We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel winning restaurant/bar losing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived without a reservation and were quickly checked into a private room. The room was in the hotel area across the road from the rest of the hostel. Our bed was super comfy and big, air-con worked well and the T.V. was new and awesome. The room was very clean, other than a dried urine puddle at the base of the toilet. Pools were great too, lots of room in the lounge chairs. The restaurant was the downfall, the Bartender clearly didn't give a care about anything. Constantly texting and eating behind the bar. Our pizza took an hour when we were 1 of 2 tables in there. When we asked about it, he said "it'll be out when its ready". After our pizza arrived, we were enjoying it although it was a bit bland, we asked for a dipping sauce and it tasted off. I'd give this place a second chance but wasn't overly impressed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel across the road are away from the party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justperkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed Pedro's accommodation. We have to apologize for the system at the Restaurant. We do have a delivery service also, and it may have been that we had a large delivery order. As we make every pizza from scratch, the minimum time period is 25 minutes. The dipping sauce is made fresh and we will talk to the bartender about his attitude. Please note, We are the only budget hotel that has a restaurant - and indeed some of the 5 star resorts ($300 per night places) do not have a restaurant or bar onsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

My friend and I originally booked three nights at Pedro's Inn, planning on spending most of our trip on Caye Caulker. We were having so much fun we couldn't bring ourselves to leave and ended up spending our whole vacation there.

The rooms may be small, but everything else they have going for them most definitely makes up for it. The two big pools, awesome bar, and friendly staff all made for an excellent stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A horrible experience. The rooms cannot be called as such, instead they resemble more a train compartment. Not even a bin in your room, let alone space to put your stuff. The girl at the reception was the most unhelpful person i met on Ambergris Caye. They advertise tours which are much more expensive than if you go to an agency in the middle of town. They asked for $60 per person for snorkeling at Hol Chan, while at an agency near the airport we paid only $40. If loud drunken spring breakers and very low accommodation standards is your thing, you are in the perfect place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irina_195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

#1. We charge $34 US for the Hol Chan Snorkel, plus there is a $10 US park fee.

#2. You are obviously older than most backpackers but want to travel on a budget. We are the only hostel on the island and you have to ask yourself why. Property is very expensive and charging people $12 US per night is hardly expensive. However, you should have taken one of the hotel rooms where you would have been much more comfortable and much happier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I came to san pedro and got a room in the hostel, If you have never been in hostels and dont know what its about you might want to look into a resort. I got a room .. next to the airstrip !! oh well it was uber cheap and i was only sleeping there. Its a good spot a lil out of town but EASILY walkable to anywhere. The office staff are friendly and helpful. The bar staff are alot of fun .. in hostels its about meeting people. I met amazing people from all over the world and a few from very close to my house. Its a fun place to meet people .. get drunk after a day of fun and laugh and hang out. Very casual very fun .. Ernie ( tom selek as i call him ) is a SOLID dude, Jay and Ni as well all wicked cool , easy to get along with and are quick to invite you over to talk and then go party or just BS with you , or play beer pong.. It was really enhanced my trip to make the friends and have a good place to go after a day of running around or laying on the beach. If you looking for faceless fancy hotel .. go down the street .. if you wanna meet genuine salts of the earth .. spend a few nights here .. it will be a good choice , trust me

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nokodopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I would stay here again but I would just say you get what you pay for! The hostel was clean. It is close the airport so be prepared to hear the planes. There is also a bar and live music under the hostel which is great but bad if you just want to sit in your room and take a nap after dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful and you can easily hitch a ride to the centre of town. If cheap and clean are what is important, this is your place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmonton_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My seventh trip to San Pedro staying at Pedro's was another wonderful experience. If you don't want clean, well-appointed accommodations, air-conditioning, the fastest and most reliable Internet in Belize, a great pub on site with the best pizza, or friendly staff, then Pedro's is not for you. A young woman on the airplane to Belize explained to me that she doesn't come to Belize to be comfortable. Well-to each his own, I do come to Belize to comfortable, enjoy my surroundings, see old friends and not worry about anything. That is what you get at Pedro's. They are eager to help with any issue, will make all your travel plans while in Belize, and greet every question with a smile. They can arrange for great diving with the guys at Ambergris Divers too. I can't say enough about what a great place this is. As a woman traveling alone in Belize, I was well taken care of. Last year one of my university students said it best. While traveling in another city in Belize he asked when we were returning to Pedro's. He said, "I can't wait to get back, it is the five-star hotel of Belize (substitute any of the big, expensive US hotel names here)." I will be back in late March and can't wait! Thanks everyone at Pedro's, for another great time.

Room Tip: The Annex has Internet in the room and is next to the pools. The hotel has the same rooms, you just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We planned to stay at Pedro's after seeing its low price in Lonely Planet. However, once we arrived on the island and saw the hostel AND the plethora of other BETTER options, we immediately changed our plans!

Pedro's is right next to the noisy airport, a long walk from town and restaurants (compared to the other downtown options), and at the end of a dumpy gravel road. Compare this to where we stayed, at a significantly lower price: Ruby's Hotel, right on the beach, right next to restaurants and bars, quiet, with a terrace overlooking the ocean.

Also, Pedro's has some of the WORST customer service I've ever experienced. We booked our stay over a shoddy phone connection, and only 45 minutes later, sent an email to cancel (the connection was lost so no phone call). We heard no response, and they charged our card for 5 nights. Upon arriving on the island, we visited Pedro's 3 times before we were able to talk to someone who would deal with cancellations. Apparently (they did not tell us this before or after charging our card), they do not offer even partial refunds for cancellations within 31 days of booking. They offered a 80% refund per night IF the room was booked. And they would only book your empty room if it was the very last one available in the hostel. The hotel owner was incredibly rude and raised his voice angrily at us, and was incredibly difficult to speak with.

We ended up losing over $250 thanks to their poor customer service, but it was worth it to us to not be staying there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Shalynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

We say we are a 10 minute walk to town, but technically the town limit is at Ramon's village and we are only a 3 minute walk to the town limit. We have our own beach just another 5 minutes down the road, and as a guest at Pedro's you can use all of the amenities at Caribbean Villas including the sunloungers and pool.

The airplanes stop arriving at 6:00 pm per night, and seriously what do you expect for $12.50 US per night. Ruby's is definitely NOT cheaper than that. You didn't even stay here, and yet you seem to feel that you can comment on an experience you didn't even have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 55 in San Pedro
572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 55 in San Pedro
185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#9 of 34 in San Pedro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing