We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RESTAURANT FROM HELL”

Caramba! Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specialized on Mexican,Caribbean and local cuisine
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
“RESTAURANT FROM HELL”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

DO NOT WATSE YOUR MONEY AT CARAMBA! I found a hair in my food, asked the waiter to take it back. Ordered a batch of shots, paid 60$ for a glass full of nastiness and got a fried fish that was so hard it probably was cooked by Jesus himself! The service was horrible and in the end I was still over charged And had to pay for the hairy chicken fingers! I ended up just walking out and leaving the food there. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. They are disgusting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriamm141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Our Management and Staff of Caramba are not pleased on the fact that, what you had stated above is a basket full of mendacities in your review. Why is it so? To start of Ms. Miriamm141, our bartender offered you the Chocolate Cake Shot in which you were conscious on what all the shot had consisted of and the waiter asked you if you wanted to know the price and you responded to him “I don’t care about the price” you had refused to us to that you did not want to know about our price and that was something we cannot control. Furthermore, something like that would have cost you $90 in any local bar and since this type of shot is not our menu we charged you only $60 BZE for the batch. In addition, our bartender has years of experience in the bartending field and trust me he knows what he is doing. About the incident of the appetizer we had strongly investigated what was on the food since it caught the attention of our managers and what was on it was a thin fine piece of thread, that food was immediately removed from your bill. Why didn’t you notice it was removed from the bill? Because we cannot understand the fact that why are you saying that we still over charged and that you had to pay for the hairy chicken fingers! because Ma’m you did not even saw the bill.

Ms. Miriamm 141, everything started when the water came to your table to remove the shot glasses and that’s when you asked about the price of the shot. He had stated to you the price of the shot and that’s when an argument started between you and your partner. The gentleman that was sitting beside you was in displeasure because of your actions and had told you “why would you order something without knowing the price” You were very loud and you along with your other friends were the only ones in the restaurant and this is true because we were about to close. The argument continued with you and your partner and we noticed that you left your partner behind with no money and you also left the other couple along with your partner behind. After 10 minutes your partner left behind you. Before he left the waiter had asked him if he wanted us to pack the food for him and he accepted and the food was packed. That is when he took off with the food and only left $100BZE leaving the other couple with the bill and their food and not having enough funds to pay the bill when it came to their attention. Also, we had noticed that were making several calls and someone came with money and that’s how they managed to pay the bill. To be more specific, on the bill the appetizer was completely removed from the bill and for the whole bill we had given you guys a 12.5% discount. Also, the food that was taken by your partner it most have already been cold and hard by the time he had taken it with you. It was not given to you at your table like that.

So please Ms. Miriamm141, try to be more specific as to what really occurred that night while dinning with us. As many trip advisor readers may notice most of our negative reviews come from our Guatemalan neighbors and we still don’t try to be prejudice and not welcome them to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    365
    98
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Food good, staff excellent”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a nice meal, most all the food was good in Belize, so I suspect that good food is a given, however we had excellent service -- ask for Sponge Bob... he made custom drinks (see if he can remember how to make a "Lime Pearl") and was super friendly without us feeling that he was in it just for a tip (I love that). Great location, air conditioned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wil definitely go again.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

All seating is inside, no views, aircon cold. Decor lovely. Staff v smart. Most important though- food was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“So enjoyable”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband, my daughter and her boyfriend as well as myself went to Caramba for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. We loved it so much that we went and had dinner there again the next evening. I had the coconut pie the first night for dessert and the key lime pie the next. Both were delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lobster burrito”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I ate at Caramba mostly because to the personality of the guy outside responsible for drumming up business. He was exceptional at getting people to go inside and eat. It helped that the restaurant was air conditioned and it was hot outside. Fruit punch was very good. Lobster burrito was very large, but mediocre. All in all, it was a good experience. I stayed on Caye Caulker most of the time and Caramba was not as good as the places I ate at on Caulker.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EF0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba! Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caramba! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing