We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #141 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We used the Lonely Planet to guide us to some restaurants. Ali Baba was mentioned as a Libanese restaurant. Something different from the rest so we decided to try it. Wish we never did. The food was not very tasty and instead of the usual Belizian price/voljme ratio it was the opposite. We got very little food, badly presented and paid almost double we would have paid elsewhere. So we totally with the other review. Avoid it if oossible. Whished we read the reviews on tripadvisor before. A good lesson

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    13
    7
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good internet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went with friends, good huka and rum punch. Internet was running when rest of island was out. Friendly place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonic314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place is the most terrible restaurant on the entire island! The man who owns it is a scam artist, he will cheat you out of money and the prices are not the same as the appear on the signs outside. The food is extremely overpriced, and it is by no means fresh. The chicken is left out for days and even the falafel and hummus is enough to make you ill. We not only got cheated out of money but also got food poisoning from this place. Unless you want to spend lots of money on food that will make you vomit DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok +/-”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Rotisserie chicken was good except for dryness of white meat. He was out of olives ordered. Hummus was good with pita bread. Pina colada was okay at the best. He did let me watch soccer game on a huge screen. He did keep trying to offer Golfcart rental. I did not approach him for a rental. He approached us several times at the beginning and the end of our meal which was tacky. I just kept putting him off. We did have quick and good service at the table. So I had no complaints here. However, this restaurant is not air-conditioned and seemed awfully hot. If you are hot natured this is not a good place for you.

Helpful?
2 Thank clsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Avoid this place. The proprieter will try to take advantage of you. So many great places nearby.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The proprietor of Ali Baba must think that if you're a tourist near the airport you are vulnerable to a scam. He'll offer you EVERYTHING he can think of because he wants your money. You will not get a deal here, nor will you get good food. STAY AWAY!

So many places are great to visitors. Not this one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing