We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Vacation at Casa Caracol”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Casa Caracol

Let's start with the view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Let's start with the view
Casa Caracol Downstairs Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Let's start with the view
Casa Caracol
Downstairs Living
Downstairs Dining/Kitchen
Downstairs Bedroom 1
Downstairs Bedroom 2
Downstairs Bedroom 3
Downstairs Bathroom (1 of 2)
Upstairs Living
Upstairs Kitchen/Dining
Upstairs Kitchen
Upsairs Bedroom 1
Upstairs Bedroom 2
Upstairs Bathroom (1 of 2)
Upstairs Balcony
Downstairs Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vickie W
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Vacation at Casa Caracol”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a fabulous family vacation at Casa Caracol on Amerbergis Caye. The home and its location on the beach and near town was even more than we expected. The home was very nice and plenty spacious for our group of 12 adults. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go for dining and shopping; everything was so convenient. The owner, Phil, was great! He was there to make the arrangements for all of our excursions and was close by if we needed help or advice with anything. He made it easy for us to do nothing but relax and enjoy our fantastic week on the beach in Belize! If you are looking for a great combination of relaxation in the sun along with an interesting cultural experience, this vacation at Casa Caracol can't be beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jeremymac...
whati, nwt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant location and Stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and another couple stayed here in March. What a great property, it is exactly as advertised. The highlights were the location to the ocean and the views from the deck. The house provided the perfect location in San Pedro, close enough to walk to town, yet far enough away from the busy nights and streets. Phil was a wonderful host and met our every need. He was there to book all our trips and provide recommendations to all restaurants and other services. Duly (housekeeper) cleaned the house every other day to ensure the house was spotless. If you are looking for down home comfort, without the price, then this is your house. We all had a wonderful time and will be coming back! Thanks Phil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Phil was an amazing host.
Liked least: The beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A
Fort Benton, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

2 couples in the upstairs living area, 2 bedrooms and baths, large living area, dining and kitchen. Vaulted ceilings with fans. AC in all if needed. First level, rented. Very private for both separate parties staying. May plan to bring the whole extended family which would be great with both levels.
Phil was excellent, there if you needed guidance or recommendations, along with booking any activity requested at no extra expense.
Casa Caracol is located on the beach, centrally located, walking distance to the center of San Pedro with all the favorite attractions of vendors, shopping, restaurants, dive, snorkel, fishing guides etc, This was are first trip to the country of Belize and it will not be are last. The people are amazing. We plan to return to the beautiful beach front Casa Caracol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, neighbors, property owner, locale, view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette P
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Caracol the last week of September into October, on the first floor. Our group had an amazing time. First of all, we were there for the big independence celebration, which was amazing to be a part of.
The house was great! We had plenty of room for all of us. The house was clean & well maintained and the location was ideal. There is a safe for valuables. The house is located right on the beach. Getting around was a breeze. We were able to walk 5mins down the beach to get to the main downtown area and a few blocks away to the grocery stores.
The owner Phil, was so helpful. He gave us an orientation to the house, the island and even booked our excursions for us. He was always available if we had questions or needed something. Phil even picked us up from the airport and brought us to the house and saw us off on the day of departure.
The locals were very friendly and we even left having made new Belizean friends! We all highly recommend Casa Caracol.
Thanks Phil! - Colette, Lorin, Theresa, Vanessa, Ken & Lynette

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabmr
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this house (top and bottom) for Christmas week about 15 months in advance b/c we were tired of cold winters and short days here in Seattle. What a great decision! Our east coast kids met us at the airport in Belize City and Phil (the owner) was there to pick us up at the airport. He was barefoot so I knew we were in the right place. The view was amazing and we loved being so close to town so people could come and go. We also rented a couple of bikes. The kitchens were quite well equipped and the warm sea breeze was so pleasant. Phil is a great resource and we booked a couple of snorkeling trips through him also swam off the dock daily. The color of the water is so peaceful. My only recommendation is that if you like coffee, bring your own conthough you are in a detached apartment so no noisy neighbours and no shared balconye filters (the 8-10 cup ones). The island stores (and the house) only had Mr. Coffee type filters. We really loved being on the edge of town and were able to shop, eat and generally explore the area on foot. We felt very safe. Belize is not cheap so we cooked quite a bit and ate on the deck. I even made Belizean Stewed Chicken and cooked a lot of rice and beans.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Parents upstairs,
Liked least: Lots of firecrackers on Boxing Day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place - close to everything & beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed with a small group of friends, rented the top & bottom floor. Beautiful house, nice & clean. The maid visited daily & the owner, Phil, was very friendly & informative about the "happenings" around the island. Great place right on the beach toward the quiet end of town but still only a 7 min walk to the town center. Great little island & definitely must take a trip to Caye Kauker. And a great little bar, Wayo's, up the beach 1 min away.

Thanks Phil - I think our friends already booked for next year around the same time! Maybe we'll see you also! Happy Holidays "mate"!

Bob & Jen

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the top floor & the use of free wifi - nice convenience. We also liked all the cable channels for those few nights we were too beat to go out! wink wink
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing