We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in downtown San Pedro”
Review of Elvi's Kitchen

Elvi's Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: International, Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food in downtown San Pedro”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The dining room features a sand floor and a live tree, which is fun. It's also open air and even on the hot day we were there the airflow was good and we were comfortable.

The food was very good. I had fish and chips, which was delicious. My wife had a sandwich that she was very happy with as well.

The service was decent too, which is not always the case on the island!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,740
    667
    212
    36
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were recommended this by staff at Pelican Reef Villas and it was fantastic. The stuffed jalapenos and caribbean chicken were mouth watering.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My son's FAVORITE! Family favorite!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

A special place for us. It's turned out to be our family date nite pick every Saturday. Elvies staff makes sure we get treated like royalty eveytime we visit. My son loves going there and is his favorite place to dine. The food is authentically amazing, the staff fast and courteous going out of the way to accommodate us very single time we visit. For a local that is huge! The Belizean shrimp curry and the Caribbean chicken stuffed with Chaya are our hands down favorite but they're extensive menu has something for everyone. It's a must do for every traveler

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayebwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Throughout our week in Belize, I kept asking our local guides where they would go for the best food on the island. Most of the time, their first choice was their own kitchen; but according to everyone we asked, the next best thing was Elvi's Kitchen. We made a reservation although I was hesitant at first because this place was not in the top ten of restaurants in San Pedro. Once the day arrived, we walked into town and without much trouble found Elvi's. The service was great and we were seated right away. The entire floor of the restaurant is sand, which is wonderful! There is a large menu with many different options. The lighting in the restaurant was perfect for an intimate dinner, but the vibe of the restaurant is way chill. We began the meal with fried conch fritters, which were delicious. I had the coconut curry and my date had the margarita shrimp. Both were delicious. It's now been four month since we ate there and I still think about that delicious meal! If I ever return to any part of Belize, I will have to make a trip to San Pedro for a meal at Elvi's Kitchen!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANuggetorTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but commercial”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food was very good, had the Mayan feast, but it is prepared in a more commercial setting than others we ate at. It was VERY hot in the back room, almost unbearable until the air conditioning was turned on. The pork, rice and tamales had very nice, subtle favors. The best item on the menu was the spicy chicken. start with this and you might not eat anything else. The Mango Tangos were the best tropical drinks we have had up til now and are lethal. BEWARE.

The service was first rate by a young lady with a beautiful smile.

Overall, this is a very good choice and is a can't miss.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dellanno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elvi's Kitchen also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Elvi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing