We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a try”
Review of Micky's - CLOSED

Micky's
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth a try”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been to San Pedro many times and my wife discovered Micky's years ago. We eat there at least once on every trip and have never been disappointed. I've never seen a change in the menu but the decor changes to reflect whatever the "current" holiday season is. Micky has tons of knick-knacks and signs pertinent to every holiday of the year so it's fun to drop in and be reminded as to what you're celebrating.

Unassuming, simple, clean and dependable all come to mind. The food, some Belizian, some Mexican and some American, is all good and portions are, in several cases, far too large. The burrito and Mexican platter come to mind. Everything is affordable and everything is good. The conch fritters are excellent.

This is probably the best example of a small, family cafe on the island. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVenturesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Found by accident, stayed for lunch”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were in San Pedro around lunch time one Monday, and being the slow season, we found several of the recommended restaurants were closed. We weren't looking for Mickey's but saw their lunch special sign on the street, and went in. Not an upscale place, but more of a mom and pop cafe with simple good food, which is more to our liking. Had a very good native lunch of fish, rice, beans and plantains for about $15 US. It was just what we needed at the time and tasted great with a cold Belikan. I couldn't resist having my picture taken with Betty Boop at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great burrito”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We found this place using tripadvisor and they were spot on. It was very clean and friendly. My wife and I split the combo burrito which was more then enough. If you are coming here make this on of your must stopps and enjoy the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChad6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in San Pedro”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Mickey has had her restaurant (Mickey's Place) for more than 25 years. She has always served great food. The place is air-conditioned, clean and quiet. The service is very good, too. There's a variety of food including seafood, pasta, steaks and Mexican. Most meals are three course starting with hot rolls, salad and main course. Main courses usually come with potatoes or rice and a cooked vegetable. For lunch on Wednesdays it's Mickey's famous burritos. Mickey's is well know to the local expats. It's on the south end of Pescadore Drive.

Hint: Try the Fish Veracruz. A big piece of grouper fillet with Mickey's special salsa...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“clean, air conditioned, good prices and nice Belizean food.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Mickeys has an extensive menu. Lots of fresh fish and chicken choices. Wednesday is burrito day and you get a huge yummy burrito that is enough for two. If you are coming to San Pedro and want to try some great Belizean Food you have to try Mickeys. It is located on Middle Street in the middle of town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micky's also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing