We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Ay, caramba!”

Caramba! Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 210 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specialized on Mexican,Caribbean and local cuisine
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Yesterday my husband and I were in San Pedro doing some chores (laundry, shopping) mid holiday, and the urge for a light lunch hit us. We were walking by Caramba! Restaurant, and as Lonely Planet had given it a really good review, we thought we'd give it a try. We were cajoled in from the street - though it didn't take much work, I must say, as we were en route there already - and we're wowed by the extensive menu. I went for the fish burger and chips and my husband had the burrito. Both were excellent, but I can say the snapper burger was the best fish burger of my life - out of many many fish burgers. The drinks were reasonably priced and good quality, though the rum punch juice mix comes from a good quality mixer and not from fresh juices as I would hope on a tropical island. I went for the local 'panty ripper' made from coconut rum (I suspect a local coconut rum which was much nicer than Malibu) and pineapple juice. Anyway, our holiday isn't over yet and we will be returning.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsHarris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Guest Relations Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello Mrs Harris3
Caramba Restaurant is glad and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our meals. We hope to see you soon. Thank You for your helpful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,087 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I cant say anything bad about the place, the price food and drinks were all terrific and Charlie the bartender is just a extra bonus.

Thank Ginger155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Guest Relations Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello Ginger
Caramba Restaurant is glad and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our meals. We hope to see you soon. Thank You for your helpful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

While exploring San Pedro back in Mar 2012, a waiter was ushering us in but we were hesitant for Mexican and the place looked really touristy. But they had a lot of seafood, which was what we were in the mood for. The free conch ceviche was yummy, nice change from the typical chips and salsa. I got the Mayan whole fish with coconut rice/beans and steamed veges. Veges were bland but the fish with the sauce and rice were great. I'm a sucker for whole fish since it's usually more fresh and tender than filet and this didn't disappoint. Ate the whole thing to the bone, head and all - our waiter was impressed. We can't remember what my boyfriend had. He didn't love it but I remember it being pretty tasty. The staff was all very friendly, our waiter was attentive and personable. We also liked the price. Solid dining experience for taking a shot in the dark.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Guest Relations Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello Elin
Caramba Restaurant is glad and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our meals. We hope to see you soon. Thank You for your helpful review. Any problems that you had are definetely being reviewed and working on them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were in San Pedro Belize for a week. We ate at Caramba four times during our stay! Our children wanted to eat there every night for dinner. Their friendly, fun staff were exceptionally hospitable! We all highly recommend Caramba!!!:))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valerie0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Public Relations Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello Valerie0425,
Thanks for dining with you! We appreciate it. We're happy that your childeren choose us. Once again, thank you!
Regards,
Jonathan Reyes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've been to many Restaurants in San Pedro but Caramba Restaurant takes the cake with their cool atmosphere, friendly attentive staff and their mouthwatering sea food.I must say their Margarita shrimp with baked potato and rice and beans is simply delicious and finger licking. Just thinking about the food experience I had makes my taste buds run wild! The next time I'm in San Pedro I’m definitely going to Caramba for their great food and I would highly recommend Caramba Restaurant to anyone to let them feel,see and taste the wonderful experience I had. Great atmosphere, great service and great food! :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeslieVasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Secretary at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello Leslie Vasquez
We are glad and pleased to hear that you had a great dininning experience here at Caramba Restaurant. We hope to see you back soon and Thank you for kind review
Regards,
Chandel Rodriguez
Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba! Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caramba! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing