We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value place to stay!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great place to stay, awesome value for money! We stayed in the 'hotel' rooms. The rooms are basic, but provide everything you really need from a room, bed, bathroom, AC! If you are the type of traveller who goes all over the world just to spend time in your hotel room, then this is probably not for you, but if you are visiting to spend your time seeing the sights of Belize and enjoying the beach and diving, without spending all your budget on the hotel, then this is the place!

One very nice surprise was the pool, it's actually pretty big and very deep! Really nice way to cool down after a hot day in the sun :-)

The owners are also very friendly and great at organising tours etc!

Location: Yes, it's next to the runway of the airport, but this airport receives about 5 or 6 light (8 person, prop etc) aircraft a day, so it's not like you are constantly being blasted away by aircraft noise as some of the comments on here would have you believe! It's about a 6-8 min walk from the city centre. I'd recommend walking along the beach :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_matt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    57
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
7
53
46
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We decided to stay at Pedro's after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor, for the first time we were steered wrong. The rooms were divided my 1 inch plywood. There was no hot water. The place is far from the city center and right beside a landing strip so you abruptly get woken up every morning around 7am by the blaring sounds of te airplanes taking off. There is not much I can think of that is good about this place. Peter was rude in many ways and Cindy was helpful but short. I would not recommend this place to stay at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelannonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I would recommend staying at Pedro's Hostel while on San Pedro. It is cheap, clean, has a great pool, and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. It also has a great sports bar which serves good food, the lobster pizza is awesome! Overall a good vibe, met some cool people and next time I'm there I will stay there again. If you are looking for a quality cheap option this is the way to go, as well it is the only hostel on the island! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

when getting off the water taxi, we needed a little wile to findout where the hostel pedros inn was???
Since it not really close to the town center..
After a 20 minutes walk on the main road (which was terrible coz to much golfcarts.. the road for me was like a highway & no sidewalk....lol) we found di hostel.
Our first intention was to stay in the dorms, but the price & quality of the rooms in their hotel won our preference .
The bar is one of the hottest places to be on di island and the poker games are really a plus (as well as di delicious pizzas).
Also the pool is nice & refreshing at any time of the day or night.
Security is always present at night which made us feel safe.
Rooms get cleaned every day, wat more do you want for a hostel?!!!

excellent stay we had there. we even stayed 2 extra nights!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Pedro's is probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The staff in amazingly friendly and help. The rooms are average for a hostel, very small but clean with overhead fans. Pool is open 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anarose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Came here after a bad experience at another hotel in the day i arrived. i got a room at the hotel the first night 50us with ac and it was clean, bright, and nice. i switched to the hostel where it was cheaper 15us and i had my own room with shared bath. the place is great with a pool, picnic area, and bar downstairs. the staff are very knowledgeable and quite helpful. the best part is most of the people are north american/euro tourists about 20-30 all looking for fun so its a great place to meet people to go out and do trips together. the place is like a mini resort for a great price. showers in hotel warm water and cool in the hostel. hostel room good at night with the fan and comfy bed. airplanes go by at 7am but it is a minor issue. overall, best place in san pedro in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nothing fancy, but clean and the best for the budget traveler. I have stayed here many times. No complaints.

Room Tip: For hot shower and more privacy, spring for the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel

Property: Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel is the only hostel in San Pedro island. Although the rooms are low cost, the quality of the rooms and beds are high quality. We provide a clean, comfortable and safe setting at an amazingly cheap price! Why come to Belize just to spend all your money on a hotel room? Spend it on the adventure of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing