We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Nights in a San Pedro Neighborhood”
Review of Belize Hutz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belize Hutz
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We wished to spend a few nights in an authentic neighborhood while visiting Ambergris Caye. And we got it.
The Hutz are a few blocks west of the "main" cobblestone paved street - on the dirt side streets.
The pool was clean, and the staff (Lyz and the bartender) were friendly. The AC in the Grand Hutz would cool the room - in combination with the ceiling fan.
There are little lizards (gecko's?) that come in the room on the walls. harmless.
There's a few "land" crabs living in holes near the hutz.
There's a bar across the street that plays pretty loud music but seems to cut if off at a decent hour.
F&S cart rental is just across the street by the bar. rental about $65/day US if you book multiple days.
Lyz can phone a taxi cab that will pull up right outside the Hutz.
It's truly a local gathering place as well. There was a family there having a first birthday party for their granddaughter.
The neighborhood was very safe at night for the two of us.
There's several very small stores around the Hutz. If you run out of toilet paper - Lyz will just go across the street.
The taxi ride to downtown San Pedro costs about $5 to $6 US.

We got exactly what we were looking for on this trip.

Room Tip: If you want a more quiet experience, get the rooms away from the pool/deck/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Belize Hutz was a great balance of being private, and close enough to the action. Once we walked through the gates, we were immediately greeted & met the new owner, Gloria. The room had been freshly painted, it was clean, and the A/C worked great. The bar/pool/pool table area was were the action was though, with a mix of employees, locals & guests all hanging out together. Everyone was genuinely hospitable & all had interesting stories of how they came to Belize. The Hutz was just a short walk away from the beach & docks where a boat picked us up to go scuba diving. The whole city uses golf carts or taxis to get around. Although it's a cute thing to drive your girlfriend around in a golf cart in the evening, it's cheaper & easier just to hop in a cab.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Hutz mid March 2014. Gloria the new owner was amazing and definitely would call her the "hostess with the mostest"! Everything you need is right there. Bed, bar, pool, pool table, and of course beer. Perfect rates and walking distance to the beach. There is no reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place has recently switched ownership, and definitely for the better. The new owner, Gloria, is an amazingly friendly, hospitable American who will take the best care of you. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a month and felt right at home.

The location is a bit out of town, but with bicycle or golf cart (the two most popular ways to get around), it's less than five or ten minutes to the main part of town. You can rent bicycles from the hotel. The beach is a quick two-block walk away. There are plenty of restaurants and small local shops nearby. I really liked that it was a bit outside of the bustle of the main part of town; it felt more local and like the romantic getaway we were looking for.

The service is probably the best asset of this place. The housekeeper and cook, Evelyn, can make you some mean rice and beans or breakfast if you request it. In my opinion, she makes the best wings in town. The small bar is usually pretty full with locals, expats, and tourists at night--definitely try the rum punch! We were more long-term stays, but we would ask for our room to be cleaned and it would be done within the hour. Gloria and the rest of the staff will provide you with a wealth of information and resources if you are looking for something to do around the island, and they all made me feel as though I was part of their community. The internet and AC works well, beds are comfortable, very safe, showers are hot, and the pool is refreshing after a hot day out on the town!

I'm sure all of these things will only get better as Gloria continues to make improvements to the place. If you're looking for an affordable getaway with a more local feeling, definitely come to Belize Hutz!

Room Tip: The music at the bar goes until 12am or so most nights, so I'd ask for a room away from that if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alimary23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had the chance to stay at hutz last weekend for a few days, let me tell u AFFORDABLE LUXURY is what the new owner offers she took over the place a couple weeks ago. she has completely turn the place around the grounds are clean the staff is helpful and completely friendly, they go out of the way to make ur stay exactly what you want there is a full bar next to the pool, and a pool table for those of u who like that, they have a huger lounge area where u can relax and chill, read or watch television, there is a small store right across the street there food menu is really great. and the local cook is one of the best on the island, for your money its the best place on the island the rooms are great and cozy all in one. so when going to the island go to belize hutz ask for gloria the new owner.

Room Tip: rooms in the center are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked a room at Belize Hutz for about 4 weeks, as it was one of the most affordable places to stay in San Pedro that was still close to the beach. I was skeptical at first because the price was so low, but this place is awesome!

Gloria, the new owner, has gone out of her way on multiple occasions to make our stay great. She has a gift for genuine hospitality that I've not found at other resorts, and the rest of the staff is friendly and helpful as well. Apparently, she just bought the place and is in the process of making all kinds of new improvements, although, we found the place cozy already.

The huts are about 2 blocks from the beach, and about a mile from downtown San Pedro. We walked downtown every day for the first few days before deciding to get bikes, but there is plenty to do close by, and a small grocery store right across the street. There is a bar and a billiards table right next to the pool, and the bar gets a decent sized crowd sometimes.

Overall, this is your best bet for an affordable stay on this wonderful island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fuzz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Hutz during our trip to San Pedro in January 2013. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and fun! The food was also wonderful and we polished of a lot of rum when hanging out at the bar! The beach is a very close walk away however town is a bit of a trek. We ended up renting a golf cart for the duration of our stay which turned out to be very fun and surprisingly inexpensive! We recommend staying at Hutz and the price is right!! Thank you James for a great experience!

Room Tip: Try and book room in the back of the resort to stay away from the day time noise on the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
13886.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
13885.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
887 reviews
13885.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13890.3 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
403 reviews
13886.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
13885.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Hutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Hutz

Address: 2141 Pearl Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $40 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belize Hutz 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Island Of Ambergris Caye, Belize. Belize Hutz has 11 private Cabana's, all the rooms have air conditioning, private bathrooms, with hot showers, maid service UPON REQUEST, Free WiFi, swimming pool, Palapa Bar & Grill. All rooms were completely remodeled in 2010. The Hutz is a unique place to stay and live amoungst the locals. We are off the beach 4 blocks, only 8 min taxi or golf cart ride to town. If you like to live among the locals this is the perfect spot to stay. Sundays are family day, The Hutz prides itself in providing locals good food at local prices. Everything at the Hutz is locally purchased. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belize Hutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Hutz San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing