We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved Our Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saved Our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I went to Belize for our 20th anniversary and stayed in the jungle for half of it (check my other reviews - fabulous place!), and then decided to come to the beach for the second half. Our travel agent booked us into a place in the heart of San Pedro, and we were not impressed at all... and sad that our vacation was going to end on such a sour note (again, you can find this in my other reviews).

Our saving grace was when we rented a golf cart and explored the northern end of the island and found the Grand Caribe, quite by accident. We pulled up that morning around 9am, walked through the lobby, saw the indescribable view out the back, and by 10:30am, we had checked OUT of the other place and fully moved IN to the Grand Caribe!! And we only had 1 night left of our vacation!

The tedious move was WELL WORTH IT. This place is stunning. The condo they placed us in had a full-size, stocked kitchen, a gorgeous bedroom with a walk in closet, and a bathroom that was OUT OF THIS WORLD. The shower alone made the whole place worth it! And between the time we left at 9 and returned at 10:30, they had decorated the room for us with towel swans on the bed, a heart made from rose petals, a bathroom sink full of rose petals... it was lovely, and so much more in line with what we wanted for our special honeymoon. (okay, my husband could've done without the flowery swans, but guys, little extra touches like that make a difference to us ladies!)

Another perk that made the move a no-brainer was that they provided us with a personal housekeeper who did ALL of our laundry for us!! I'm talking our WHOLE WEEK's worth of laundry even though we were only there for that one last night! I went back home with a whole suitcase full of clean clothes. Ahhhhhhh....

Their salt-water pool is incredible - I think it's the biggest in Belize, if I'm not mistaken. The views of the ocean are gorgeous (I'm sure it helped that we had beautiful weather). The general atmosphere is quiet - which was more what we were looking for as opposed to the noisy crowds down in the heart of San Pedro where we were.

My ONLY complaint - and it's not even a fair complaint - is that the beach is only mediocre. This is true for most of the island, though... the buildings are built right up close to the water, so there's not much sand to begin with. And they are constantly fighting the seaweed that washes up onto the shore. Most of the reputable resorts (of which this is one) do a good job of scooping it all up each day. Big, boring job, but I'm glad they do it - what they have is beautiful... it's just not much. In a nutshell, if you want a gorgeous beach, go to Playa del Carmen. If you want a gorgeous room in a beautiful country with attentive service and a fantastic swimming pool, then you can't go wrong with the Grand Caribe.

I think we paid about $309 ($350 or so after taxes/fees) for a 1 bedroom suite. WORTH EVERY PENNY. I have photos (and if you'd like to see them you are free to send me a message), but if you are questioning the "reality" of their professional, stock photos - don't. This place is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    91
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
247
191
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented a condo (H2) resort off of VRBO website. It was amazing. The booking and transaction went very smoothly with the owner. We arrived and checked with with ease. The property was beautiful. The time frame we went there we little to no people there at any given time. It was absolutely refreshing. The pools were great and look towards the ocean. They have lounge chairs on the beach, several feet from the ocean. The staff here was very, very accomodating and helpful. We made friends with the friendly bar staff and excellent cook who made us feel like home. This was one of the best places to stay on the island, in my opinion. I even lost my camera on the main dirt road, during a vigorous golf cart ride, and a staff member walking down after her shift found it, and got it back to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucumcari, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived at San Pedro, Belize on the 29th of October. My kids and I had never been there before unlike my husband and his parents. So I was a little intimidiated to say no less. Our room was beautiful and spacious. Perfect for all six of us. We had a gorgeous view of the ocean from our room. The rooms where cleaned daily and very comfortable. Nevertheless, there was three pools and two hot tubs. A swim up bar, Cowboy Doug's Grill, that was unbelievable. Their food and service was AWESOME!! If you ever have the chance to go, stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent the second week of October at the Grand Caribe. 2 couples traveling together and we got a 2 bedroom ocean front room. The rooms were great and the kitchen was very nice and we used it multiple times to make breakfast or quick lunches. This helps so much with both time and money. The main TV had some issues getting the sound to work, but who's there to watch TV anyway. That is all managed by the owners so they weren't able to do much about it.
The staff was great in all respects. The second day we were there, the A/C broke to our unit. While the TV might not be needed, the A/C is needed. After trying to fix it a few times, they finally had us move rooms while a part for the A/C was flown to the island for the next day installation. They helped move all our kitchen food and other things to the new room. While we were used to "Belize Time" and figured it would be at least a couple of days to get fixed, we saw someone working on it early the next morning. By the afternoon, they were moving us back to our original room (which we liked better anyway) and offered to actually do the packing and moving of everything so we wouldn't miss one of our day trips. What great service from all involved.
The pool(s) are great and loved the swim up bar. The food was pretty good, but a little pricey, but Belize seems to have 2 types of food choices, a little overpriced or cheap. The service was great there also and they'll cook your food for you too. After fishing one day, we brought our catch to them and they cooked it up 3 different ways and it was soooo good.
It's only about a mile past the bridge from San Pedro, so it's a decent walk, but very doable if you want to. Otherwise the golf cart is the best option. The roads are bumpy past the bridge, but to me it's part of the charm and fun of the island. No complaints there.
The laundry service was perfect too. It allowed us to pack less and still have clean clothes every day.

Overall, I can't say enough about the service they provided at the resort. Everything from the A/C issue, adding a topper to one of the beds, opening the door every time at the front, arranging both pick-up and drop-off from San Pedro Airport, the housekeeping service, to the pool and groundskeepers made it a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bupah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friends and I did a "Girls' Week" at the Grand Caribe in Sept/Oct 2012. We LOVED it, and cannot say enough great things about this resort. We stayed in A3 which was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo on the ground floor. The WiFi was great and fast enough that my friend was able to watch the baseball playoffs on her iPad.

We were there during slow season which we really enjoyed since it was quiet and not overly crowded. Other reviews were fairly accurate about the quality of the beach outside the resort, but we knew about that going in, so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Every staff person we met was great and very informative. Leading up to trip, the staff very quickly responded to every question we had, and when we arrived everything was as they said it would be. The housekeepers who came in every day were so nice, and our condo was also super clean.

I would highly recommend this resort to everyone :) Hope we get to come back someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ili507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We loved our stay at the Grand Caribe. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were luxurious. We stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront room. It was nice to have a fully equipped kitchen so we could make breakfast every morning before we started our day. Only one bedroom and the living room had a view of the sea, that was a little disappointing but there is so much to do that we did not spend very much time in the room. One nice perk of staying at the Grand Caribe is that housekeeping will do your laundry each day if you leave it out for them.

The pool at the hotel is great and it even has a swim up bar. There is a little area off the dock to swim in the sea but as will most places on Ambergris Caye the sea swimming was not ideal. They did however have a nicely maintained beach area for laying out and wading for seashells. The poolside restaurant is overpriced but that is to be expected. The food is decent though. We had the nachos and they were good.

We visited the Grand Caribe in low season so it was pretty laid back, which is what we wanted. I imagine it would be pretty crowded in high season but still fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Belize 15 years ago, and just this year decided to go back with our children. What a GREAT decision! The Grand Caribe was everything we hoped for, and more! The condo was very spacious and gorgeously decorated! I did not think we would utilize the maid service doing our laundry, but I can't tell you what a blessing this turned out to be--we came home with suitcases full of clean clothes! The kitchen was fully stocked with every possible utensil and appliance you could need. The appliances were state of the art! Having a kitchen and dining room was such a treat compared to the usual resorts we stay at in Mexico. And the kids having their own room and tv and dvd player made for some very peaceful nights and we were able to sleep in every morning! Aaaah! Heaven! We fished with Captain Rudy (who lives at the Grand Caribe) for four of the seven days we were in Belize. He was a joy, as was his crew of Mike and Dingo--be sure to book a trip with them! You won't be disappointed! This property was truly perfect! My son fished off the dock every day and caught many fish, even a bonefish! You could snorkel right in front of the property and see an abundance of fish. But, this being said, if you go, you must take the snorkeling trip to Shark Ray Alley--WOW!!! We did this with Captain Rudy and his crew, too, and they were so attentive and absolutely wonderful with my children. Mike had raised one of the giant sea turtles from when it was a baby, and we saw that turtle out there. A true highlight of the trip! The staff at Grand Caribe was helpful in so many ways! They have books and dvd's you can check out for free in the concierge room, they booked a golf cart for our stay (I recommend having one--it makes getting around so easy), and were so so nice! The last day of our trip was when hurricane Ervesto came through, so we were "trapped" for an extra two days (which was WONDERFUL--we were not ready to leave), and the staff made sure we had water and constantly updated us on the weather. They even rescheduled our flights with Tropic Air and United Airlines. We will DEFINITELY be going back to Grand Caribe. It was an utterly perfect vacation, even with the hurricane!

Room Tip: we had a 2nd floor unit and loved the view of the beach and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimboze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Property: Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing