We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Rush - A Family Affair”

No Rush Sailing Tours
Prosper, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“No Rush - A Family Affair”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had such a great trip with Steve and Fish, we had to book it again before we left the Caye. The 2nd trip, Steve brought his daughter and niece. We had a remarkable time. Our daughter and her friend were completely in love with the locals on board; we ate, danced, sang and fished. My favorite part were the eagle rays and nurse sharks cleaning up our fish and conche scraps. The day was a 10 and the company was an 11. We ended up going out for dinner and met up with the crew again for a couple beers on the beach - by chance. Thank you Steve and Family - thank you Fish!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

First let me set up our experience before we booked with Unity Tours. We took a snorkel trip which was booked through our resort to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. It was a small boat with 15 of us sitting hip-hip. Hol Chan was super crowded with so many snorkelers that my son, 13 years old, got kicked in the face and his mask ripped off. Our guide was great and the area was beautiful. But, it felt rushed and somewhat stressful. The whole trip was only 2.5 hours.

NOW...on to Unity Tours reveiw. Steven picked us up at our resort pier promptly. The boat seats 20 and we only had 11 so there was ample room for everyone to stretch out. We sailed out to a shallow snorkel spot and were offered rum punch, fanta, coke or water. One of the crew snorkeled with us to point out the good spots and swam with a life preserver in case those who opted to snorkel without life jackets grew tired. Meanwhile Steven, the captain, took his kayak out and collected conchs. The 3rd crew member, Steven's brother Marcos, stayed on board preparing lunch. Steven caught 5-6 conch and they made us fresh conch ceviche -- it was amazing! We used the leftover conch to fish. Not much was biting so we moved to a better fishing spot and most everyone caught a fish. Then, lunch was served. It was very good. They had baked grouper, chicken curry, white rice, tortillas, corn, beans (not good- canned) and there was enough for everyone to have 2nds or 3rds; although people seemed to shy to do so. Then, we moved to a deeper snorkel spot (Mexico Rocks) where we saw several rays, a large nurse shark and lots of coral and fish. Unfortunately, we were only there a short time and some bad weather moved in. They were very proactive in getting us out of the water (blew into a conch shell like a horn to get our attention) and quickly heading back. We got caught in the rain but they stowed everyone's things below to keep them dry.

All in all, it was a fantastic trip! It provided my family with a little of everything we all wanted: fishing, snorkeling, sunbathing and sailing. The price was $75 US per person, which was very reasonable for a 9am-4pm excursion.

Don't overpay with the big companies (Seaduced or Searious). Support the local guys who work very hard to show you their beautiful island and make you feel at home!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank icuRNAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No Rush - A PERFECT day on, and in, the water”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Steven and Marco picked us up at the Palapa bar dock EARLY! This was the start to a perfect day with No Rush. There were 3 of us on a boat that can take 25 passengers. Four others were booked to join us but cancelled at the last minute and instead of cancelling the tour, as there were only 3, Captain Steven went ahead with our sail to Mexico Rocks. Thanks for the VIP treatment (we have seen other tours being cancelled and since this was our last day in San Pedro we really appreciated their generosity in proceeding with this trip).
The sailing was perfect (on the comfy cushions) and then to a spot where there was fishing and Steve dove for the conch that was then expertly made into ceviche - now that's fresh!
DH really enjoyed the fishing (while we snorkeled) and he caught several different kinds of fish which were then made into lunch (along with some yummy potatoes and homemade tortillas - kudos to chef Marco).
Then to snorkeling at Mexico Rocks - we are experienced snorkelers so were able to explore this area on our own (which was nice after the crowded, guided, tours in Hol Chan). We saw amazing varieties of fish, sharks, rays, green moray and many others. This area was also quite peaceful with only 2 other small boats in the area for a total of 7 people in the water (and that was how many that were in one group with us in our Hol Chan tours!).
All three of us highly recommend booking with No Rush - they are locals with lots of knowledge of the area and are friendly and accommodating. If you are experienced in the water it is a nice change from the other, more crowded, tours and they are able to accommodate you at whatever level your comfort is in the water.
We will be booking with No Rush for any future trips to San Pedro.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Janice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Spoils on our Rainy Day”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The weather seemed great until an hour into our snorkeling tour -the rain just came down! Have no fear- Stephen and Marco had such great attitudes and we all had so much fun. They put up tarps and we camped out! We caught lobster and conch so we were able to make ceviche as well. The catamaran is comfortable and cared for. I would do this tour again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day of snorkeling, fishing, sunning, and eating!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

An absolutely great day! We booked a full day snorkel/sail with Steven's crew and it couldn't have been better. They met us at our resort's dock on time and we were off. We were even able to decide on the itinerary together. There were 9 of us on the catamaran, and there was plenty of space to lay down and sip on rum punch as we sailed down to some snorkel spots. On the way, one of Steven's brothers dove off the boat and went Conch hunting; then made frech ceviche for a morning snack.

We snorkeled and fished and ate a fresh lunch of lobster and snapper plucked from the ocean.

The day finished with a 1 hour guided snorkel tour of Hol Chan reserve. A perfect day and a wonderful crew!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Rush Sailing Tours also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to No Rush Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing