We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Elegant Home on the Beach”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dajones82...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant Home on the Beach”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in this luxury villa was even better than anticipated. Especially considering we had five couples. The accommodations were both spacious and luxurious. Maria and her staff kept our rooms clean and managed to overwhelm us with excellent meals. The pool was amazing, as was the view over the beach and Ambergris Caye. Even though we were only a short cart ride into town, we had to force ourselves to leave the homey atmosphere of Casa Tortuga. Thank you Peggy Mason for a great vacation. We will be back.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shad F
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Celebrating Parents 50th wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at Casa Tortuga during the first week of June. We had a total of 11 people stay at the house. We rented the entire house and the Pelican Roost. Bedding situation was excellent for everyone. The beds are firm in most rooms so be prepared if you are used to soft beds. The bedding and linens are in great shape. So what sets this place apart from other Rentals. Maria, she is the house manager. She cooks the meals and cleans the house. She will ask you what you want to be prepared, and will make you whatever you request. Just be prepared you will gain weight if you're not careful. She is an excellent cook. Plus the fresh pies every night can push you over the limit. We caught fish twice which she prepared to our liking both times, and it was excellent. Finally, the pool was amazing. After long days on the water, it does not get much better. Plenty of room and the deep end table was great for drinking a beer while staying in the water.
Where we had issues
As has been described before, There is no swimming area at this house. The docks and water in front of the house are very shallow and have not be cleared of sea grass in a long time. Thus swimming in the ocean is not an enjoyable experience. The seawall was being repaired while we were there so hopefully this may improve in the future. Another complaint is the main dining area is not AC controlled. The Cooking area is part of the dining area and can lead to very warm dinners. We ate one of our meals on the balcony which would be a suggestion if it is hot. One Suggestion for the owner would be to invest in an ice machine. Ice was a rare commodity and had to be used sparingly. Having a functional ice machine would be an improvement.

Overall we had a great experience and saved a considerable amount of money versus staying at one of the resorts nearby. We may not go back since we won't need a house for 12 but it was well worth the money and a great set of memories for the entire family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meals were excellent
Liked least: Dinning area was very warm
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Thank you so very much for such a lovely review! WE are so glad you enjoyed the villa, Maria's wonderful cooking, the pool, and the beds. All of the bedrooms and baths are air conditioned.
Although the dining room isn't air conditioned, the French doors opening onto the sixty foot long veranda are always open, to bring in the sea breezes off the reef. We also have fans to keep the room cool, and the option of dining on the veranda, which is always cool.
The environmental laws of Belize do not allow the beachfront properties to clean out the sea grass near the water's edge, since there are micro ecosystems living in the sea grass. However, the seagrass is only at the edge, and if you walk out about 15 feet into the water, the bottom is sandy and good for swimming. As withal beaches, the water is shallow at the beginning.. Often, we walk out to the end of our dock, go down the ladder, and swim from there, where the water is deeper. Thank you again for your delightful review, and hope that you can come visit us again soon.
With every good wish,
Peggy Mason, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scharstei...
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved everything about Casa Tortuga! It was perfect for our family of 10. The house is gorgeous and the food is excellent. We spent half of our trip scuba diving, snorkeling, or visiting local attractions - and the rest of the time relaxing by the pool. It was great!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mschmitt2...
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Spectacular Vacation Villa”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Tortuga is a spectacular holiday villa - seven members of our family travelled to San Pedro for a week in this amazing villa. Ages ranged from 86 to 14 yrs. The house/bedrooms are decorated very well with many interesting antiques; the beds were very comfortable with linens changed regularly by staff. Three bedrooms are at the pool patio level while the remaining two bedrooms are on the living room/kitchen level. The villa lot is huge - the pool is large and inviting. The volleyball court, chess set, day bed, hammocks, and patios all provide great places for guests to 'hang-out". The villa has over 200 ft of shoreline and over 70 palm trees. Free WIFI is available. One of the highlights of this vacation rental is Maria - who prepares three meals a day; the meals are truly wonderful reflecting Spanish and north american culture. Fresh ingredients are served at every meal which is prepared by Maria and her staff in your kitchen. We enjoyed a fresh pie each evening! Case Tortuga is a wonderful home to rent if you have a large group; this is the very best holiday rental experience I have ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Maria and her staff followed by the pool area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl R
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Pampered Service!”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Belize. We came to know Casa Tortuga as a member of our party had stayed there some years prior and recommended it. Its a wonderful home with fantastic features. There are five bedrooms, four of which have their own baths. The Jungle Room suite has a fantastic bath with a round tower like ceiling, very unique. There is a second bedroom on the top floor as well as the kitchen dinning and living area with a large, somewhat impractical bar. Many of our meals were taken out on the upper veranda and enjoy a good trade wind breeze. On the ground level there are three additional bedrooms, each with their own bath and a short distance to the pool. Between these bedrooms is a sitting area and bar with a dorm size refrigerator. This came in handy as we frequently enjoyed the local Belikin Beer. A laundry room sits near this area too.

With respect to criticisms I only have two. The furnishing in the home are tired. Drawers were difficult to open, bed frames seemed unstable, the trim around my nightstand continually fell off, and the bedding itself, though comfortable, showed signs of wear as was evident by the swells in the mattresses. Secondly, the beach and ocean in front of the home, and up and down the beach was not suitable for swimming so if you were planning on sitting in a chair with your feet in the water, this is not the place. The view however was fantastic as you are sitting in the middle of your own coconut grove. Any ocean swimming we did, we did by chartering a boat that took us out to the reef.

That being said, the greatest thing about Casa Tortuga is the service. MARIA takes care of everything. From cooking fantastic meals to maintaining a spotless house. The rooms were cleaned everyday, the veranda, steps and pool area were mopped and the beach raked. There is a breadfruit tree in front of the home. Having never eaten breadfruit before, Maria agreed to cook some. A potato like food, I'd take it over French fries any day.

Some recommendations:
1) Bring mosquito spray!
2) Don't book any fishing trips, snorkeling/diving trips, out of area excursions, or rent golf carts prior to your arrival. Maria has a network of resources that I found would have saved us hundreds.
3) We opted to supply ourselves with beer direct from the distributor ( a 10 minute golf cart ride away). With this we found that for $6 USD a day the local ice house would deliver a 30 lb bag of ice direct to our coolers pool side. Do this!
4) No need to over pack. You can do your own laundry on site.

I don't know that I will return to Belize again. There are other destinations in the Caribbean that I like better, BUT if I return to San Pedro and have a need for a four to five bedroom home, THIS IS THE PLACE.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and their service
Liked least: Furnishings
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
"We are so happy you enjoyed your vacation at Casa Tortuga and that you were able to enjoy all of the unique features that make the property one of the most luxurious private homes on the island! We are thrilled that you also enjoyed Maria and the staff and we agree that no one can beat her cooking. Casa Tortuga is located on 250ft of beachfront featuring a natural beach that gradually meets the ocean, a portion of seawall and a dock. We hope you were able to use the deeper and wide area at the end of the dock for swimming. Having Carlos pick you up at our dock and take you on the 4 minute boat ride straight out to the reef to see the coral and fish is very convenient as well. Casa Tortuga is a very unique villa featuring antiques from France, Germany, Italy, India, Bali, Nepal and China. We have also used local woodworkers for our custom bamboo canopy beds and some tables. We thank you for letting us know that some of these peices are in need of attention and we will be fixing these problems. We love having the local handcrafted furniture outside as well as all of the custom cabinets, windows and doors to show off the beutiful work that is unique to Belize. The stained glass, chandeliers and canopy beds contribute to an authentic grand estate, a collection 25 years in the making, which we feel sets Casa Tortuga apart from some of the standard streamlined rooms you may find elsewhere. We do have feather bed toppers on the beds which do not lay flat but they are extra comfortable. All of the bedrooms enjoy modern amenities such as flat screened TVs and beautiful fresh linens. Exciting new additions have helped keep the villa fun for returning clients such as the 150 foot entrance wall with 12 foot tall gates, the large gazebo and the canopy beach bed to enjoy the stunning views. Sharing the beauty of Belize and Casa Tortuga Villa has been such a joy for us. Thank you again for sharing some highlights and insights of your vacation with our future guests! Warm regards, Peggy Mason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr_boenie
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic vacation in a beautiful setting!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Recently returned from 10 magnificent days at Casa Tortuga. The house itself is extremely comfortable with 5 spacious and beautifully furnished bedrooms each with its own on-suite bathroom. Four of the five bedrooms have a stunning view of the swimming pool and ocean. What truly made this vacation so memorable was Maria and her assistance Flor and Minda, who prepared three delicious meals every day. Every meal was beautifully prepared with a wonderful selection of fresh ingredients and delectable baked goods. There is no need to dine anywhere else, Maria really is the best Chef on the island! This truly was a memorable vacation, and I would highly recommend Casa Tortuga to anyone visiting Belize

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario6525
Cambria, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FAMILY VACATION IN BELIZE”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Like most vacation destinations, there are pluses and negatives. So let's get the negatives out of the way first. The villa is on the Mosquito coast which is appropriately named, especially when the off shore brezzes are not blowing. The villa has all the amenities you would expect but is a bit "tired" and in need of an upgrade to go 5 star. One of the disappointments for our younger set is that they could not swim in the ocean. Belize is fighting a battle against an ocean grass that is inundating the coastline and rotting in the sun. Fortunately, Casa Tortuga has a protected beach area as well as a wonderful swimming pool.......Try the pool volleyball for a really fun time. Everyone raves about Maria and her cooking skills and we would all agree that she made each meal a delicious and surprising delight. Thank you Maria!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
We are so happy you enjoyed Casa Tortuga and all of its amenities including, of course, Maria's fabulous cooking! Thank you for letting us know about the seaweed. This is a short and unique problem brought on by natural weather patterns and ocean currents and will move through quickly. We hope you were able to use the deeper and wide swimming area at the end of the dock. Having Carlos pick you up at our dock and take you on the 4 minute boat ride straight out to the reef, where all the fish and coral are, is very convenient as well.

Casa Tortuga is a very unique villa featuring antiques and treasures from around the world. The fountain in the pool is from Versailles. We have tables, stoneware, panels, carvings and artwork that we have brought from France, Germany, Italy, India, Bali, Nepal and China. The local woodworkers have handcrafted much of the furniture outside as well as all of the custom cabinets, windows and doors. The stained glass, chandeliers and canopy beds contribute to an authentic grand estate, a collection 25 years in the making, which we feel sets Casa Tortuga apart from some of the standard streamlined rooms you may find elsewhere. All of the bedrooms enjoy modern amenities such as flat screened TVs and beautiful fresh linens. Exciting new additions have helped keep the villa fun for returning clients such as the 150 foot entrance wall with 12 foot tall gates, the large beach gazebo and the king canopy beach bed draped in white.

Sharing the beauty of Belize and Casa Tortuga Villa has been such a joy for us. We hope your trip was filled with the adventures and fun you shared with your group. Thank you again.

Warm regards,
Peggy Mason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing