We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Grand Caribe welcomed us in and made us feel at home.

We arrived in San Pedro on one of the last flights of the evening. We were greeted at the baggage claim and since it was very close to dark, were brought by boat to the resort. So great to get a little glimpse of the island at dusk as we made our way to our temporary home. Great welcome once we arrived at the Grand Caribe pier as well. We were ushered into the lobby area to check in and get settled while our bags were brought to our rooms. Everyone at the resort is so warm and friendly --- so accommodating without the stuffy, formal atmosphere you might find elsewhere.

On our first morning, we stopped in at the lobby to rent a golf cart to pick up some provisions and arrange for the weeks worth of diving we came for. Right away, I was asked how everything in our units were. The staff really wanted to make sure that our rooms were arranged in the best manner and that the units were working out for us. This is a relatively new resort with privately owned condos. Staff are really focused on making sure that guests are happy with their stay and will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable.

The concierge (Eli) is a wealth of information! If it can be done, she can arrange it. From the time we first contacted the Grand Caribe to make reservations, to the morning we, sadly, headed back home; Eli was super helpful and quick with a reply to every question.

The resort itself is lovely. The grounds and pool areas are pristine. Absolutely beautiful, completely relaxing. The views in every direction are fantastic. Each of the units I was able to see were beautiful, unique and comfortable. I really don't have a complaint. Wish I were there.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    102
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
290
221
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed at Gran Caribe for a week. We found the condo beautifully furnished and the complex well-staffed. Our ocean front view was perfect. We ate on-site several times and found the food to be excellent and reasonably priced. We interacted several times with multiple staff members, each utterly professional and prompt in meeting our needs.
The housekeeping staff was very conscientious. They cleaned thoroughly every day - what a change from many resorts these days.
I would love to go back. I am a discerning guest - impressed with excellence, and we found it at Gran Caribe. It was very comforting to have several security guards on watch throughout the night from the road access to the dock and other points on property. We felt safe and cared for. I recommend Gran Caribe highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2dive4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Thank you for your fabulous review of Grand Caribe! We enjoyed having you both here at the resort and welcome you back anytime! Eli and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse over Thanksgiving break. The resort is great and as described on the official site, the forums here, these reviews, etc. We enjoyed the trip and would definitely go back. That said, here are a bunch of random thoughts pertaining to our visit. I went with my wife and two kids (6 and 9). I write these for no other reason than to help other guests and give them a few pointers we learned after arriving (and never discovered anywhere on tripadvisor).

I can't say yet that the resort is "excellent," as there are certain kinks they need to work out. One of them concerns the consistency of housekeeping. I believe, depending on how and through whom one books a room, the housekeeping arrangements vary. We were told after we arrived that it was every three days. We were fine with this, but one of the days was the morning after we arrived! They did, however, do your laundry, which was nice. But I'm not sure whether that applies in other units.

The restaurant fare was outstanding, and especially on Thanksgiving, but when we were there, they were just getting the menu fleshed out. Certain items were not in stock on some days, but the staff told us THEY supply the place--as in by going to town and buying food, drink, etc. We thought that was interesting, but it isn't surprising given that the place is still very new and doesn't yet have the number of guests to sustain a much more sophisticated operations.

Grand Caribe is still so new that it was nearly deserted--even on a holiday week! This probably owes to the shaky U.S. economy, too, but we were truly surprised how quiet it was. We were almost lonely some of the time, not in a bad way, but you would think more people would be staying there. I suppose it will pick up in time.

All the reviews say to get a golf cart. We had a rental at our disposal that we could use hourly, daily, etc. We used it for one 2-hour trip to town to buy food, drinks, etc. We found it MUCH more enjoyable, however, to use the water taxis! For one who has driven golf carts for years, the drive into town on one was a whoopin'! I kid you not. The only way to "enjoy" A.C. roads is with something much more offroad-worthy than even the most decked out golf cart.

Also find out when the Caribe Too boat goes to drop off or pick up guests and ask if you can get a ride. Just tip the captain, then get a taxi back to the resort when you need it--or jump back on Caribe Too if you are lucky and time it right. If you don't go into town every day, this approach is ideal--and much more scenic. By the way, we were pleasantly surprised to learn that the ride to the resort after arriving at the airport was by boat!!

I second others' thoughts concerning Eli. She was awesome and hooked us up with a few outings. Two were with Luis, the resort's fishing guide. He is amazing. You will catch fish--and probably more than you can eat. We also did a snorkel tour on the Reef Seekers glass bottom boat. It was fun for those of us who wanted to snorkel, and it also catered to those who didn't want to do so.

As for food, again the resort food was great. However, walk south down the beach a few hundred yards to the AkBol yoga resort. They have great breakfasts and lunch. North of the resort a bit is the Lazy Croc (open Friday-Sunday) and the Aji tapa/Spanish restaurant. Aji is VERY cool and romantic--with awesome food.

If you wonder about the beach, A.C. is not where you go to enjoy pristine white sandy beaches. The water is clear and the fishing/diving/snorkeling is great, but you won't find much pleasure in wading far out in the water--not without swim shoes. We knew this in advance, but it bears mentioning again. If you want Florida panhandle beaches, for example, A.C. is not for you.

Fishing off the dock was fun, especially at night. You don't need a fancy setup, either. Just a slip weight with a hook and some bait on the end will catch you some snapper. We caught snapper, bonefish, a barracuda, and some others right off the dock. Use sardines, shrimp, conch, or similar for bait. Throw it out and wait. Again, night is best. Mornings are pretty good. Daytime and early evening is pretty sketchy, especially with all the boat traffic.

There's tons more I could say, but that ought to be enough. We want to go back. I hope this balanced assessment helps!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Axplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
The staff at Grand Caribe thanks you for your reviews! We appreciate the comments and suggestions made. All of the privately owned condos that are booked directly with us or through a travel agent, receive daily housekeeping services. You had booked through a private owner and they had stipulated housekeeping every 3 days. Our housekeepers provide laundry service for the guests complimentary. I was thrilled that you enjoyed your tours that I set up for you! I have been in guests services and management for over 20 years and know all the great guides! Grand Caribe is receiving their "grader" for the road shortly and will be maintaining the road all the way from the bridge to the resort! It will be SMOOTH riding! Thank you once again and we look forward to your return----Eli Pearly and the Grand Caribe Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Grand Caribe looks to me to be the best, and most underrated spot in Ambergris Caye. It might be overlooked and underrated in tripadvisor because it is north of the bridge, but let me tell you what you get for being a few minutes outside San Pedro:
-You get to choose when you are in the charm and dust of San Pedro.
-You get to choose when to be around the imbibing party folk.
-You get the best pool on the island.
-You get peace and quiet when you want it, with easy access to the fun of San Pedro.
-You get the best secluded beach on the island.
-You get the best housing value on the island, with great service. Having your own sparkling new kitchen is huge, especially when traveling with teenagers.
-The maid service is fabulous...they do the dishes and your personal laundry every day along with the usual cleaning (for free, by the way...no extra charge for laundry like at a hotel).
-You have a great dock and are just a short boat ride or golf cart ride into the shops and food vendors and restaurants in San Pedro.
-You get a great staff, especially Eli who gets whatever you want done.

If you haven't been to Belize before, don't expect it to have the infrastructure of Grand Cayman. But the diving and the snorkeling is fabulous along and outside the barrier reef. And it truly is a place with lots of personality.

So that is the good stuff. My only negative is that the road between the hotel and San Pedro is not well maintained and is a bumpy ride in your golf cart. I understand that Grand Caribe is working on that problem.

P.S. Eli at Grand Caribe hooked us up with Island Divers for an introductory scuba dive with an instructor named Neftali. We ended up doing five dives over three days and got our open water scuba certification. If you are interested in diving, ask for Nef at Island Divers. He was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmons2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My wife and I have been to Ambergris 6 times in the past. This trip was for some rest, diving, fishing, and also to select a place to visit with our children and grandchildren in July of 2011.
We are renting two units. The units are spacious, clean and all have a great view. The entire staff is very pleasant and accommodationg. They do not have a volleyball court but when asked they agreed to build one for next summer.
The resort is away from the hustle of town, but close enough to enjoy by golf cart. Dive shops pick us up on the long boat dock.
Great place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The trip was definitely a trip of a life time. The views at Grand Caribe were so breathtaking it was like out of a postcard. The Grand Caribe staff is always available to answers any questions you might have and recommend sites to see on the island. The rooms are beautifully decorated with an island feel. My husband and I loved sitting at the bar, enjoying the food, and watching our children play in the surf. We will be back and the Grand Caribe is the place we will stay, we have fallen in love with it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belize41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We were impressed by the Grand Caribe from the moment we arrived to check in and were presented with a tropical drink and shown to our condo right on the beach. It was gorgeous! There were fresh flowers placed artfully all over the place, everything was new and impeccably clean, and the views of the turquoise sea out the windows were unbeatable! For the week we stayed, the staff helped us with our every need, even lending me a bicycle to ride since there were no women's bikes available yet. The drinks and food at the pool bar were uniformly delicious, and the conversations engaging. The gorgeous, oversized pool was absolutely delightful. The only thing we would change was the security lighting at night, which was a bit too bright and kept us from doing all the star-gazing we would have liked. Other than this one minor issue, we have nothing but praise for this lovely resort and can recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilys7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
941 reviews
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
1,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 Mils North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing