We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Belize Hutz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belize Hutz
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We got to San Pedro and Hutz for a 2 night stay and couldn't pry ourselves away for a week... it's a dream island, and an incredibly friendly and relaxing hotel. The accommodations look like cute wooden huts from the outside, but inside they're all super modern and totally refurbished. Best of both worlds. The staff is patently friendly and helpful (even to the point of finding a creative way to accommodate our request to stay extra days even though they were overbooked). Hutz is a bit out of town, which is nice if you're looking to chill out. It's a 2 min walk from the beach and everyone rents golf carts to get around the island. The free wifi and coffee work out well, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRASRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesrwardvancouver, Owner at Belize Hutz, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thanks for the review - we really enjoyed your company - I hoe you both come back to visit us real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights this week, and found that the rooms were good (fairly sizable with decent aircon). I had Room number 9 which faced the corner pool bar, so at times, the music was fairly loud. It was slow season, so no food was being served, but the lady on the corner serves some awesome tacquitos for a $3 BZE. The small pool is refreshing though they had to keep shocking it because of the storms. My only complaint about the room was the "trickle" shower (I wasn't the only one that had the issue)---it was puzzling, because the pool shower had decent pressure. The staff (in particular Liz and Eduardo) are fabulous!
It is a little way from town, but it is cheap to take a taxi there!
Decent value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chutchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

It's about twenty minutes walking to San Pedro, which is the only drawback of Belize hutz. Fairly priced, clean rooms with and hot showers. Swimming pool is a bit dirty. Nachos served in the restaurant were great. Being a backpacker? Consider Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesrwardvancouver, Owner at Belize Hutz, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thanks for taking the time for the review.
you will be glad to hear we fixed the pool - total redone now
it had a leak coming up from a crack in the foundation that's why we couldn't keep the pool perfect - but now it is!
next time you visit you should try our dippy dogs, big hit at the HUTZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Walk, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

belize hutz' only drawback is its location--> far from town.
but its also what appeals to me.
its not on beach side but that is ok because a short walk away and your there....on the most gorgeous stretch of beach that u can have mostly to yourself.

the staff is courteous n very helpful. the pool available is very small but that is ok because I prefer d seaside...thats what am there for.
the room is basic: bathroom has a shower n toilet, hoy n cold water but in this hot weather who needs hot water?.
staff will warm anything for u in the microwave and we were even given the use of a wine cooler for the room.
its a hands off type of place where staff will not enter your room unless u specifically request it.
any extras: towels or toilet paper or other items just need to b requested and usually given immediately or gotten n then delivered
over all very good experience

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugar_city_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesrwardvancouver, Manager at Belize Hutz, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thanks for the review - we hope you come back soon to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It is quiet season so not very busy at all, but perfect for me as I was wanting down time in between diving. The rooms are great, air con and accessible free wifi. Only thing is light is not very bright in the room but I didn't mind. There is a small pool. The staff are fantastic, really friendly and the security is great. It's a bit out of the way from the main town but really close to the beach. Taxis are cheap or there is a local pier where your dive shop may pick you up from if you are diving. Great hidden gem, good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District Heights, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I experienced a very comfortable and enjoyable stay while lounging at the Belize Hutz and have highly referred this hotel to my entire family and friends. Clean rooms that are reasonably priced for someone that’s traveling solo or for a family that’s on a budget. The hotel is conveniently located less than 10 minutes from the downtown area. The Hutz Grill chef prepared some of the best islander’s favorites and had me craving for more. The entire staff, especially, the owner’s sister was very friendly, sociable, and attentive towards making my first time visit to this Island, a memorable one. Keep up the good work.

Razzi
USA/Maryland

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razzi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The staff were very friendly and our room was nice. We enjoyed the location as there was a beautiful beach nearby and the walk to San Pedro along the beach is only 30 minutes. Our room had air con ,wifi and a hot shower. The only problem we had was that we were woken up on the first morning at 8am with really loud music which went on all day.It was like waking up in a night club. Other than that we really enjoyed the hut we had and would stay again. It was a good value and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest away from the bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambergris Beach House
Ambergris Beach House
#25 of 30 in San Pedro
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sands Villas
Sands Villas
#26 of 30 in San Pedro
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brahma Blue Resort
Brahma Blue Resort
#13 of 21 in San Pedro
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Changes In Latitudes Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Hutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Hutz

Property: Belize Hutz
Address: 2141 Pearl Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belize Hutz 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Island Of Ambergris Caye, Belize. Belize Hutz has 11 private Cabana's, all the rooms have air conditioning, private bathrooms, with hot showers, maid service UPON REQUEST, Free WiFi, swimming pool, Palapa Bar & Grill. All rooms were completely remodeled in 2010. The Hutz is a unique place to stay and live amoungst the locals. We are off the beach 4 blocks, only 8 min taxi or golf cart ride to town. If you like to live among the locals this is the perfect spot to stay. Sundays are family day, The Hutz prides itself in providing locals good food at local prices. Everything at the Hutz is locally purchased. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Belize Hutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Hutz San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing