In addition to booking the room, they booked our flights from Belize City and the golf cart rental (a must if you decide to stay here). The location is a bit removed from the active area of the island, which is great for peace and quiet. A bit removed is relative as it is only a 30 minute walk up the beach to be in the center of things.

We had 2 main issues with the hotel though. The A/C stopped working on the weekend, and it wasn't resolved by the time we left. In addition, the WiFi is horrible. It would barely work. We would go to internet cafes or to Mata Rocks to use their WiFi.

Overall, a great place to stay, esp. if you are a family. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwreniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 6 days at banyan bay and would do it again in a heart beat! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are a joy to meet and get to know. We felt like family. Please book trips with Jacky, see Robin at the front desk, visit Meme and Cindy at Rico's restaurant, talk to Jerry for the best info and ask for Ana to help you with anything else! We loved it!

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamNugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Banyan Bay is a tropical oasis just south of San Pedro. It has the prettiest setting of any of the hotels we observed on our walks on the beach. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We we in an ocean front 2 BR villa (A4) and the place was immaculate. Clean and full of enough kitchen gear to make small meals. So great to watch sunrises by stepping out onto the balcony. Complimentary bikes are a convenient 15 minute ride into town. Many small grocery stores and restaurants along the way had good local fare to enjoy. We did not have a bad meal ....Antojito's, Caroline's, and the hotel restaurant Rico's all provided breakfast, lunch or dinners that added to our Belizean experience. It was also nice that it was low season which gave us space and no crowds. I highly recommend Banyan Bay if your are looking to stay in San Pedro.

Room Tip: A4 is oceanfront and convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just returned from a week at Banyan Bay with our family. We had a wonderful stay...the staff there were all so friendly and helpful. We were close enough to town to walk, but far away enough for a peaceful setting. I was traveling with my three adult age sons who had a blast and met so many great local people. The room was great - we were in a beachfront 3 br unit and it had everything we needed. The first night the ac was not working very well and we called in the morning to report it. They had someone immediately there to check it out and had it fixed right away. There was no laundry facility, but they did our laundry and returned it clean and folded within a couple hours! The restaurant was great! They have happy hour every day from 4-7 with 3 beers(belikin of course!) for 5$ us and two for one local rum drinks! We will definitely come back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
4.7 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
1.4 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Banyan Bay

Property: The Villas at Banyan Bay
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Banyan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach less than a mile from downtown San Pedro, Villas at Banyan Bay offers a great getaway from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. Featuring 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms poolview and beachfront suites and 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms beachfront suites, with kitchen fully equipped and central air conditioned. Spa is available onsite. A 3-level fresh water pool Rico's Bar and Grill located by the beach offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full service diveshop onsite, that can help in your diving and snorkeling activities. A tour desk that can help in fishing and trips to the mainland including the Mayan temples, ziplining, cave tubing and the Belize Zoo. Villas at Banyan Bay is the perfect resort for activities or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Villas at Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
The Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing