We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambergris Brewing Company - CLOSED

Ambergris Brewing Company
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Great bar next to the water using imported and on site roasted coffee! We offer fresh pastries, Grilled Panini's, Beer Crust Pizza, daily fish and chicken specials, full breakfast served all day, along with lunch and dinner specials and a variety of local and international drinks!!! Located across from Wet Willy's Pier!!Please come and see our House Band the "BARETOES" these people are great and we are sure you will enjoy the music
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant was directly next to the Blue Tang where we were staying. We had a great meal, the shrimp wrapped in bacon was incredible! Owners just celebrated their one year anniversary of owning this place and were extremely personable. Helped arrange a cab for us one night also when one didn't show up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    30
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

On my way to another bar, I stopped in for a beer & directions. Crystal was so efficient & friendly, I stayed for a while just talking to her and a local named Janel. The beer was ice cold, everyone was having a great time on a slow night, they are so informative & happy to see you even if you are there for the first time! I went back a second time & met a second bartender, whom I cannot recall his name, but he was awesome as well. It's these little places that you enjoy yourself the most!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sologirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperstown,ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everybody knows Your Name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

By far the best local bar/restaurant on the beach. It's right next to the Blue Tang.......don't blink........you might miss it. Although you can't miss all the folks sitting on the porch chatting and laughing having a good time........ Just walk up and say "hi." Chances are they will say it first..........

The bean dip and conch salad is to die for. Don and Lisa the owners are the best as are all the locals and gringos that frequent the place. You will feel right at home until you see the moon rise with the cool breeze from the front porch and then you remember you are indeed in paradise with good friends that you just met!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbCooperstown_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food and Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Food was very good and a good place to hang out. The only short coming is they only have one person preparing food and serving. Which means, if there is a large group, you will need to ask that your food be brought out as it's ready, otherwise, it may get cold. They freshly prepare all of the food. Nothing is pre-made, including the onion rings. Definitely worth a try. We ate there twice and the food was good on both occasions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place in San Pedro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Initially I wandered in here because ABC was right next to my hotel. I ended up returning several times because of the delicious food and great vibe. Just sit outside for five minutes and you're bound to overhear something fascinating/hilarious from the local and expat regulars. Owners are beyond friendly and drinks are tasty. If you are looking for a fun, relaxing spot, definitely don't miss this place!

Helpful?
Thank BMcG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambergris Brewing Company also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing