We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Recently stayed for 5 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Laid back. Very nice clean room with beautiful view of sunsets. Fun, young crowd from all over the world. Great bar and pizza. No problem with noise, quiets down after 10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumsquall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    28
    10
    14
See reviews for
7
50
46
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at Pedro's for 14 nights in March 2013. It had the best Hostel staff ever! They helped me out no matter what problem or question I brought them! They made phonecalls for free, booked my flights and offered me a free drink when they noticed that I was down one day! I could have continued forever, but I will keep it short: If you're going to San Pedro there is no other place to stay than Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriscrozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a good time staying at Pedro's Inn. The room was clean, the staff was firendly. However, it is a little offset from the action and really close to the airstip! There is also a nice bar/restaurant located in the hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilippeP701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Plus:
- cheap
- nice pool
- clean restroom and shower
- cool pizza place and bar with a crazy (in a good way) bartender

Minus:
- tiny room
- airport runway just behind the corner (you have to get drunk to fall asleep - could be also listed above)

To sum up - you get what you pay for; great place just for an overnight stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great time staying at Pedro's. He made us feel very welcome from day one. Clean rooms, decent pools, good activities and tours and one of the best bars on the island. It's also a great place to meet people as we made friends here who we ended up travelling with for a time after San Pedro. Great stuff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PetetheEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pedro's Inn is unique. It is the cheapest place to stay on the island.

If you are used to hostels, you will find yourself in familiar surroundings, with a twist. Since Pedro's is also a hotel, and since the entire place can hold as many as 120 people, a hostel kitchen is impractical. You'll still save a lot of money compared to anywhere else on the island, but it isn't as cheap as a typical hostel. Almost nothing on this island is cheap! But if you ask, you can find relatively inexpensive groceries and places to eat.

If you are used to hotels on a budget, you will also find yourself right at home. But make no doubt, these are budget accommodations! As long-term budget travelers, we have come to value service, functionality and cleanliness over fanciness. In that sense, Pedro's is the best value on the island. Peter has managed to retain a staff of friendly and helpful housekeepers, bartenders and desk personnel.

Now let's look at the big picture for a second. We've stayed in plenty of expensive hotels. Even the fanciest had problems. Things wear out, things break. What is important in the hospitality is how staff and management respond when you report these things. Apologies and rapid responses make up for any sort of problem one might encounter. This is key. And we had a few things go wrong while we were at Pedro's for three weeks. But the response was always to immediately fix what was wrong, or to make it right by upgrading our room.

I would also like to address some items in other reviews here, some of which caused us a bit of concern when we were planning our trip here:

Peter is rude and hates Americans - Not true! We're Americans and we got along just fine. He is, however, a 'Type A' personality. He's lived all over the world, and he is running at least two businesses on the island. He's been here for 15 years. It could be said that he doesn't suffer fools, but then why should he?

Airport - yes, the runway is about 300 feet from Pedro's. Planes fly in and out mainly first thing in the morning and right before sunset. They are all prop planes, but I rarely noticed after the first day or two.

Final thoughts - we thoroughly enjoyed the hostel/hotel and met some very nice people there. The housekeeping staff were wonderful, the desk guys were very helpful and pretty good with the coffee maker. Gino and the Shackshakers cranked out some nice tunes, Maureen was a bright spot with her karaoke stylings and friendly, welcoming ways. And I would like to single out Alex behind the bar. Possibly the hardest working person in the entire place. She's a steal, and I hope Peter recognizes that he should be extra-nice to her!

Room Tip: Hostel is closest to runway, new hotel rooms are next-closest, older hotel rooms are across the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the good points: the front desk clerk and the bartender were very helpful and friendly. The place was generally quite clean, and it was nice to have pool access. Drinks were pretty cheap.

Bad points: The airstrip is VERY close to the rooms (about 20 meters away), and when you're hungover, it sounds like a plane is landing in your room. Planes fly out about every 15 minutes which means no sleep after 6:30am. Also, across the street there seems to be a lot of construction going on (maybe a shop?). Doors have no handles, and there are no power plugs in the rooms. Staff knocked on our door at 8am and after we yelled "No" they burst in and asked if we were checking out (which we were not). "Pedro" is actually quite rude to some of his staff members, and tries a little too hard to make himself look like a kingpin. Also seems to hate Americans. The place itself is quite far from the main strip. Pizza isn't that great.

I guess if you're only looking for a place to crash between, say, 1am and 6am it might work. If you want sleep, forget it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. As we are the least expensive place to stay in San Pedro, by a huge margin the location is part of the reason.
We state the airstrip is close. If you had wanted to upgrade to one of our hotel rooms then you would not have had the noise issues with the airplanes starting at 7:00 am in the morning (the go on the half hour and finish by 6:00 pm in the evening). There is, as far as we can see, any construction going on across the street and hasn’t been in many years. The doors have no handles due to the fact that we have deadbolts installed, which is to be a security measure, and to remind people to lock their doors when they leave.
Pedro’s Inn Hostel is a wooden building and people started cooking in their rooms with electric plates – which was extremely dangerous, which is why we took the power outlets out. The housecleaning staff begins work at 8:00 am and the first thing they do is clean the bar. There is no chance of them being in the hostel before 9:00 am.
The owner’s girlfriend is American and most of his friends are also, so it’s a stretch to say that he hates Americans.
We are located a short 10 minute walk to the center of San Pedro town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#7 of 30 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Property: Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing