We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value on Ambergris Caye!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Robin's Kitchen

Robin's Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Taylor Lake Village, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Value on Ambergris Caye!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Don't be put off by this simple roadside stand with a few tables and barbecue pit on the side of the road. We were a bit hesitant at first but were truly glad we tried it. The owners, John and Dulce are a hardworking & wonderful couple that take pride in serving delicious plates of finger lickin chicken, rice and beans and salad. The barbecue sauce was the best I've had and believe me being from Texas we know barbecue sauce. We told John he should bottle it. BYOB or buy from store next door. It was close by Victoria House where we were staying and ate here on more than one occasion. Try this place on your first day because you will want to come back more than once before leaving Ambergris Caye. This will be the first place we visit when returning to Ambergris Caye!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13Dulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    130
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great barbecue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had dinner at Robin's Kitchen last night. What a great place. It is a small roadside restaurant. I was the only one there last night and the owners made me feel welcome. It's probably the best jerk chicken I've had. Basically you get chicken, beans and rice and cole slaw. All for only $6.00 US!! There was entertainment last night too! A singer doing a variety of songs, from reggae to country music. It is a great laid back place to go. I mentioned that I ate at Robin's to some locals and they all agreed it is great food. You should definitely go here if on Ambergris Caye. It is across the road from Mata Rocks resort. So, if you stay there, you really don't have a reason not to eat at Robin's! A friendly place with great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimi1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Island Chicken...the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

A few local experience...no menus, no problem. Just come to Robin's around 6pm and wait (he will know when you came). He uses an old family secret sauce, which is awesome. And, the meal is only $6 US...Robin, time to raise your prices!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thosraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best value in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The food at Robins is excellent. Its prepared with care and attention. The flavours are excellent and we were impressed with the meals produced from this humble roadside stand. Don't be put off by the dirt floors and simple tables as the food is amazing. This is one of the few value deals on Ambergris Caye. Take away is an option if you want less basic circumstances. Most times they are open late but hey close early on Friday and Saturday evening to get ready for church.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE BEST FOOD - THE NICEST PEOPLE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

John & Dulcie Harvey runs Robin's Kitchen...a very laid back and very tropical restaurant south of town across from Royal Palm Villas. Their Jerk Chicken is the BEST outside of Jamaica! Honestly.... John makes a killer whole Snapper - tender, fresh....delicious! He uses Coconut Milk in the sauce...amazing. I've never had anything like it. The prices are ridiculously low so take advantage of that and visit soon. The restaurant is out in the open covered by a thatch roof...there's always a breeze coming off the ocean just steps away.
Thanks John & Dulcie. You guys are THE BEST!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VoiceQueenViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robin's Kitchen also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Robin's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing