We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island tex mex works”

Lone Star Grill & Cantina
Ranked #48 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Come down to the Lone Star for some great Tex Mex, Gringo Favorites and some fresh seafood. The Gringo Favorites include items like the Texas Fried Steak, burgers, salads, chicken fingers and more. The seafood includes fish, lobster (while in season) and shrimp. The portions are large and nobody will leave hungry. You'll love every bite!
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Island tex mex works”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The nachos are great. The pico de gallo is fresh and flavorful. The tacos and fajitas perfect proportions. The fish in the off the menu soft fish tacos was some of the most flavorful I've had so far.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for your review wmsc. We're happy to hear you had the chance to enjoy numerous menu items. The kitchen staff have worked very hard to cook at the level they do and they really appreciate hearing the positive feedback. Hope to see you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    75
    35
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good times”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We ate here a couple of time over our week's stay since it was next to the condo and convenient. The lobster enchilada's were really tasty. They also had good deserts too. Mark the owner is a nice guy and was keeping a close eye on everything. Good food and well run. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for visiting the Lone Star while on your vacation Neil F. We're lucky to have a great location on the island. Once people try the restaurant many tend to return for meals. Since the Lobster season opened last month there have been requests for many lobster dishes. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the enchiladas. We really appreciate your input about your experience as all the staff at the Lone Star have worked very hard to provide the best possible experience to the patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good tex mex.”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Ate here for lunch three days in a row. Good Tex Mex. Watched World Cup soccer on their huge TV. Good food, good service, reasonable prices. No AC so a little warm in the afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Ty S thanks for coming to the Lone Star and enjoying everything! We're always happy to hear about return visits. We look forward to seeing you back at the Lone Star in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lone Star Grill and Cantina”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a treat to discover this place just minutes after arriving in Ambergris Caye - literal directed by a road sign indicating "a 3 minute walk"! This weary, hungry group of four travelers wanted nothing more than a bite of food, showers, and sleep. Instead what we got was a family style greeting from the staff and owner, Mark Eggers, and delicious fresh island and tex mex style meals. Long story short, we visited the Lone Star Cantina and Grill at least four times over the next seven days, enjoying the staff, owners, and wanting to try as many items as possible on the varied menu. And for all lovers of chicken fried steak (renamed Texas fried steak to avoid any confusion in this part of the world), it truly was the best I've ever eaten!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for your numerous visits to the Lone Star Gina M. Coming from a Texan it's particularly nice hearing how much you enjoyed the Texas Fried Steak. We're hoping to see you and your family back to the island for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wright, Kentucky, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We're from Cincinnati where there is many a fine restaurant and love to cook and eat, so I was a bit worried when we first arrived at the island and nothing really stood out as our usual fare (read: I'm picky). We stopped here our first night, the place being close to pelican reef where we were staying, and I was pleasantly surprised and highly recommend it. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. My husband is celiac, and the server (owner?) was well versed, friendly, and knew exactly how to address the issue. We had the lobster (in season) and nachos. The lobster was very good, the nachos were great. Atmosphere was cozy and comfortable and clean. Highly recommend. There is also a friendly dog there, which I found charming, but you might want to know if you have an allergy.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, Owner at Lone Star Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thanks for the great review Nicole T, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Lone Star. Jaime was probably your server, he's been working at the Lone Star for over 2 years now. He definitely knows how to take care of people. Gracie is our dog. On occasion we bring her into the restaurant. Prior to bringing her into the restaurant we normally check with the patrons to make sure they're alright with having her in the restaurant. People tend to love seeing her and many people say they miss their own dogs and get a little dog fix with her being around. Thanks for dining at the Lone Star Grill & Cantina. We hope you return for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Grill & Cantina also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Lone Star Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing