We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doing something Different!”

ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary
Ranked #26 of 74 Tours in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join ACES's Expert Croc Team on an evening, educational, crocodile eye-shine aboard the "Swamp Thing." Search for predatory crocodiles to capture, tag, & re-release to help ACES Biologists collect scientific data on Belize's wild & threatened American crocodiles. (ACES is permitted by the Belize Forest Department.) Your expedition takes you through mangrove islands & into the starlit night while searching for Isla Bonita's extraordinary, nocturnal wildlife and the infamous saltwater crocodiles in their natural habitat. Departing from "The Office Bar & Grill" at 6:30 pm, this extraordinary 2-3 hour expedition is only $50USD per person. All proceeds go to crocodile rescues, research, and education in Belize.
Ladyville, Belize
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doing something Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I appriciate the small groups that get individual tours, what a great way to learn! We live on the mainland, and enjoy knowing that our guests can have the chance to do something even if they only have a couple hours to spare. Evan Sims truly loves his "job" and it shows!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks Michelle! To clarify for future visitors, this review refers to ACES Educational Crocodile Eco-Sanctuary at Captain Hook's Shrimp Restaurant in Ladyville, Belize. Both have their own TripAdvisor pages for more helpful reviews.

Look forward to meeting you soon,
Cherie

Were going to miss Evan. He has been a huge asset to our team, but his Voluntourism is coming to an end. We're sad to see him go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    15
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rimbey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our San Pedro Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Vince and Cheri were really interesting and made the trip through the Mangroves very enjoyable! We topped off the trip with the release of a young croc that was rescued from the mainland at a shrimp farm. The croc was a young female and we were all able to hold her before she was released into the water. I learned a lot about the different species of crocodile and really enjoyed our evening!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Denise,
What fun re-releasing little "Saffron" back into the wild. Thank you for coming along and helping in her rescue. Hope you join us again someday.
Cheers,
Cherie & Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must do.... Amazing evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

we had no idea what we were getting in to. called this number we saw on a flyer. set up a time. went to this cool bar on the water. then all of a sudden we were off with the croc hunter and his wife:) great people and very informative trip. we had a BLAST and learned a few things throughout the way. we are going back in a week and plan to do it again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrentDoig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for the great review Brent!
It was a blast, as always! And thank you for sharing your pics. Looking like a couple of pirates there instead of croc wranglers. :)
Pleasure meeting you'n's!
C & V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't leave town without doing this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wow Vincent and his wife are a rare couple! Spreading the word and trying to protect the endangered crocodiles, their night safari into the mangroves is a must! As conservationists you are involved in their search to identify and tag the crocs. My daughter even named one. A wonderful enriching experience

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks Charlie! We're so glad you all had a good time.
Cheers,
Cherie & Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't leave San Pedro without doing this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not only a fantastic 2-3 hours cruise through the mangrove swamps tracking down crocs, but really educational and entertaining excursion that has one purpose, to help protect the dwindling wildlife on San Pedro. Vince and his team were exceptional hosts - if not a little crazy jumping in the water to catch live crocs, Steve Erwin style. My 5 year old daughter was captivated and hasn't stopped telling people about the croc she named, Saffron Sophia - a 4 year old female croc rescued from a shrimp farm that was released into the wild on our trip. Keep up the great work and thanks for letting us come along for the ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo_Jaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Jimbo! What fun indeed! Saffron was so cute holding Saffron Sophia, I can't wait to see the pictures. Please post them or send to me via email at acesnpo@hughes.net. I would love to put them on the website. Thanks for your support and I'll be sure to post if we catch the little croc again someday. Let us know if you enjoy your visit to the main facility in Ladyville too.
Cheers,
Cherie & Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing