We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Caramba! Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 190 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specialized on Mexican,Caribbean and local cuisine
Spring, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I both had lobster dishes, the lobster was overcooked, the fajita had more veggies than meat and the lobster tails I had with dinner were should not been sold as a meal because they were so small. I am finding the smaller spots are better

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Secretary at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Traveler2010
We do regret that your visit us was not as pleasant. On the lobster, all our meals are prepared in portions and are weighed so all our clients recieve the same. All lobster weights are of the same but some may seem smaller than others but believe me all are the same weight. Nevertheless, we always try to prepare our meals to please each and every customer and make it as fresh as possible. On the other hand, thank you, and Caramba Restaurant always try to improve for the better everyday to please our customers.
Regards
Chandel Rodriguez
Caramba Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    368
    98
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great lunch destination”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good selection on the menu. Very friendly staff and good service and it was we did not have to wait long for our food. It was a great place to eat on the way to the airport.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 129thecatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Secretary at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello 129thecatsmeow
Caramba Restaurant is very glad and pleased that you enjoyed our lunch meals.
Thank You
Regards
Chandel Rodriguez
Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lobster Fajitas!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First place we go for dinner every trip to Ambergris, try the Lobster Fajitas if your there in season. Always great food and plenty of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Secretary at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Chad K
Caramba's Restaurant and Bar are very glad and pleased to hear that you loved our
Lobster Fajitas! Thank you for the compliments.
Regards
Chandel Rodriguez
Secretary
Caramba Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and mediocre at best”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband ordered the Mayan fish fillet. It was small portion and very mediocre. We ordered my son spareribs and we're not sure exactly what they were, but they were definitely not spareribs. Very chilly and gristly. I had bacon wrapped shrimp and it was ok, but not great. I think we could have dealt with it, except, it ended up costing $80 American dollars with tip!! And we only ordered a coke and lime juice for drinks- no alcohol that would have added to the price. We're surprised that this place received such high reviews. People must go for the drinks or were too drunk to remember how the meal really tasted. There are MUCH better places to eat on the island for less- save yourself the trip to Caramba

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Secretary at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Kim k
Caramba's Restaurant would like to apologize for any mis leading or mis communication that has been brought to the attention to us that we did not satisfy your needs as a customer. We always try to equally satisfy every one. As for now we are working on ammending our menu for our customers to feel pleased after every meal, by creating a effective less costly meals for all in order to meet the needs of every customer. We would like to Thank You for your helpful review.
Once again, Thank You

Regards
Caramba Restaurant
Chandel Rodriguez
Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was lobster fest when we got there. They had great food and really good service. They will make you yummy homemade drinks you will love. Enjoy!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Secretary at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Lisa L
We are very glad and pleased that you enjoyed our meals here at Caramba Restaurant
Thank You
Regards
Chandel Rodriguez
Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba! Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caramba! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing