We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Picasso

Casa Picasso
Ranked #4 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Central American, Contemporary, Fusion, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casa Picasso is back! Now in our 6th season, this award winning Ambergris Caye, tapas restaurant and martini lounge is open with a menu designed by 4 Star NY TImes Chef, Hasni Ghazali and Executive Chef de Cuisine, Valencio Choc. Featuring an eclectic tapas and full menu using local and organic ingredients, unique entrees and extensive vegetarian options. Well paired wine list and distinctive martinis in an artful setting makes any occasion memorable. Tuesday - Saturday, 5:30 - 10:00 PM. Last reservation 8:45. Reservations: 226-4443 "Dine Artfully"
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had two amazing meals at Casa Picasso on our trip and only wish we had gone more. It was no question the best food on the island. We had tapas, mains, desserts, drinks, and everything was fresh, and cooked and seasoned to perfection. They had unique menu items and lots of variety. Foodies will be addicted. The selection of cocktails and martinis was also refreshing.

The service was unlike anything else we received elsewhere in Central America, Eric was super attentive and professional and just such a nice person! The owners come to check on you personally, and provided us with complementary ice wine shots and a paid taxi home. We thought this was a really kind gesture and showed that these people really know how to earn their business! Do not miss this gem!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    71
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A definite must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this eclectic restaurant after a suggestion from a couple we met while having lunch at Palapa. Wonderful hosts, great wine & unbelizeable food! It's worth the effort to go off the beaten path to find this gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarvisbjrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fun, small, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our hotel gave us directions to get to the restaurant - we needed that because it is out of the way. There is some history which the owner recounted to us. They bought and restored it, bringing in a special chef. It reminded me of the kind of small artsy restaurant you would see in Panama. We had fish dishes. They have quite a good selection to choose from and a wine list. It was a fun place to dine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hi visited this nice little place on our honeymoon. It was great, beautifully and artfully decorated. Quiet but ambiant. They had a full menu but we stuck to tapas. Lobster Rolls and prok bellies are unreal. Would go back just for that. Great service from Belizean staff. It's a little tricky to find, but if you're staying on the south side of town you're close. They give you a free ride home too (and apparently pick you up too but we walked there). Definitely will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FineIGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventenac-en-Minervois, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best restaurant in Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

These people have got it all going on! From their cocktails to deserts everything is fresh and thoughtfully prepared. The service and attention to detail is second to none. I don't know where they get their meats from, but this is the only place I order a filet mignon from while in Belize. I am so glad they have stuck it out and I look forward to another season of fine dinning in a quaint and charming atmosphere in a casual laid back style. Don't miss this place, it's a must have for me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank truckingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Picasso also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Casa Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing