We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Nearby Hotels
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Phoenix Resort(San Pedro)
$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
656
119
20
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
656
119
20
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barlaundry servicegolf cartbeach basketthrough vrboin townbedroom penthouserooftop restaurantwater taxilaundry donegrocery storemain poolocean viewtruck stopfitness centerfamily vacationdaily housekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 803 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Lots of apparently good places to stay
We booked here last minute as our trip to Hawaii got scrubbed potential weather.
No complaints at all
Nice 2br2ba condo, with daily maid service, nice pool area with swim up bar (limited all-day menu, currently) excellent concierge (very helpful planning excursions)
Two miles north of town, so unless you WANT to isolate yourself, I'd rent a golf cart for the week. Takes about 10-15 minutes to drive in.

Would stay again, unless I just wanted to try something different next time.
But NO regrets at all this trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrGeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Grand Caribe is a beautiful Resort property. We were there a year ago and there have been some changes. The pool bar and restaurant has changed ownership and there will be new dining options available in Sept. according to the new owner. She is very nice and the food is good. The lobster poppers were a favorite! We were told they will be adding a fine dining area, pizza place, ice cream, roof top bar and convenience store at the front of the property. This will be a great addition. She also said they will be adding room service. They were finishing up the work on the new building, so you would need to check on this update to see when it is operational. Also, they are in the process of paving the road north of the bridge to the Grand Caribe and further north...so there is road construction in beginning stages. This is good news as it will save time getting in to San Pedro, but do not know when it will be finished as the grating started the day before we left. The resort is clean and nicely appointed. Great views especially on top floors, but no elevators. Pools are clean and the swim up bar is nice. Quite beach since you are north of town. You need a golf cart to get around.

Room Tip: Great views on top floors. No elevators (except main building)
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129thecatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just returned from our third trip to San Pedro and third time to stay in this resort. Excellence all around. This resort is in a perfect location - just a short ride into town but within walking distance to many places to eat. The housekeeping staff was phenomenal. I wish that I could have taken Mirna and Maria home with me. After two weeks on the road we only had a half a load of laundry to do when we got home thanks to these lovely ladies. Sherlette in the restaurant not only is a very pleasurable person to get to know - she really knows her stuff when it comes to grilling fish. Nothing better than her grilled barracuda fresh from one of our fishing trips. We were also very pleased with the front desk staff. Their response to all of our inquiries and requests were handled very efficiently and professionally. It was extremely nice to pick up the phone and just ask them to call the dive shop, restaurant, or ferry service and we knew they would handle without worry.
The condo was very nicely appointed and we had everything we needed to make our trip extraordinary. The grounds of the resort are impeccable. I made it a point on one of my walks around the resort to actually seek out trash and could not find a single blemish on the grounds. Because we were returning guests, the resort also delivered a very nicely appointed fruit, cheese and wine basket which we enjoyed for happy hour on the lovely patio looking out over the ocean. The patio was awesome in the morning to soak up some Caribbean sunshine while listening to the gentle sound of the ocean, but from late morning until sunset the patio gives you a reprieve from the sun and is a great place to read or take an afternoon siesta. Prior to summer 2012 we had explored several places in the Caribbean, but since our first visit to San Pedro & this resort in 2012 we cannot bring ourselves to go anyplace else. I wish there was a rating above excellent that we could give.

Room Tip: We stayed in building H in the month of July. Our patio had beautiful Caribbean sun early to mid morning - but afternoon to evening was shaded and the perfect spot to enjoy the ocean breezes.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days with our family of five in a 3 bedroom 3 bath condo that was beautifully decorated with a spiral staircase and full kitchen with free laundry service. I mean they do your laundry for no charge! Great thing to offer in a hotel....you MUST have a golf cart here unless you have no intentions of leaving the property (which I don't recommend) the island is fantastic and easy to explore. It is safe and the restaurants in town are fabulous! We explored the entire island and we decided that the location of this hotel is the best, others are too far north and others are in the middle of town (which we do not care for) the Grand Caribe is right in the middle and it is clean with a great pool and bar that is swim up style. It also has a great pier that is a must in Ambergris Caye . An incredible amount of sea grass lines the entire shore here and you need a pier to walk on/jump off to swim and snorkel. This island is a divers destination but it is great for snorkeling too. If you don't dive and want to see the "Blue Hole" you can do so by helicopter. They serve pool bar food here and room service. The people are very friendly and helpful, the only draw back is the hotel is still under construction and has no restaurant at this time or spa (but it's coming soon) they need help at their excursion desk and need updated pricing and excursion photo's. We had to "wing it" and we were successful. We fished (inside the reef) and caught more fish then I have ever caught in my life, we also did shark ray alley and snorkeled a famous spot. We did it all on 1 excursion with a local guy who then cooked all of our fish with fresh lobster for lunch. This was the best day we had on our entire vacation...the local guy was named Tony and the girl at the excursion desk at the hotel recommended him and it was perfect! The boat was a bit old and funky but they are all like that in that area but don't be scared, just go for it. This island is fantastic and we just loved it!! We split it up with the main land too and it was a good mix and completely different, the puddle jumper is safe and super cool!!! Fly over from Belize City airport rather then taking the ferry...it's faster, cheap and super cool!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichPz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife, three kids (21,17 and 14) and I just returned from a great week at the Grand Caribe Resort. We have traveled quite often to Costa Rica, Mexico and Nicaragua, other travels have been to Tahiti, Greece, all over Europe, etc. We're not ready to rank our Central America vacations just yet we will defiantly be back to Grand Caribe and Ambergris Caye. As soon as we got off Tropic Air the service from Grand Caribe began. They had a taxi waited, loaded our gear and we were off to the resort. Upon checking in we were not just handed a key were escorted to our condo and were given an overview of the resort, the island, the activities, the dining, etc. We stayed in a enormous, well decorated, meticulously clean, 3br condo overlooking the beautiful coast of Ambergris Caye. First day upon landing and checking in we hit the pool and pool bar, be careful the $10 basic drinks, they add up very quick, happy hour with 1/2 price drinks is 5-7. Later that eve we walked down beach to Capricorn, a bit over priced for a tiny piece of fish with a lot of rice (our only poor restaurant experience during our trip). The food at the resort is ok at best, hopefully it will improve when the new restaurant opens. Our favorite for lunch was wild mango (try the fish tacos and fish wrap). favorite for dinner was Elvi's Kitchen, their curry fish plate was pretty darn good as were all of the other plates we had. The resort staff made renting a couple of golf carts a breeze, they lined up our various excursions which were all great, especially the snorkeling and 1/2 day fishing trip where we caught some great fish and took it to al local restaurant where they prepared it for us. Enjoy your trip. btw the weather was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: get a condo that overlooks the ocean. the place is like a horseshoe with the lobby at the top of the arch and the farthest from the ocean, stay on the ends, building A and H.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workhard2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews