We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gotta Check Out the Chicken Drop”
Review of Wahoo's Lounge

Wahoo's Lounge
Ranked #6 of 13 Nightlife in San Pedro
Attraction details
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gotta Check Out the Chicken Drop”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Friends we made at our condo said we had to check out the chicken drop at Wahoo's on Thursday night. We got there early to buy some tickets ($1-10 for betting on the chicken drop), drinks, and get a good seat. Service was ok but got slower as the night went on. For the drop, they have this big board with squares numbered 1 to 100. Then they bring out these chickens, and at first I'm thinking 'oh no, what have I gotten into?'... but they drop a chicken on the board and the winner is the number it 'drops' on :) You can also buy corn to toss on the board to coax the chicken toward your number. Super fun, but get there early and buy doubles!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bibo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    9
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Friends had told me that I should not miss the chicken drop. Thank god! This was so much fun! The place gets packed, drinks are cheap, and everyone is going crazy over these chickens pooping on their number. Definitely a good night of entertainment. They only do it on Thursday nights so make sure you plan this as part of your adventures in Belize.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 904NicoleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hilarious!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Chicken Drop.. WHAT??!!! Thursday night at 6-9ish - A MUST DO!! You will not find this kind of entertainment anywhere else and is so awesome! Not to mention that if the chicken poops on your number you win $100. So fun! :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveller's 'tummy troubles.'”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wahoo's is a fun little pub right off the beach in San Pedro! Every Thursday they do the Chicken Drop which is entertaining and definitely something to experience while on Ambergris Caye. My only recommendation is while you are there, stick to the bottled drinks. Both myself and one other person in our party got violently ill for three days after drinking the blended drinks from Wahoo's. This was the only similar drink or food we consumed while on the island so the source of the sickness was traced back to there. The Belikin is delicious though! Make sure to bet on #18 and set up your friends to be the next 'chicken fluffer!'

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank forest_surefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chicken drop”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went there to watch the chicken drop and drink. Fun place on the beach. Unfortunately there were a number of people from Belize city looking for handouts. A great place to people watch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Lounge also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Wahoo's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing